We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“just as nice as in the pictures!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchman's Cove

Frenchman's Cove
Book In Advance
$128.75*
and up
Bikini Beach, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day Trip from Montego Bay or Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You've always wanted to enjoy elaborate, fruit-flavored cocktails on a beautiful tropical beach, so here's your chance; this beach offers spectacular sand, surf and service.
Toronto
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“just as nice as in the pictures!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Frenchman's Cove is a perfect little cove of a beach. Usually its very calm but when we were ther is was quite rough. Despite this we enjoyed jumping in the waves! There is a nice little river that runs into the sea here and it was a great spot to enjoy some calm and cooler water--very refreshing! While it does cost to enter the beach, we thought it was worth it and there are hotel staff there to get you drinks, etc. These staff were very attentive without being intrusive, so it was nice. Try to go early to avoid the crowds (also the sun shines best in the morning on this eastern side of the island).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    142
    55
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful sandy beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Loved relaxing on the white sandy beach where a cool fresh water river runs into the warm blue raging sea.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank xjsracer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have never been to a beach so beautiful, and I've been to many! The river that runs into the sea is a unique feature that allows for two different experiences while there. We had a great time and we knew how beautiful it was because it was raining!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aver N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Frenchman's Cove is a beautiful spot, but we were shocked by the treatment that was given to our friend who accompanied us. He happens to be a black Jamaican, and the waiter did not want to serve him lunch. He gave my husband and I (who are white Americans) menus, but not our friend. This experience upset us all so much that we could not enjoy the beauty of the location. The owners should be aware that their staff are prejudiced against Jamaicans. We were disgusted by our experience and will not be back. We will also recommend to our friends that they not go to Frenchman's Cove. This is 2013, not 1960!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenAndEricVortriede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Awesome beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful, clean, non-crowded beach! Really unique to have both the ocean and a river right there - the sea is lovely but the freshwater, calm river is also great for swimming and so refreshing! It is an $8US admission per person but well worth the price, both for the clean beach, but also to be hassle-free from no vendors inside the beach. Also they have a little restaurant/cafe with servers on the beach! Truly a wonderful place - definitely go!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dnl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchman's Cove also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing