We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sean Connery Villa 12 & 13” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman's Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frenchman's Cove Resort
Save
You added Frenchman's Cove Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Port Antonio, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Port Antonio
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sean Connery Villa 12 & 13”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property is amazing. Lush, green, raw and dramatic right on the cliffs. The private beach is picture perfect, with a crystal clear river that runs into it. Super strong reliable wifi all over the resort. Unfortunately the accommodation has seen better days. The days when a young Sean Connery still ruled the silver screen.

We stayed in Villa 13. Incredible view and location. Retro design. A large 1 bedroom at the back. No stove but a small adequate kitchen with fridge. All the window frames were slightly rusted, the doors were hard to close, the shower head was broken, the bathroom door had no handle - just a hole, the AC had to be switched on/off from the outside ( no remote ) etc etc - that being said, it all seemed irrelevant with the spectacular view right on the cliffs. We had friends stay in Villa 12, two bedrooms, brand new kitchen and living room. Less dramatic view, but still on the cliff facing the oceon. So it really depends which Villa you get. Breakfast's are adequate if you stick to the amazing fresh fruit and coffee. The cafe / restaurant on the beach is ok for lunch with orders of grilled fish and jerk chicken taking up to an hour since it is cooked from scratch. This restaurant has so much potential with its location and setting. For dinner I would advise the Mocking Bird hotel for it's local organic fare. Renting a car is worth the effort ( we hired a driver with van ) since taxis are hard to track down and tend to rip you off. This is not a walking anywhere town. Places are hidden all over Port Antonio in spectacular enclaves, so you are advised to organize transport.

Room Tip: Villa 12 - two bedrooms, two bathrooms, big living room and brand new kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    34
    18
    15
    19
See reviews for
30
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Negril, Jamaica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As a Family of Six we chose French Mans cove as a mid way stop of our week long tour of the eastern end of Jamaica

We had a Three Bed room villa, Not all the rooms in the three bedroom villa connect but we made it work for us. The villa was clean and well maintained and the views as it was literally right on the cliffside were breathtaking

Breakfast was ideal, simple but plentiful and suited us down to the ground. We dined at the Beach Grill Once for dinner and again the food was simple but just what we needed.

The grounds were beautiful and well maintained, perfect for just walking around and taking in breath taking views, plants and wildlife as we relaxed.

The beach located at the resort was great, rustic and a fresh water stream that enters the cove was a joy to swim up and down, the kids brining their rings to sit it and then snorkel to see the fish.

Overall a great location, it looks like some of the villas are being upgraded, but what we stayed in was simple, clean and ideal for us.

A great point to stop and travel the Port Antonio Area

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Went to a destination wedding at this resort and spent five days with my extended family, friends and family of my cousin and her husband, my boyfriend and my sister. It was a very lovely experience. It was 48 acres of resort and the view of the ocean and sunset was quite a beautiful sight. Fresh air in the morning. Villas located in several parts of the estate, so it was nice to take walks and peruse, looking at the different flora and trees around.

Only thing I found that the room we stayed in, there was no ceiling fan and no proper view of the estate, because I do not like sleeping with airconditioning and the location of the room, natural breeze didn't easily come into the room so the airconditioning had to be on once in the room. Even on the balcony, it was not very breezy and the trees blocked our view of the estate.

Other than that, the food was lovely especially the breakfast. Wifi was available if we needed it for any reason, and the staff were very very helpful and friendly. We would visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wandering through the FC property is a trip back to the days when stunning locations were chosen for special resorts and this place is no exception. The setting is spectacular and the grounds are inspiring. Alas, the villas could be awesome with some simple updating (even some nice outdoor furniture to soak in those views would be a major improvement) That said, the villas are clean and comfortable... and the designs are so retro cool... it's almost perfect. Victoria and the front desk team are delightful and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay at FC again. It's certainly great value for the price - and how can you argue with a place that has hosted rock stars and royalty. No burning garbage or any other distractions for our visit. We had a blast.

Room Tip: I hear villa 11 and 5 are primo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNRToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is a paradise. It is one of the most beautiful properties in Jamaica let alone Port Antonio, the problem is that it is in desperate need of updating/refurbishing. The grounds are well maintained and the staff are kind and attentive. None the less my wife and I enjoyed our stay are getting over the dated and unmaintained areas. Truly a wonderful place with great potential of success as in earlier days. I still do love this fantastic place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doogie200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Frenchman's Cove was in its heyday one of the top resorts in the entire world, it is now a poorly maintained flop house whose management sees fit to have at least TWO HUGE garbage bonfires lit every day on the property ensuring sore throats, aching sinuses,and smelly polluted air for its guests.
My children were ill every day and despite our complaints/requests the burning continued apace. We cut our stay short. In fact we discovered later the smoke from their fires envelops the entire San San area to all the residents' dismay.
Port Antonio is meant to be and is advertised as a "Natural", environmentally friendly beauty spot - that is a joke. The rivers and roadsides are full of plastic Pepsi bottles, trash burning was rampant even during a drought, and the town smells of sewage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Antonio hotels

Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The place is awesome, Villas are good with some of them having terrific ocean views but the place needs a facelift and then proper maintenance. The beach is perhaps the best feature - neat little stretch of private beach with a river/stream flowing into the sea on one side. Would love to stay at the place again and again. Not very sure of dining facilities - breakfast was good with lots of fruits and juice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank media2it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.4 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#8 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 17 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frenchman's Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frenchman's Cove Resort

Property: Frenchman's Cove Resort
Address: Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Frenchman's Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Port Antonio
Frenchmans Cove Hotel
Frenchman's Cove Resort Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing