We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San San Tropez Villa-Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
$600
$582
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$183
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
$425
$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goblin Hill Villas at San San(Port Antonio)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$191
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
72
33
17
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
33
17
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrenchman's cove beachlocal attractionswalking distancesmall poolhotel is locatedthe location is perfecthot waterlaid backfruit platterfabiobeachesportjamaicatreeshideawaycook
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 138 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Hi -

A recent reviewer said it very well. San San Tropez is a great little place to stay. The staff working for Fabio are fabulous. It's not overly luxurious, but the rooms are nice, the pool and rooms are very clean and the air conditioning and tv work well. Frenchman's Cove beach closed part way through our stay for a movie shoot, but the beach at San San is almost as close, and is nicer for swimming.

The hotel staff arranged for a great hiking day/tour to Mooretown.

Breakfast is included - wonderful croissants and tropical fruits.

There are frequent taxis heading into Port Antonio (about a 15 minute ride that costs $100 JM per person (about $1.10 US).

This area of Jamaica doesn't have a lot of tourists - (no mega resorts or cruise ships). Visit here if you like almost-empty beaches and to appreciate the natural beauty of Jamaica.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We had a nice stay at San San Tropez. The hotel is located directly across the road from Frenchmans Cove beach (entry fee included) and just down the road from San San beach (300 J. dollar entry). Both are very beautiful beaches. The grounds are nice too with a nice sundeck and clean pool.

The rooms are comfortable. Beds are okay. The climate control worked great and there was plenty of hot water. The TV worked great.

The staff at San San Tropez is nice, friendly, and helpful. Food was very good too, although we had higher expectations of the pizza and coffee. I think things could be improved just a bit more if the owner Fabio takes more of a working interest in hotel operations.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArieAndDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I have stayed at SAN SAN TROPEZ over a dozen times in the last 10 years. FABIO is the owner and manager of this beautifull establishment . The staff are so freindly ,and helpfull . FABIO and the staff will try to please you in any way possible. They all go out of their way for the guests ! The rooms are nicely done and are very clean . The restaurant serves up great italion dishes along with traditional JAMAICAN food . Everthing is prepaired when you order. SO everything is fresh and delicious! The surounding grounds are kept up very nicely. Also this establishment is set in a very private and beautufull area. It sets high on a hill overlooking the Caribbean Sea . Just across the street is one of the most beautifull beaches that you will ever visit. The beach is not long like other beaches in Jamaica but the beauty of the surounding area more than make up for anything else that it may lack . Fabio can give you free passes to this beautifull beach anytime you wish to go. When you stay at SAN SAN TROPEZ you are a personal guest and not just a number! They have a beautifull pool also where you can relax and not worry about a thing. Just remember that you are on island time so enjoy. Not to far from this establishment are the famous BLUE MOUNTAINS and rain forests. So so beautifull ! Fabio can arrange trips to almost anywhere that you would like to go. The town of PORT ANTONIO is kind of laid back in time in some ways. This is what makes the town so easily to get around. You can shop at the local craft markets or just mingle with the local people. They are very freindly. Well i guess i could go on and on about this establishment and the surounding area but i need to stop telling you of all the secrets. When you come and visit you can discover and enjoy them for yourself. I am more than happy and willing to answer any ouestions that you may have about SAN SAN TROPEZ and the surounding areas. My name is RON and i hike in the BLUE MOUNTAINS photographing waterfalls. Many of these very few outsiders will ever get to experience. Some are easily accessed and some take days of hiking to get to. So all i can say is come and relax and enjoy the beauty! After all this is what vacations are all about!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelenman53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We recently spent a week at the San San Tropez . I did a little research on the hotels/villa/guest houses available in Portland and had singled out a few I thought might be interesting for our 1st trip to that side of Jamaica. We chose San San after getting an excellent recommondation from a friend that had been there. I in turn will have to pass that same recommondation on! Everything about this place was perfect! The location, the room, the food, the entire staff including Fabio, the owner, could not have been better. It was especially great to have Frenchmans Cove Beach ( beautiful!) a short walk right across the road! This is a big plus in Portland where the beaches are spread out and usually a good cab ride away. The villas are very clean and comfortable and having a fabulous Italian restaurant on site made dinners easy. Every person working at San San was very friendly and like old friends! The grounds are beautiful and the atmosphere is very relaxed, definately the kind of place you would keep coming back to.

1  Thank iriesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Stayed for 1 week over Christmas. Weather was rainy to a greater or lesser degree every day but we still managed daily beach or exploration trips. San San Tropez is ideally located for exploring Port Antonio and the areas to the West - Boston Bay, Long Bay, Reach Falls etc - and the Rio Grande Valley. The passes to Frenchman's Cove are worth using as that is a truly beautiful beach and creek.
We took the half board option which we would not do again. The menu has no really Jamaican dishes and we found several times that items were off the menu due to the ingredients not being available. No marlin for 3 days and no pina coladas for 3-4 days :-( That said the Italian themed food was very well cooked and presented - the two chefs are great at what they do! Also whilst there the pizza oven broke down - that may not sound significant until you realise that San San has an Portland wide reputation for excellent pizza ..... All in all that made the HB option an expensive luxury that we did not fully utilise as we ate out a few evening times.
The staff are top rate. Very willing to serve and nothing is too much trouble for them.
We stayed in the Strawberry Suite which is bright and airy with the windows and patio door open. There is a small private patio that leads to the pool area. Be warned you need bug spray and may even want to bring some coils to burn at night if you want to sleep with the windows open and avoid using the AC.
Overall a very nice place to stay and we might well return for a night or two if we come back to the Port Antonio area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kilaguni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews