We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diminished Glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San San Tropez Villa-Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I arrived from NY, hot, sweaty, and badly needing a swim, a shower, a shave, dinner and a cocktail.

The swimming pool was dry, the showers were kaput, and there was practically no water in the taps. No booze except beer, and the vaunted 'fine dining' restaurant no longer exists. I left.

Locals say this used to be a great place, but now things don't seem too good.

Room Tip: Try Frenchman's Cove, across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank danilovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSanTropez, Proprietario at San San Tropez Villa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Dear guest,
I wish to apologize for your negative experience in relation of your review. I wish just to advise that since year 2009 the months of september and october being too slow to keep all actvities open and up to standard, Restaurant and bar re-open from early November and you are strongly invited next time to try again in our little paradise of San San Tropez where relax & privacy rules, but not too much ! One Love, Fabio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 132 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2011

We were very pleased with this find. Small, quaint, clean, comfortable, large bathroom, set in a tropical rain forest, across the road from a beautiful beach. Wi-fi available only in the small lobby. No fridge in room. Breakfast was a fresh-fruit juice / smoothie, a delicious fruit plate, home made bread and great coffee. Quiet, relaxing and a pleasure indeed!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iatros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Across the street from Frenchman's Cove and its lovely beach, this small hotel is a gem. Beautifully decorated rooms with roomy bathrooms around a pool. Breakfast includes ripe tropical fruit and home-made bread. Not far from the town of Port Antonio with its entertainment but the Italian owner and his staff will also make a pizza for your dinner. Truly charming with a sense of privacy and near everything you will want to see.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travelnut49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Our 3rd trip back to Port Antonio and best week yet! Phil, Ricardo, Tony, Donna and Fabio (Owner) went over & above to make our trip one my husband & I will remember - we hated to leave them!
We stayed in spacious Guava suite, because it was 3 floors up in the rain forest with the double windows that opened out to the trees. King bed, shelves and open closet with hangers, huge walk-in shower with lots of hot water, bidet & toilet with sink (although lighting was a little dim, but they are all about conserving energy). Everything is very clean!
Food was not as cheap as some places, but they have to go to Kingston to get cheese and most stuff...so people don't ever take that into consideration;Ate there 5 of 7 nights.
Note: We asked if there was music out by pool, they rigged it so we had some.
We love the low key, basic island vibe of the place and staff really made our stay there even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyTConner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We booked this B&B last minute and in a desperate rush to find a roof over our heads while staying in Port Antonio. We were pleasantly surprised when we were greeted by name upon arrival by owner and manager, Fabio. The room was enormous and more space than we needed. Only a frig. No kitchen. Very clean with easy access to the pool. Even our own outdoor shower and entrance to our bathroom from the pool! Speaking of pools, San San Tropez's was the cleanest, warmest, deepest I had seen in my time in Jamaica. The hot water was flowing, the service was very attentive and personal, and the Italian theme somewhat unique (although I hadn't tried any other than the brushetta which was excellent). The only down side was that internet was only accessible within close proximity to the office, our room opened to the dining room of the restaurant (so there was somewhat limited privacy), and the parking space can be tight if the restaurant is busy. Although the small lot is bound to be open and empty when coming home late from a night out. Its distance from Port Antonio proper may not be a good thing and is a trade off when considering that it is access the street from 2 big name beaches in Port Antonio, San San and Frenchman's Cove.

Supporting the local businesses in Port Antonio and Jamaica is a very good thing, so spread the word about San San Tropez! Take care of Fabio and his well-trained staff, and they will most definitely take care of you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laagan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed at San San for 2 nights during our time in Port Antonio.

Pros:
- our deluxe king room was massive - with a large sitting area. the back porch directly connects to the pool (this goes for all of the rooms I think).
- great food from the restaurant (although slightly pricy). best bread we had in jamaica.
- excellent service from attentive staff
- deep, clean pool - refreshing
- right across the street from Frenchman Cove (great beach, but has entrance fee) and very close to Blue Lagoon

Cons:
- decoration in the room is sparse
- wireless internet signal is weak - you have to be very close to front lobby to get it
- about 15 min drive east of port antonio

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeye885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

As per previous reviews, this hotel has lots of positives. It was very good value, had a great position next to Frenchman's Cove ($6 US entry), had good cooking, lovely pool, large rooms, friendly and helpful staff. However, it was very quiet when we were there in early January, and that made the experience, expecially of the restaurant, rather strange. The food was actually very good, but needed pre-ordering to be sure they had it in stock.
The owner Fabio kept a very low profile when we were there and seems to have lost interest, which is a pity as it has so much to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanSanTropez, Owner at San San Tropez Villa-Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2011

Dear friend, thank you for your review which we believe is true and solid. I confirm the low profile, due to the global crisis and downfall occupancy in the last six month. Restricted budget imposed us to remain open, but at minimal cost. We are looking forward to resume full occupancy so to provide services without reservations. Thank you for choosing San San Tropez, one tropical hug from all staff,
Fabio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
1.2 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
506 reviews
3 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San San Tropez Villa-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San San Tropez Villa-Hotel

Address: Drapers P.A. Portland, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: $91 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San San Tropez Villa-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a Villa / Hotel submerged in the rain forest, with all the comforts of home, surrounded by white beaches and clear blue sea ... Imagine a swimming pool, where he reigns relaxation and privacy, join it with a lovely little restaurant and refined inside,a staff that will heal and make you feel at home, and experienced guides will lead you to discover the charms and you will live the true experience of Jamaica. This is the family of San San Tropez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your San San Tropez Villa-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San San Tropez Hotel Port Antonio
San San Tropez Villa-Hotel Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing