We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Tim Bamboo Excelent service”
Review of Hotel Tim Bamboo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tim Bamboo
Ranked #19 of 28 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Tim Bamboo Excelent service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel TimBamboo hosted a Re-Pass(funeral reception) event for my family

The service and staff were excellent and the price was very competitive

i would reccomend them for any social function or just staying there

thank you Johnson and clarke Family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    11
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
23
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I didn't stay here but they offer breakfast to outsiders daily. Me and a friend at breakfast here 3 mornings and each morning we were impressed. The staff is friendly and the food was deliciously prepared! Oh, and it only cost $500 (Jamaican) which is about $5 US. Great deal!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crtnymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Hotel is located on a side street in Port Antonio just a short walk from the center of this small rural town. On first sighting the hotel we were a little offset by the rustic appearance but on entering found the decor quite pleasant. The staff were attentive and pleasant and Mr. Panton, the manager, was very helpful and always seemed to be there. Good local meals are available but I cannot comment on the available international menu as we ate local. Breakfast comes with the room. On Easter Sunday there was a special brunch and a show featuring Grammy nominated Jamaican artiste Singing Melody. It was a great show and well received by the guests and other members of the audience. My only regret is that they serve instant coffee rather than perk real Jamaican coffee. We will stay at Hotel Tim Bamboo again.

Room Tip: Ask to see the available rooms and choose for yourself. Staff and management are quite accomodating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingman1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here as a solo female whilst visiting relatives who live in the area. Found the staff friendly and accommodating. Your supposed to pre-book breakfast which I sometimes forgot to do, staff were always prepared to rustle something up for me.

Never had the experience of a hot shower, although the cold water situation was mentioned to staff who looked into it. I'd shower by lathering with soap and tentatively step into the cold shower, not sure whether the cold water is usual, but I stayed for 6 nights and didn't have a hot water experience. This did not overshadow m overall experience though. I mostly felt safe as a lone female traveller. The electricity went off during one nights stay, but this was in the whole of the town and was not exclusive to the hotel. This can sometimes occur in the town.
I found the bed firm, but comfortable, the room was very clean, no fridge. I'm not sure if some of rooms have fridges, which would be useful to keep water and other drinks chilled when bought.

There's a short walk( 1.5 approx) maybe less to any local amenities and in fact the walk s pretty nice. Just be careful of the sometimes racing cars and roaming goats on the way as the side walk is hit and miss.

I also learned that local people sometimes stay at this hotel which is a good recommendation in itself. I would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are preferable. There was no view to speak of. Not certain which way my room was faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinomon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful Experience :)
Oh sure a person could "pick" or "compare" but, come on, it's all the staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and really great to deal with, the room was clean, the food was great, and the respect shown was simple ownderful
If you would like to experience Portland in a safe, friendly and clean environment environment then this Hotel is for you.
I would reccommend each and ever company who have persons going to work in Portland to stay at this fabulous place. Will be returning as soon as I can.

Regards

Room Tip: I stayed both floors and i didnt have an issue with either of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shelli_H876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

On the one hand, we felt the value of the room was greater here, given that the room was modern, clean, and had hot water (compared other guesthouses and hotels in Jamaica, where we spent more money for much more basic rooms with either cold showers only or no running water/showers). The room price also came with breakfast, unlike the other places we stayed in Jamaica.

However, for the 2 nights we stayed there, the breakfast wasn't worth it. If you wanted breakfast, you had to order it the night before; we ordered straight off the menu and both times it was wrong he next day. This was annoying too because we don't eat meat and had ordered a callaloo (like spinach) and cheese omelet, but received a ham and cheese omelet. The next day we tried ordering the vegetable omelet instead, but received only a pile of vegetables and no omelet or egg!

Breakfast was served in the hotel bar area, and the only waiter was the bartender. Getting him to even acknowledge our presence, or that of other hotel guests who were also waiting for their breakfast at the other tables, was impossible.

Because of the bad service at breakfast and because we wanted to stay in a room with more character/charm, we stayed only 2 nights at Hotel Timbambo, instead of the original 4 nights we initially reserved, and relocated to a nice guesthouse on Titchfield Hill Peninsula in Port Antonio. Fortunately, we had paid in advance for only 2 nights at Hotel Timbamboo, so it was easy to checkout early.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zengirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

"Clean, excellent staff, and really good Jamaican breakfast" Great place for any event, whether large or small. Simply amazing!
The font desk staff was very attentive and ready to assist with all and every queries that came up.
We had a great stay there and we had a great excursion tour of the parish arranged by the frontdesk staff.
Room Service was always on time. The waiters were always on thier Ps and Qs!!!!!! I highly reccommend this place to anyone visiting Jamaica!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deon_ashley_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
5.9 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 28 in Port Antonio
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tim Bamboo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tim Bamboo

Property: Hotel Tim Bamboo
Address: 5 Eveleigh Park Road, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tim Bamboo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tim Bamboo is conveniently located five minutes outside the Town Centre. With comfortable accommodations at extremely reasonable rates, Hotel Tim Bamboo is a great choice for guests who prefer modest rates with superior service. In addition to the many spacious and tropically furnished guestrooms, you can enjoy the privacy and comfort of your own villa. So whether you are travelling alone, with friends, family, colleagues or that special someone, we have the perfect accommodations for you. We are also experts at catering for any business or social event whether it is 1 person or 150 persons. So contact us today. WE'LL WORK WITH YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Tim Bamboo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tim Bamboo Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing