We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Relaxing Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ridge Bay Chateau

View from Ridge Bay Chateau Roof Top Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Ridge Bay Chateau Roof Top Balcony
View from the Front Porch The spacious yet cozy interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
23 reviews
View from Ridge Bay Chateau Roof Top Balcony
View from the Front Porch
The spacious yet cozy interior
The imposing four poster plantation style king size bed in the Master Suite
En suite master bathroom
From the Gardens @ Ridge Bay Chateau, fashioned by Guest Natalie Montecalvo
The piece de Resistance
Breath-taking views
Backyard view from Ridge Bay Chateau
Reflections
This regal tropical palm tree so majestic in the gardens at Ridge Bay Chateau
The landmark Trident Castle - Ridge Bay Chateau's neighbour
Logo
The spacious one bedroom cottage Living Room & kitchen view
The one bedroom cottage entrance hall
The 40ft wooden deck overlooking the Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Port Antonio, Portland Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshinef...
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at Ridge Bay this pass week. The location is just beautiful and 5 minutes away from everything. This location made accessing attractions in Portland hassle free.
We felt at home the moment we got there, the house had a very welcoming feel. All our meals were prepared by our housekeeper Marva who was a delight to be around. We would wake up and have a chat each morning as she prepared breakfast which was excellent everyday , not to mention the delicious Dinners.
The owners emailed us everyday until arrival to make sure all is well and that our request were met. She also welcomed us personally to the house which was a plus.
Our group was four adults and an infant and we all agree we would definitely visit again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The View of the Bay in the morning
Liked least: No beach access
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susannejl
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had the best time at the Ridge Bay Chateau. This is a roomy, comfortable house with all the amenities. The pictures are absolutely accurate. The view was gorgeous, the privacy legendary and the location is perfect. Max was very helpful and hooked us up with some very knowledgeable guides. We did not hire a house cleaner and had no need for a cook, since we wanted the privacy and also the opportunity to shop in town. If you want total independence then this is the place for you.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view and location.
Liked least: I wish the fridge had had some food in it for the first night.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Ridge Bay Chateau.

We welcome feedback and absolutely love it when our guests leave us satisfied.

It is our pleasure to give the utmost to visitors.

Once again Thank you Nardria and family.

Max Osborne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren_Bo...
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A private, unspoiled escape to Jamaica awaits you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Port Antonio is a wonderful slice of true Jamaican culture and the Ridge Bay Chateau is a perfect base from which to explore it.  If you prefer to meet and mingle with residents rather than follow the crowd on a structured tour, this is the place for you! Our family of six (grandparents, parents and school aged children) stayed at Ridge Bay Chateau for a long weekend and had a wonderful adventure. The location and view are ideal and we wanted for nothing more. We are barely home a day now and thinking about when we can return. The place is well appointed, clean, and comfortable inside and out. The gardens and decks are amazing and the bedding is terrific. Everyone associated with the Chateau is warm and friendly, caring only that you have a great experience.

Maxine was instrumental in helping us accomplish all of the things we wanted to do within the few days we had. She connected us with terrific guides, suggested locations, and advised us on travel routes and what to expect. She even waited to greet us despite our travel delays and called to be certain we were happy and having fun.  Everything was perfect and it was because she sincerely cared about our experience and saw to our needs. I would be remiss to ignore the Chateau's housekeeper/chef, Marva's, contribution here. She prepared amazing jamaican foods for us, navigated the markets so we could go to the beach, and provided a perfect balance of service and companionship. It was never strange to have her there with us-- she would fade into the scenic background, but appeared smiling the moment someone needed her. She is such a delight and her food is delicious! If you have the option to have Marva with you, we highly recommend her.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Stellar views and sunsets amid a tropical paradise setting
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2011
The ultimate endorsement!

It was certainly our pleasure being of service to the Boyer family.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Much appreciated.

Max
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CO
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011 for a stay in August 2010

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CALIFORNIA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011 for a stay in May 2010

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$200
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing