We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Stay”
Review of Great Huts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Huts
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place to Stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Looking at Great Huts from the outside you see a beautiful lush jungle. The huts are each unique, but all of them are equally equiped with comfortable beds, fans and mosquito nets. The staff is very friendly along with a great chef. The huts (and tree houses) blend in with environment. The environment being a cliff overlooking Boston Beach. The view is one of a kind and includes shaded nooks. Incredible and is worth going to Jamaica just to visit Great Huts.

  • Liked — The connection with the environment off the beaten path.
  • Disliked — Just about nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slmorriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    116
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
117
340
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Interesting property. Very unique.
First off the staff are great, very accomodating.
The location is great. It might take about 3hrs to get to from Kingston but the ride is breathtaking and Portland is such a great off the beaten track area - If you hate being in a all inclusive tourist area this is the spot. But you must be at ease with nature!
My 7yr old and i stayed at the almond tree house.
Few thoughts -
Over priced for the area/accomodation
Dangerous underfoot, too much sharp un even rocks - walking boots or tough sneakers have to been worn at all times to get in an out of our tree house (my son an I both cut our feet sliding out of flip flops). It's fun that its limited with the electricity and at night you can borrow flashlights but not much fun when its so tough under foot. Loved that we had an upstairs and downstairs but the downstairs area was just a rubble floor, not 'rustic' but just dusty rocky mess. Also the 'bed' downstairs needed new bedding and a new mozzy net.
Would be great also if the nets were put down for you at night. Since by the time we city slickers put ours down we had inadvertently 'caught' thousands of 'exotic' bugs! If you have a fear of lizards and bugs this is NOT the place for you. Also had no way of shutting a door at night, just a mud cloth as 'security' which is a nice concept but in all practicality I had money and valuables (ipod etc) that I didn't feel comfotable just leaving each day with no door. It seems to work for them but think there would be no harm in putting in doors for the properties.
Bamboo tree house and gate house seem to be much more finished off properties and the main reception was beautiful.

Great little 'beach' area and an awesome view from the Cliff area.

It's a great place just needs some tweaks. Online it looks allot more 'finished' than it is.

We would probably go back but would hope that some of the above would be taken care of, especially for the price this resort is charging.

  • Liked — adventure, location, unique
  • Disliked — No doors and poor underfoot flooring and overpriced for quality
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stooshpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This is a one-of-a-kind place! We stayed in both tree houses and it's been quite an experience! I'm not sure I would recommend it for long stays, but it's definitely worth going there for a couple of nights!
Note that none of the rooms have keys, which is a bit off-putting, but actually turns out to be forgotten very quickly. The bed are very comfortable and the rooms very nature-like.
In the bamboo tree house, you're in the open (the bedroom is accessible via a ladder and does have 'walls'), which means you could be sitting attending some very personal business and also overlooking the sea and the surfers underneath!
The Almond tree house was my favourite, because it is a bit less opened and if it rains (and when it rains, it really rains), you feel less exposed to the elements... and it was build around a tree!
All in all, it was a very nice place, and we're really happy we tried it. Breakfast is included and is quite nice.
If you feel a little bit adventurous and don't mind bugs at night, then this place is perfect!!

  • Liked — this feeling that you are like Robinson Crusoe (ok a modern Robinson Crusoe!!)
  • Disliked — The bugs...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SophC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

we have stayed in a lot great places but great huts was by far the most romantic place we have ever stayed. The manager was so helpful and gave us the chance to stay in two different huts. the almond tree and bamboo tree house that has it's own veranda with breathtaking views. The staff were all great, they made our stay very comfortable. if you are looking for not your typical resort getaway, then this place is just for you. I think the pictures I am posting can show how special this place is. We fell in love with Jamaica and we will be going back for sure.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not a lot of resturants around
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TNTgermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I just got back from a week long stay at Great Huts and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to relax in REAL Jamaica away from all the development of places like MoBay, etc.


Great Huts is located in Boston Bay near the Boston Bay Jerk Center, which is where Jerk Chicken originated. The compound is on about 4 acres of land right on the edge of the Bay and looks almost as if it was made for the spot it occupies. All of the different huts and rooms are located all along the property and to get to them you walk along well groomed paths through some small trails that go all over. Besides all the rooms, there's a main common area with wi-fi and a few benches and seats, etc. to relax at. This is also where their complimentary breakfast is served. The breakfast is awesome and consists of fresh fruit, fried egg, toast, fresh squeezed orange juice, and Jamaican coffee. I thought the dinners were a little pricey, so I didn't eat there much, but every time I had them prepare me dinner, it was delicious. So if you have the money, I'd highly recommend some of the dinners they can cook up for you there.

I stayed in the Akan tent, which was a nice small room with 2 twin beds, a cement floor, and a shared shower and sink. We didn't have any hot water, but that wasn't really an issue. It's pretty warm most of the time, so usually it was pretty nice to have a cold shower. There are quite a few other rooms that a pretty neat. Probably the coolest one was the tree house overlooking the bay. There's two beds, your own bathroom, a tub that you can sit in and watch the beach, and overall it's just a really neat room. There are pictures on the website, so I guess check those out.

If you end up staying here, I highly recommend Little David's. His is the first jerk stand on the right as you come out of Great Huts. You can get a 1/4 chicken with 2 pieces of festival (a sweet fried bread) for about $340 Jamaican (about $5 US). There's also a few guys that hang around the jerk center where you can get some really great juices (get the passion fruit), beer, or whatever other snacks you can think of. If you want to get groceries there are some stands in the area where you can get some vegetables, snacks, drinks, etc. If you want an actual grocery store, there are a couple in Port Antonio, which is about 10 minute ride in a route taxi and will cost you anywhere from $80 - 100 Jamaican.

As for the beach, you get to it through a path that runs down the hill and directly to the beach. The beach is gorgeous. The water is crystal clear and Great Huts has done an excellent job of keeping it as well as the rest of the compound really well groomed and clean. I think I saw groundskeepers working to keep the grounds clean just about every day. The beach has about 4-5 hammocks which always seemed to be in the perfect spot. There are also a few really nice tide pools that you can relax in and are fairly secluded if you want some privacy. One of the coolest things is there's a huge rock about 20 feet above the water with a cement platform you can jump off of into the bay. I highly recommend it.

There are also some locals that live on the other end of the beach and they're a pretty friendly bunch of guys. If you want some surf lessons, they can help you out and show you what to do. They've got a few boards you can rent too. If you surf, I'd highly recommend bringing some boards you can leave for them. There aren't any shapers in Jamaica and not too many people come there to surf, so boards are few and far between. So if you can, leave some boards.

While I didn't really do anything but surf and hangout with the guys on the beach, there are quite a few really great excursions and activities you can do. Peter can help you out with some of those. One that I really wish I would've done that I heard nothing but good things about is their excursion to Charlestown which is a Maroon settlement back in the mountains. Reach falls is close, and everyone who went loved it. The only excursion I did was my friend and I took a taxi to the marina in Port Antonio to Lady G'Diver Dive Shop and did their snorkeling trip. It was about a $25 US trip and they take you out in a boat to some really neat reefs where you can swim around. I wish I would've done the diving, but I didn't really feel comfortable doing that without my certification. They'll let you dive as there aren't any licensing requirements to dive as there are in the states, I just didn't feel too comfortable doing that.

All in all, a great trip, and really neat if you want to see real Jamaica and get away from all the tourists and development of places like MoBay. Stay at Great Huts!

  • Liked — The location was perfect! Great Huts also has quite a better service attitude and is much more helpful than a lot of places in Jamaica.
  • Disliked — The food was a little expensive for someone on a budget.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank newamerclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

This property was the most laid back place on earth! The property and the staff, especially Cynthia, were so efficient and made our stay here one that we will never forget. The serene, naturalism of the property was most relaxing and the sounds of the ocean at night were both soothing and romantic. The ocean views were connected to the property and we LOVED watching the ocean from over the cliffs as the sun began to rise. We stayed in the Gate House suite and just loved this so much, that we want to go back to Port Antonio just to try out one of the other tents or treehouses available. The jerk stands are a 1 minute walk away from the property and we really enjoyed having a late night dinner at one of the stands while mingling with the locals. If you have kids, this would be a great experience for them to actually feel as if they are "away" in a foreign place while on vacation.
We give the Great Huts an A+!!!!!!

  • Liked — The staff!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

Our stay at Great Huts was both adventurous and relaxing at the same time. We stayed here the longest on our trip, and we're really glad we did at this super laid-back spot. The property is beautiful with several secluded areas to just sit and watch the ocean in peace. The staff and manager are incredibly friendly, helpful, and welcoming. Breakfasts were delicious! We stayed at two different spots - the Almond Tree House & the Gate House - but we also checked out the other accomodations, which were all unique & cozy. Waking up to sunrises and hearing the waves crashing is especially memorable.

Portland is a gorgeous parish, and Great Huts is located very close to some amazing spots by route taxi - Port Antonio, Winnifred Beach, Reach Falls, Blue Lagoon, Long Bay. Most of the folks just outside the gate are respectful and friendly. You don't have to fight the hustlers off like in MoBay. The food's good at the Jerk Centre, but beware of the stand closest to Great Huts (David's). We felt like they were overcharging & shortchanging us. The chefs at Great Huts are excellent too --- but we think the biggest bang for your buck is at Chill Out in Long Bay. Although when occupancy reaches a certain limit, Great Huts will have a celebration with music and an affordable delicious dinner buffet.

If you're an outdoorsy person, this is the place to come to. We can't wait to come back! We're very interested in participating in some of the philanthropic efforts in the community too.

  • Liked — Super Laid Back Atmosphere & Location, Location, Location!
  • Disliked — Jerk Centre Stand (David's) outside
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SamKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
3.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
483 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
398 reviews
132.1 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
10.2 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 27 in Port Antonio
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Huts

Property: Great Huts
Address: 8-10 Boston Bay Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Huts 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Huts: Paradise on the Edge is an oceanfront resort on the lush northeastern tip of Jamaica. Modeled after a traditional West African coastal village, at once both rough-hewn and modern, it is a convergence of nature, heritage, spirituality and technology. Off the beaten path, but not far from the bustle and night life of Boston Bay and Port Antonio, Great Huts' jungle-cliff-beach habitat is a distinctive ecological and cultural experience. The Africana House, a Rastafari Mansion by the Sea with high ceilings and Ethiopian-inspired decor throughout, has a spacious communal room, four regal bedrooms, a 5,000-square-foot rooftop deck and a lotus-shaped deep water pool, resting atop five acres braided with intriguing caves and hiking trails. Great Huts is perfect for the adventurer in all of us, an intimate yet communal getaway or a secluded corporate retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Great Huts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Huts Hotel Port Antonio
Great Huts Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing