We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Polish Princess Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

In march my wife and I were making a holiday trip around Jamaica. We rented a car, drove around the island, looking for a place to stay the night in the evening. In the Port Antonio area we were recommended a guest house slightly north of town close to beautiful Winifred Beach called the Polish Princess Guesthouse. We went there and.... stayed more nights than we originally planned.
Barbara (the Polish Princess ;-)) and her husband Denton have created a beautiful place with comfortable rooms and they are offering great food. Together with their gorgeous little daughter Nicoletta and the dogs they make you want to extend your stay there.
And it's a perfect location to explore the area of Port Antonio, Frenchman's Cove, the Blue Lagoon, the beaches and waterfalls.
We even came back to their place after having surrounded the eastern tip of Jamaica and crossed the Blue Montains on our way back to Montego Bay.
Thanks a lot Barbara, Nicoletta and Denton!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
62
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Polish Princess and enjoyed the sincere hospitality. The Guest House is situated in a calm and save location near many local attractions like Blue Lagoon, Boston Jerk Center and Frenchman´s Cove. Barbara is very helpful in recommending and planning excursions. This is the perfect place to stay, if you travel by car: clean, affordable and serving the best breakfast around Port Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTuuut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I just spent three days with Barbara and Denton at the Polish Princess and we are already looking forward to a return visit. The setting of the guest house is spectacular! Set off the main road it is nestled on a hillside and is surrounded by a tropical paradise of exotic plants and countless singing birds. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, clean, and spacious. The hospitality we received from Barbara and Denton was absolutely outstanding! They had wonderful suggestions on places to visit and tips on how to best get there. The full breakfast we were served each morning was completely over the top - tropical fruits, local favorites, and something new to try each morning! We will be talking about our visit to the Polish Princess with everyone we meet!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anothersunnyday365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The Polish Princess was recommended to us by a friend, and we are glad they did. The location is ideal, outside the bustle of Port Antonio, but still an easy 20 minute drive back to town for restaurants and supplies.
It is walking distance to the Blue Lagoon, the spot where the movie was filmed, a beautiful spot to spend some time either swimming in the crystal blue water or embarking on a snorkeling or sight seeing boat tour. Also near by is Winnifred beach (2 minute drive), which is free to access and has great swimming and snorkeling; Frenchman's cove (5 minute drive), $5 american to access and has beautiful surroundings and onsite food and drinks; and my favorite San San beach (4 minute drive), $4 access fee and great swimming and snorkeling as well.
Also nearby (5 minute drive) is the famous jerk chicken and pork of Boston Beach, and surfing at Long Bay where you can also rent a decent surfboard(15 minute drive). Reach Falls is fairly close by (45 min). To me the Polish Princess was the perfect central location to access all the beautiful spots in Portland Parish.
Now down to the accommodations. The rooms are simple, but very clean and comfortable. Each has a large walk-in closet and bathroom with showers that have hot water. There is no air conditioning, but with the ceiling fan on, the nights were very comfortable. The cost was $65 which included a full, awesome breakfast, not just a piece of toast and juice. The owner is a very friendly Polish woman, who is very hospitable and open to answer any questions and point you in the right direction in your travels, with her Jamaican husband who is a renowned executive chef on a cruise ship and when he is in town cooks up some amazing dishes!
All in all, we were looking for a simple and comfortable place to do some exploring, and we got that and more. We thought it was a great value and will definitely be back. If you are looking for the run-of-the-mill, all-inclusive tourist traps, go to Negril or Montego Bay, but if you have any sense of adventure and appreciation for natural beauty, head to Port Antonio, and be sure to check out the Polish Princess!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kboulais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.8 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polish Princess Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polish Princess Guest House

Property: Polish Princess Guest House
Address: Fairy Hill | Pompie Lane, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polish Princess Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Polish Princess Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polish Princess Guest House Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing