We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular views, peaceful surroundings”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
13 reviews | other travelers have booked this property
Villa 3 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 6 Ask about pets Save
villa
villa
living room
villa dining room
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom
bedroom
view from villa porch
view of cottage and blue mountains
at the poolside
Your hostess  Sherene
poolside bar
beautiful trees
lawns
villa
pool area
fish pond
orchid in tree by pool
view from villa front porch
view from villa bedroom porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abit S
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
Spectacular views, peaceful surroundings
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of six women stayed in the villa at Shotover Gardens for a week-long spiritual yoga retreat. We really enjoyed the isolation and serenity of the place. The views of the Blue Mountains and the sea were breathtaking and set a perfect backdrop for our daily practices. The pool was refreshing and the gardens provided nice areas to walk. We felt very safe and secure and so could fully relax.

The villa is basic, nothing fancy and in need of a little freshening up. We cooked our own meals and found the kitchen adequately equipped for our needs.

Derek and Shareen were lovely hosts; never intrusive but always very helpful if we needed something. We were asked how things could be improved as we were checking out and Shareen was very open to our suggestions. With some improvements the villa could be a real gem and a place where we would love to come back to again and again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The seclusion and views
Liked least: Use of mothballs in the bedrooms
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaican...
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
HEAVEN!
2
people found this review helpful

We (my sister and I) stayed at Shotover Gardens last year, and couldn't wait to go back this year. Again, we stayed three nights, it was heaven! The mountain views, the city views, the wonderful swimming pool (from where you also have a great view, while floating around), and of course Derick and Sherene's kindness! They leave you alone to do your own thing, but they're always available, should you need anything...they are wonderful hosts. All I can say is this...three nights was not enough, and of course we plan to go back again next year!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The wonderful views
Liked least: We like everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridjit
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2012
Picturesque, serene & modernly basic
1
person found this review helpful

My title sums up what Shotover was to our group. We needed nothing more. Being a hiking club we certainly appreciated the location of the villa, set in the rural, quiet town of Port Antonio against a backdrop of world-class sites, breath-taking views and so many hidden and understated natural attractions within close proximity: Frenchman's Cove, Blue Lagoon, Rio Grande. Shotover is undeniably a resident of Port Antonio...nestled in the hills atop the great Rio Grande River, though to see it, you would have to hike to down to it (and regrettably we didn't have time to) - it's that high up as was evidenced by the cool, crisp and foggy mornings! The Jamaican Northern coastline is a sight to behold from Shotover. The three (3) villas spaced comfortably apart from each other and spread out over the huge lush garden teeming with life: fruit and flowering trees, two (2) pet dogs - one could live here! I would have liked to make good use of the pool but alas, the water was definitely too cold for me, I am thinking it perhaps needed a heater for those late-night swims. Our one (1)-bedroom villa was basic and it met our needs for a comfortable stay...the bigger villa three (3)-bedrooms was the main house. Warm, cozy and quaint. Last but not least, our host - Mr. Derrick Crump - very accommodating, engaging and hospitable. He bought our groceries to ease the burden of having to find something to eat after the long journey from Kingston, carted us out every day to meet our 'bus', even carried us to church on our last day. All of his contacts were reliable and friendly too - Mr. Winston - our minibus driver. All in all, it was an enjoyable, unforgettable and budget-friendly trip of a lifetime.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The daily trek because of its location made it a bit difficult at times especially during heavy rainfall
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaican...
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
TRANQUILITY AND SERENITY
4
people found this review helpful

My sister and I spent 3 nights in the "cottage". From the moment we arrived, Derick (owner) and Sherene (his wife), made us feel welcome. The well-kept property is huge and you feel like you're in a beautiful botanical garden with lots of trees, plants, and blooming flowers! Our little cottage had total privacy, and consisted of a bedroom with a dresser, tv, and night stand, a bathroom with a hot-water shower, and a roomy kitchen that was equipped with a stove, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, pots/pans, nice dishes/bowls, cutlery...everything we needed was there....there's also a table with 4 chairs! The whole cottage has a very airy, bright, and roomy feel to it...there are plenty of windows and to our delight, they all had mosquito screens!...so we were able to leave the windows open at all times, without having to worry about bug bites. On the back side of the cottage, is a private little terrace with views to die for! This is where we had our morning coffee while gazing at the beautiful mountains and the clouds going by, and also the coast line....truly amazing!! We also observed many, many different types of birds...a truly enjoyable experience. The pool area of this property is beyond wonderful....you can float in the pool while looking down on the town of Port Antonio...again, absolutely amazing views! There's also plenty of shade near the pool, a little area with a roof and a double-hammock...for those who do not want to be exposed to the sun too much. A restroom is also conveniently located right beside the pool. the main house (which can be rented by larger groups), the little cottage (with plenty of room for 2 people), and the pool area, are perfectly located within easy walking distance from each other, yet still with complete privacy! We loved this place! One morning, Sherene gave us a little "tour" of the property...there are many banana trees, mango trees, and tons of beautiful foliage...she enjoys gardening, and has planted many plants herself. When you rent the cottage, there are no meals available, but that's not a problem at all...we just stopped at a grocery store on our way there and brought whatever we needed...since we had a nice and fully functional kitchen, we just fixed our own little meals. Should you need anything, the owner is always ready and willing to help you. This place is truly a gem for those who enjoy being away from all the hustle and bustle of the town, yet should you desire to go into town, you're only 15-20 minutes away by car! Nature lovers will enjoy this place, it's also great for people with small kids who just want some peace and quiet in a safe environment. At US$50/night for the cottage, this is a steal! The pictures don't do this place any justice...hou have to see it in person, it's even more beautiful!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AandBD
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
Peaceful location, wonderful views, great birding.
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed four nights at the cottage. Shotover Gardens is on top of a hill, about 20 minutes drive from the main road at Port Antonio. The villa, cottage and pool are all well-separated in the beautiful large gardens so there is good privacy. The cottage has a spacious kitchen-diner, a good-sized bedroom and a shower-room. There are two porches in front and a large covered patio across the rear. Lovely views of the gardens, the mountains across the Rio Grande valley and the distant sea. Deck-chairs outside and a sofa or arm-chairs indoors would have been much appreciated as we only had dining chairs to sit on and carry from place to place. The cottage has solar panels and storage batteries for electricity, reverse-osmosis drinking water and an electric shower. The kitchen is equipped with cooker, fridge-freezer and microwave.There is a TV and wifi . All windows are screened and there is a ceiling fan in the bedroom. The solar-heated pool was delightful as was the huge double hammock in the shade beside the pool. I would have liked a sunlounger by the pool too!
We had a really pleasant and relaxing time staying at Shotover, enjoying the peace and quiet, birding in the gardens and along the tracks nearby, watching the stars and the fireflies at night. We had a hire car and found the cottage to be a good base for exploring the north-east of the island. Derick and Sherene were perfect hosts, always available but not intrusive, and kindly lending us a mobile phone and two bird-books. The cottage is very good value for money but needs a refreshment and overhaul of equipment in order to make it the truly idyllic accommodation it could so easily be.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and gardens
Liked least: Lack of lounging chairs
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location: isolated, but close enough to town
Liked least: Not oceanfront
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edmonton
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: hammock by the wading pool
Liked least: bumpy road up the hill
Traveling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.