We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to lay your head”
Review of Match Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Match Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Match Resort is not your usual luxury hotel. Match is a guest house that provides a good room to relax. The grounds and the rooms are clean. The bedrooms are average size and spacious enough to relax with each room having a balcony which was good. The rooms are basic, bed, table, dressing table and an a/c unit. The bathrooms were clean and in working order. The hotel has a pool which is nice when you want to soak up some sun and have fun. Food is not included in the price but the hotel is equipped with a restaurant and bar. Meals have to be preordered the day before or in the mornings for dinner. Jodi and Maria are the front desk reps and they are sooo attentive and friendly. The location is good as it is close to the town as well as, other attractions such as beaches etc in Portland.
I visited this hotel when there was a tropical storm approaching Jamaica so there was a power cut for the entire night. The hotel did not have back up power in the form of a generator, neither did they have candles or flashlights for the rooms. I was disgruntled as we had to just lay in the dark for the entire time as not even the stairs and walk ways were lit. We were not even compensated for the inconvenience. Match definitely needs some improvements but it is a good place to just lay your head.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vacaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 98 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

The place is paradise...the staff the owner all made us feel at home..the rooms are clean, the food is to die for , I am most def coming back soon and would recommend this place to my friends and family, so glad we ended up here:)
A special shout out to Chef, Jodie (who gracefully entertained my lil diva all the time) with a smile on her face

Room Tip: High Floors are devine:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nyarkendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The story is; myself and four friends booked at another place which turned out to be not what was expected. We travelled on price, so we did expect the some disappointments. After one night we decided to leave. By chance we found Match Resort Hotel. They had just completed some renovations and had not yet thrown the doors wide open. The invited us to stay, made us feel at home; and was well within our price range. Good food, nice bar, great clean pool and nice rooms. Will definetly stay there again when in Port Antonio...

Room Tip: Many to choose from, nice views from some, either mountains or oceans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChefGeofHolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great hotel,very relaxing.stayed for a wedding .food was exellent ,schef was really nice, even help with our luggage.the view was amazing, nice pool.front desk clerks were very nice and helpful.i must say this place was so clean.i would recommend any time. The Elleston family from new York

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desmond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

match resort is a comfortable lil resort which is quiet and peaceful u will njoy ur stay there the prices are reasonable and affordable on the good on thew pocket so go and enjoy a small heaven away fr home

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I've been to other small hotels and guest houses in Port Antonio, but the service and rates offered here is a cut above the rest. Its almost too good to be true. The view is splendid. I spent most of my time relaxing by the pool side and bar. Absolutely great time spent at Match Resort Hotel - Port Antonio.

Room Tip: The suit on the extreme top has an awesome view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugah876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank IvanoS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
90 reviews
4.8 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Match Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Match Resort Hotel

Address: Dolphins Bay, Port Antonio 876, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: $88 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Match Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your resort - Alive! Staffed by friendly people. Situated in an exclusive area in Port Antonio, where the view is breathtaking. There are the Blue Mountains in the background and the Caribbean Sea hugging the shore. Its location has been chosen with utmost care, being two miles from the heart of Port Antonio. It is in close proximity to attractions such as Blue Lagoon, Reich Falls, Navy Island, rafting on the Rio Grande, Crystal Springs, Summerset Falls, and the world's famous Boston Jerk Center. Match Resort is where your holiday will be a memory to cherish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Match Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Match Resort Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing