We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place you want to call home”
other travelers have booked this property
roof deck harbor view cottage..fish pond now a papaya garden..50$/nite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
roof deck harbor view cottage..fish pond now a papaya garden..50$/nite
bedroom..harbor view.. 2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
roof deck harbor view cottage..fish pond now a papaya garden..50$/nite
bedroom..harbor view..
2 bedroom cottage..70$us/nite
blue lagoon/san san area
long bay
port antonio
reach falls
rio grande..
upstairs bedrooms sunrise
our new grounds manager...
entrance to mango ridge
roof deck harbor view cottage
rio grande rafting..
monkey island near lighthouse..
folly penninsula near lighthouse
view from bamboo cottage
coconut water..air mail express..
roof deck harbor view..fish pond now papaya garden...
sunrise cottage
public courtyard..mango ridge
sunrise cottage
sunrise cottage
verandah..bamboo cottage..60$ nite
security guards
sunrise cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amylombo
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A place you want to call home”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Where to start about this magical place. We stayed at the top cottage for 7days. The place was more than what we expected. Its as close as you can get to sleeping among the Almond, Mango, Ackee and Bamboo trees. Beside long tailed hummingbirds and fireflies that joined us at night. Michael was amazing and the fruit does not fall far from the tree with great company of his family - we had a great time laughing over dominos and redstripe. The location is ideal, We had traveled the entire coast of Jamaica and found Port Antonio to take our hearts. Winnifred Beach, Blue Lagoon, Frenchmans cove, Boston bay, san san beach, monkey island all within 20mins and a $2 taxi ride away made it easy to fill our days. Musgrave market in PortAntonio made is easy to grab fresh fruits and veg. Fresh fish and lobster from Survival beach just 700m walk the core of PA. We used the kitchen at MangoRidge everyday to make delicious Jamaican dishes taught to us by the locals. More stories to tell but you can find out for yourself with a stay at this picture perfect spot. We choose this place as we wanted a place with character and charm. Not just a room. Its a lifestyle here and a beautiful one at that. We will be back up those 200 steps again. Follow the goats, turn left at the mini river falls, pass the chickens and up up up up up to 4 greeting smiles. Enjoy! Thanks Leila, Mario, Sally & Mike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sounds of nature and the places around this amazing Town
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle4...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
“A trip into memories and the future”
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Our stay at mango ridge has got to be noted as the highlight of my trip to Jamaica…I am a returning Jamaican- that is I grew up in Kingston- and so I am pretty familiar with Port Antonio from my childhood vacations …However, here was a place that gave me access to a completely new way of experiencing the sounds, heartbeat…and passion of living in a small town in the country…
It broke all rules-an affordable rate for a fantastic view nestled from the veranda of a cosy two-bedroom cottage, and kitchen enclosed in a true familial experience.

Here was a place where you were completely set free from all social barriers which tends to be a common place thing is JA…and where you felt that you were at the heart of another kind of existence---

As for night-time fears- well I am here to say that that walking around at night in Port Antonio is something that is actually feasible and easy going in this town, and really sets Kingston in perspective to what it might have looked like ages ago….

When we arrived, I had four days of complete revolt from our oldest child of ten as he was trying to deal with abstinence from the world of internet and computers –and the mango ridge experience replaced these doubts with something tangible and inviting- nature at its best, and making friends with Michael Odonnell's children in play and exploration of the world around him…. Louie has been blown away with this experience and has made the resolution to return already in June---as Jamaica is just his thing- people are really friendly and they use time on you- makes you think what the cold north of Scandinavia, Denmark really offers of a society with the parameters of the social system- nevertheless…. No, this experience is not one you will stumble upon easily---

We spent two and half weeks here and as a family of four we are still glowing---
If you like to feel rooted and grounded in simplicity-like to be close to people who make you feel at home and welcomed- not afraid of heights or good exercise- staying here will be a treat for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Hospitality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
04102012b
Aberdeen
1 review
“The Perfect Blend”
Reviewed March 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

As a seasoned traveller I’ve found that once in a while you come across a place, a host, a family that readily accept you into their lives and still capable of allowing a feeling of total freedom. For me, and as far I saw with guests from Virginia and Copenhagan, each were a perfect fit with Michael and the children. The cottages and small 2 bedroom house are perfectly situated on the edge of the town, high on the ridge with an absolute stunning view of Port Antonio and East Harbour. The height affords a cooling sea breeze that also keeps mosquitos at bay in such a lush jungle like setting. The cottages are simple in design, in character with the surroundings and contain the necessities for a short or long term stay. The grounds are full of orange, banana, mango, guava and soursop trees. Having lived in Port Antonio for over 2 decades, Michael knows the best coffee café, variety of quality restaurants and foods for every budget, best beaches, where to buy fruits and veg, how to get around using public route taxis – in essence, his advice and knowledge is invaluable regardless of what kind of traveller you are. Mango Ridge was thoroughly enjoyable, personable and a lot of fun. I’ve been to Portland Parish numerous times and have finally found a perfect place, a perfect blend and a good friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Michael and his children
Liked least: The Steps - hahaha. But I managed.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthenaofD...
Afton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Wonderful World”
Reviewed February 29, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

If you want to experience Jamaica, rather than view it from afar from a resort, this is a great place to do it. As another reviewer mentioned, if you want fancy digs, this is not the place for you. Mango Ridge is the real thing. Our cottage--the 2 story one with the kitchen, dining and bathroom on the first floor and the bedroom with the magnificent view of the ocean on top--was our home base for 8 days. I get a warm fuzzy just imagining it. It is cozy and comfortable even though the stair way to the bedroom is a trip onto itself. My husband and I are a very physically active 63 and 56 year old couple and we did just fine with the many stairs to the cottages. We had little problem with insects and, in fact, experienced far fewer and less bloodthirsty bugs, than we do during a hot, humid, subtropical Virginia summer.

Our host Michael was kind, considerate and very helpful in learning the lay of the land, both geographically and culturally. We chose not to rent a car and I'm very glad we did not. I think it would have been very stressful to both navigate the roads and drive on a side to which we are unaccustomed. We got around Port Antonio quite easily walking or using taxis and route cabs--another adventure that Michael familiarized us with before we actually took one. We are not ambitious tourists, so we spent our entire time in or close to Port Antonio and were quite happy. The beaches are varied, beautiful, and convenient. The Errol Flynn Marina has a free small pristine beach and is an easy walking distance to Mango Ridge. The rafting trip on the Rio Grande is quite close and our hosts' friend Jeff an experienced boatman/guide. All in all, you couldn't find a better inn keeper. Also, the price is right. It is too good to be true, but it is true.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: View; privacy of the cottage; beauty of the environment
Liked least: music from other places could be a little much at times, but it never lasted long
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffffy
Halifax
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage overlooking Port Antonio”
Reviewed January 15, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful experience at Mango Ridge cottages. The owner Michael was very helpful with the preparation for the trip and more than hospitable while we were there. Michael was open to answering all our questions, and informed us of many of the sights in the city to see. He even gave us a local cell phone for us to use while we were away from the property.

Upon arriving you will walk up a set of stone stairs to the property...there is a lot of stairs, but it's really a beautiful hike through the jungle. There are 3 cottages on the property. We stayed in a small 2 story one at the highest point of the property. There is a few more stairs to get there, but the reward is a very private cottage with a beautiful view. We made good use out of the stove and fridge...and outdoor shower. There was an indoor shower and bathroom, but the weather was warm enough for outdoor showers. The upstairs has two rooms and a small balcony which was perfect for us. We had plenty of room, and spent most of the time there on the balcony eating our meals and enjoying the morning sun. We slept very well with the sounds of the jungle in the background and the seemingly daily morning rain to wake us up.

Port Antonio is a wonderful vibrant little city and there is plenty to do and see. I would recommend a rental car as some of the nicest sights are not within walking distance, but there is plenty to see and do within the city. This is not a tourist location like MoBay so don't go there expecting to be catered to, but there is delicious food and interesting people to meet. One of our favourite spots was the Errol Flynn Marina complete with a quaint little beach and resturant. In the evenings the marina, and its boats were all lit up. Its a nice walk around the water and there is an ice cream shop we enjoyed going to when visiting the marina.

We are hoping to visit Port Antonio again, and if we do, we would stay at Mango Ridge. Michael was great, and his kids were helpful too! Some nights his youngest daughter Laila would join us for the walk up to our cottage holding a flashlight for us. His older two kids made us something to eat for breakfast on our last day. They were wonderful company, and stayed in the property below ours. We would often give a quick hello on our way out to town, and upon our return.

Jamaica is a beautiful country, and Mango Ridge made our stay even better! Thanks Michael!

Colin & Julie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the serenity of being in the jungle with a beautiful view and outdoor shower
Liked least: finding it is a bit tricky...the hike up the hill is an experience, but you don't want to forget anything lol
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyden
Reviewed December 15, 2011 for a stay in December 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Bloomfield MI
Reviewed December 7, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$50
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing