We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Wallace is the GOAT! ”
Review of BUSHBAR

BUSHBAR
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Breakfast/brunch, Lunch, And Dinner
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

As guests at Geejam, we were blessed to enjoy Wallace’s cooking and excellent Bushbar service for a few days. Every meal was made with fresh ingredients, and they are flexible to accommodate your spice or ingredients preference- they will happily offer bespoke options for most items.

I cannot share more food pics because we ate it all so fast! At breakfast, I loved the callaloo stuffed omelets with fresh herbs, and the banana pancakes were sinfully delicious. For breakfast Trudy mixed up fresh juice with papaya, pineapple and lime. And later, she made us the best piña coladas we’ve EVER had.

Eating here exceeded our expectations and spoiled us rotten- I can never eat resort food again. Wallace prepared most of our meals, and he and the Bushbar team are the shining stars of Geejam.

The ever-changing music selection at the bar never got old and neither did the breathtaking views and soothing jungle noises- all a great backdrop to outstanding food. Even the simple Jamaican soup warmed my soul. My husband and I still debate if Wallace’s oxtail or goat curry is the best dish in the entire Caribbean.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank ericaperica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 252 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2019

Bush Bar at the Geejam hotel is a wonderful place for a drink and a meal. Superb views and atmosphere, terrific staff and yummy food from a great menu. The food was fresh and hot, the juice was homemade and the drink selection was perfect. The Ting-a-ling is the house special. The pricing was reasonable for the experience. We also enjoyed a walk on the beautiful property and beach. Surprisingly, there is a top notch recording studio with a view to inspire any artist. Loved the visit and will return on my next trip to the area. The hotel was a little hard to find, but once inside Steve (co-owner) personally saw that we were well taken care of.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank djirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

Visited Geejam bushbar on first visit to jamaica. My girlfriend and I loved the atmosphere and Steve, the co owner was kind enough to take us on a tour of the studio. The food was amazing!!!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank harryslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The only challenge with eating at this restaurant is finding it! We spent the better part of an hour trying to find the restaurant using Google maps - the directions are totally incorrect. One must turn off the main road at the San San police station, turn right almost immediately and go up the hill for about 1 1/2 miles until one reaches the entrance to GeeJam Hotel. However, we found that it was worth the stress of trying to find the hotel, because the food was spectacular and served by friendly wait staff. The restaurant is located on a broad porch at the front of the bar, and has wonderful views of the Gejam's grounds. Well worth the frustration of finding it.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019 via mobile

For years it has been a challenge to find good good restaurants in the Port Antonio area - if you wanted to branch out beyond chicken with rice and peas.

Gladly there is the Bushbar, the restaurant at well known Boutique Hitel Geejam which fills the void. While not for the budget traveler, it offers a nice range of food which puts a layer of local flavors over some international staples. Cooked to perfection and beautifully presented you can enjoy a nice meal in a low key environment of tropical understated elegance.

The food is complimented by a nice cocktail menu and a fairly extensive wine list at reasonable prices.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Nyflitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BUSHBAR also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Little London, Westmoreland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to BUSHBAR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing