We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Polish Princess Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kingston
1 review
“Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hubby and I went to Portland for a little R & R. We got lots of peace and quiet at PPGH. It is in close enough proximity to other attractions such as Boston Jerk Center, Blue Lagoon and Frenchman's Cove. The Jamaican breakfast was good eating, the rooms were very clean and we enjoyed the hospitality of Barbara and Denton. Coming from Kingston we found the air to be a little damp at night so take a light cardigan if you are used to the heat. The cons for us were no WiFi or TV in our room and our bed could have been bigger. We had a double. I am not sure if there are larger beds available so check before if you decide to go. We would go again for sure...but bigger bed next time ;)

Room Tip: Ask about bed size if you are traveling as a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingstonTam_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Polish Princess is excellent value for your money. I stayed for a week last December, it's a great base for day trips to Blue Lagoon, Winifred Beach, Boston Bay, and Long Bay. I used the route taxis that cost one hundred Jamaican dollars one way to all these places or back to Port Antonio. My room was clean and everything looked brand new. The owners are a Jamaican-Polish family that are so nice, and the breakfast is awesome! But the best part is the roof top patio with WiFi that overlooks the surrounding jungle, it's the perfect place to read, write, exercise, eat jerk chicken, and drink Red Stripe. You can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettnButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basiaKrakow_Poland, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much Brett for your review about your stay at our Guest House. We are very happy to know that you did enjoy your stay here and we are hoping to see you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
308 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Even though it is not marketed as an ecolodge, it had the characteristics of one. Equipped with solar heaters, rain barrels etc.

We stayed at the PP for 2 days during our 10day trip to Jamaica. From the day we arrived, we could feel Barbara's warm hospitality. Having planned our stay from the USA, I was a little worried that I could not find the directions to the place on my GPS or on Mapquest. But, it was pretty easy to find with PP signs from the A4 'highway'. The GPS coordinates are 18 09.548 -76 22.976 for the techie traveler.

The breakfast was always wonderful starting with fresh fruits, juice, fresh mint tea and coffee to pancakes, eggs and toast. Our two girls had a blast playing with Nicoletta and did not want to leave the place. Barbara and her mom were relentless in satisfying our needs and made us feel like we are part of their family. We even learnt a few Polish words from Nicoletta.

The rooms themselves were pretty basic with no A/C and a bit on the smaller side, but had big walk-in closets. The surrounding were really pretty and I would recommend a rental car to go around town, eat and explore. Port Antonio itself is a small sleepy town with not many attractions and restaurants. The roads near Port Antonio can get pretty bad and the road to get to the Polish Princess from A4 is a challenge even for a 4x4. The nearby falls, beaches and blue lagoon were nice, but you can get bored pretty easily in Port Antonio - esp since there is not much to do and only a few decent eateries in town.

Overall, we found it as a great place to kick back and relax and enjoy the quiet countryside of Jamaica and also take a break from the hectic 'touristiness' of Ochi, MoBay and Negril.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokerji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The people there were very hospitable, food was good. There is a huge racket outside at night, so if you don't like chatter while you sleep, shut the windows. Everything you speak can be heard across the hall, so speak quietly. Decor was OK, and room was basic. Area is green and beautiful, but not many good restaurants nearby. Nice picture taking areas, and falls are there around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end are more sound keeping, meaning not as loud as the others. Cannot hear your convers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VarshaG551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We wanted to visit the Port Antonio area for the beaches and the Blue Lagoon, we consulted TripAdvisor and based on the reviews me,my brother and two sons chose the Polish Princess. 'Absolutely wonderful'.. the reviews were spot on! Wild and peaceful with lush green surroundings, well sign posted to locate, credit cards are not accepted. The rooms where clean, cool and refreshing. We appreciated the WiFi connection (able to watch the Euros online).
The mornings started with what can be themed has a Jamaican Tropical Breakfast ..Al Fresco.. Amazing and truly refreshing.. The upstairs covered area was bliss especially in the morning sun where we sat to plan our day. In the evening the area was an auditorium to the night ..a wonderful encounter to sit out in the rain... games of domino into the early morning ..but mindful not to disturb the tranquillity of the other guests
We visited Winnifred Beach which is excellent for a complete day out and it is free.. local knowledge is required to source it's location. Frenchman's cove is beautiful and the The Blue Lagoon was a great to experience... We didn't make it to Reach Falls which means another visit to the Polish Princess is on the cards.
Barbara our host has superb local knowledge and is well known in the area, we visited the restaurant Wi Yard Anna Banana on her advice and enjoyed an evening of superb Jamaican dinning.

We thank you for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DezArrivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing our place and that we were able to make it such a great stay for you and your family. We hope to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Polish Princess guest house is located in a prime location in Port Antonio. You are close to the World famous Blue Lagoon, Winnifred beach, Boston Jerk center, Frenchmen's Cove and down town. I tell you, if you have read most of the reviews about this guest house, they all sound alike. We stayed at Polish Princess in June 2012 and had a fabulous experience. Barbara was fantastic in making our stay a memorable one. I only stay at Marriott or Hilton hotels when traveling because I know exaxtly what I'm getting (clean rooms) when I arrive at my destination. I was a little skeptical about staying at a guest house/bed n breakfast because you don't know what you're getting. But Barbara's guest house was great, her rooms were clean and her breakfast was superb (love her fruits). You can't go wrong staying with Barbara. Thank you Barbara for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 67MikeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Polish Princess Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that we were able to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Hope that one day in the future will be able to have you here at our Guest House again. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco bay area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

we just got back from 5 nights stay in Polish Princess and can't thank Barbara enough for all she did for us! The rooms are very clean and the breakfast was amazing! Barbara went out her way to make our stay in Port Antonio comfortable and memorable. Her little daughter is amazingly friendly as well. My family (of 4) and i felt right at home! We stayed on the top floor 2 rooms with a huge balcony overlooking the green valley. we spent most of our morning and evening time there at the balcony with tables and chairs...make sure you request those two rooms! not sure about what to eat, which beach to go to, which gas station to use and where the bank is? let Barbara take care of those - she even took us to her tire shop to fix our tire with amazing price (we fixed our tire in Montego Bay for $J1000 but at Barbara's favorite shop, $J200!). One thing i would like to caution travelers though: please keep in mind, Jamaica is a developing country and Port Antonio is still an unspoiled beach community/village. There are no big shopping malls, fancy resorts/restaurants or well maintained high-ways... If you are looking for those modern life style and party scenes, please don't go there. But if you are looking for friendly people, laid back, safe and peaceful get away, PA is the place for you and so is Polish Princess Guest house. Thanks again Barbara for everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyspicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#9 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polish Princess Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polish Princess Guest House

Property: Polish Princess Guest House
Address: Fairy Hill | Pompie Lane, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polish Princess Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Polish Princess Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polish Princess Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing