We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful.... Once you run the gauntlet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lagoon

Blue Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.75*
and up
Bikini Beach, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day Trip from Runaway Bay or Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sheltered, white sand beach with calm waters perfect for swimming.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peaceful.... Once you run the gauntlet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

When you first arrive at the Blue Lagoon be prepared to run the gauntlet of hustlers trying to sell souvenirs and boat rides. However, to be honest I didn't think they were that bad on my most recent visit. Once you make it to the Lagoon, either take a boat ride across or do like I did and swim to the small beach located on the opposite side. The water is so buoyant it really is an easy swim. Once you arrive on the beach they will charge you for beach access, we had six people in our group and paid $5 total. From here, sit back, relax and swim the beautiful waters of the Blue Lagoon. If you are looking for excitement this is not the place, but if you are looking for a beautiful place to relax and swim for a few hours it's utopia.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoogieChillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    160
    78
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Freezing hot water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were staying at Geejam and decided to hire their boat for a few hours to explore along the coast a bit. We had to see the Blue Lagoon of course and have a swim. My wife went in first and reported that the water was lovely and warm. I followed and shouted at her that it was not very warm where I was. We found that it moved from warm to cold as you swam around - caused by the water from the land mixing with the sea water. A very nice splash - although there didn't seem to be a lot to do on the shore.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped to look at the Blue Lagoon on our way back from Reach Falls. We were to tired to jump in, but we looked around some. The Lagoon is worth seeing, but you probably won't need to spend a lot of time there. There is no beach - just a dock to jump off of. There are some craft stands and a restaurant nearby, and people offering to take you on a raft or boat ride into the Lagoon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love this lagoon side restaurant. The food is great and you can sit and watch others swim in the lagoon or you can take the boat over to Dragon fly hotel. Well spent evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank abby_frecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful, as in the movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were there on a really sunny day, which brought out the color of the Lagoon. It looked as nice as it did in all the movies it featured in. We took a 30minute boat ride for 10 us$ out in the lagoon and into the sea nearby.

We took a swim in both the Caribbean Sea and the Lagoon. The latter was great as the water temperature shifts all the time because of fresh water sources pumping water into the Lagoon.

A must see when in Jamaica.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erikz_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lagoon also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing