We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveler rating
13
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The Fan Villa is a must stay. It has everything you could want in place to experience the real Jamaica,...perfect staff, views, accommodations and some insanely good cooks. It makes you feel like a real Jamaican which is easy, (cause my wife grew up in Kingston). Located on a jungle-like hillside overlooking the ocean, it feels like a penthouse tree fort and is minutes from Frenchman's Cove, The Blue Lagoon and the jerk of Boston Bay. Nino is doing a beautiful job with his hidden Mona's Bar:) We love your place and thank you for your hospitality!!! We'll be back on our frequent trips to the island. Ciao

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just spent a fabulous week there on the upper floor. It's a great base for exploring the Port Antonia area of the island which is unspoiled by tourists. There are beautiful views from the villa over the Turtle Crawl harbour/bay and Pegg Point (where the interesting Trident castle is situated) and beyond to the sea. Then there are wonderful views of sunsets over the Blue Mountains. I spent many hours painting theses scenes.
Beaches we visited were the beautiful French Man's cove (cost $700 Jamaica dollar each but worth it not to be pestered and for the good changing and toilet area and cafe (though order early for some dishes).
Winifred beach is free though ideally you need a 4x4 to reach it. We also visited the Blue Lagoon and drove past Long Beach on the way to the fabulous Reach (Reich) Falls. There was only one other couple there when we went. $10 US each plus a tip for the lifeguard.
Andrea and Millicent did a great job looking after us and cooking when we asked, please note take some extra Jamaican dollars to pay for the food and taxi fares home if they cook an evening meal or do the shopping for you. It was great to be shown how to buy food in the local supermarket and market where we picked up some good gifts.
We also walked up the hill past dancing tiger butterflies and fireflies on the way back, to have excellent meals at the Mocking Bird hotel.
If we had known about the possibility of visiting a coffee plantation we would have planned this when we hired a 4x4 and drove up to the Blue mountains.
The only down side is the 2 and half hour journey from Kingston airport.Thank you Dick for your careful driving.
Thank you Nino, villa manager, he lives in the villa next door with 2 dogs which helped us feel welcome and safe.

Room Tip: The upper floor Master Suite, has better views. It's a fascinating shape of a fan.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cherry2548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Fabulous view and pleasant accommodations with a great overall value. Ask Andrea to cook breakfast and lunch for you while you're there. It's excellent, convenient and way easier than trying to drive around Port Antonio at night. If you do drive at night, watch out for children, goats, maniac drivers, potholes, drivers who ONLY use their brights, iffy guardrails, and blind corners--about the worst driving conditions I've seen including time in West Africa, Latin America and Brooklyn. Driving during the day is manageable for the confident. Hit up Boston Bay for surfing, Winnifreds beach and Woody's burgers. Nino seems to really care about his guests and we had a great time.

Quick word of warning: Don't do the drive to Port Antonio from Kingston using the Coast Road (A4 = utter misery). It is rough...

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank David_Halliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

My parents had a great time in port Antonio at the fan villa where their spent 2nights. Great position with a great view over the bay. The suite Was very spacious and confortable with a very romantic terrace where their kind housekeeper served breakfast. Nino, the host, has been very kind and helpful and organized their transfers and Tours. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luigi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We only had 3 nights at The Fan (upper level), but loved every minute. We spent our Christmas there, and it couldn't have been more perfect.The house is remarkably unique in its design, very spacious, and has fabulous views over the Blue Mountains, and the ocean. The building design is a fan shape with a strong colonial feel, built in the 1950's; made from timber with a fantastic aspect. Some of the furnishings were a little dated, but for us, this completely enhanced the charm of the place. It was clean, had a lovely terrace, and our host, Nino who lives nearby couldn't have been more helpful. Andrea, our 'helper' made us delicious meals - real Jamaican style... Its proximity to beaches/waterfallls/the blue lagoon is great. My only word of warning is that it is up a hill, so if you are adverse to a little bit of exercise then maybe having a car may help. All in all a great little place that gave us a most welcome taste of the real Jamaica!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesPP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews