We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local color!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boston Beach

Boston Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Watch the young and adventurous surf the waves as you chow down on jerk pork, the Jamaican dish this beach is famous for.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great local color!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Fun to watch the surfers and you don't have to be a surfer to go to Boston Beach. The swimming is great too! Be sure to visit the nearby Jerk stands as this is where Jerk started. Delicious! You may get harassed by some of the locals to buy locally made gifts (and grass), but a simple "no thanks, not today" and a fist bump is all it takes have them leave you alone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank smar530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    90
    33
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This beach is smaller and can get very crowded if you arrive later in the afternoon. The setting is really beautiful- exactly how you picture a Jamaican beach. Beautiful white sand and turquoise water. The swell here can be very good so you can surf here. The local beach guys can be somewhat annoying, when they try selling you things that you're not interested in- Say hi, be polite, but a firm no thank you works pretty good. Respect is important. Some of them work for different Jerk huts up the street and want to sell you "their" special jerk, I don't think you can go wrong, but I think it's good to scout out the prices before and ask your hotel staff what you should pay for it. They usually know the prices you pay for 1/2 or 1 pound of Jerk. I bought from the one straight up from the beach, the pork and lobster was spicy, but excellent!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindagradin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect for swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our swim at the Boston Beach on Boxing Day. There were a lot of locals and some tourists. Not as touristy as beaches in Negril inspite of crowds. I am vegetarian, so did not partake in the Boston Jerk that draws a lot of people here, but did enjoy baked breadfruit with hot sauce and it was great. Parking is ample and free even on a busy day. The access to the beach is clean and safe through sand.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank campbell95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Bay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed a Great Huts on Boston Bay for three days. The seas were a bit rough while we were there, but was able to do some snorkeling anyway. The waves brought out the local surfers, who were really fun to watch. Great place with very few tourists, so more peaceful than most beaches.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trisherpa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

It was my first time surfing and it was one of the most thrilling sports I have tried as of yet! to be out there swimming against the current, fighting for a spot to catch a wave, being out there surrounded by the elements, by so much beauty and fierceness...makes you realize how fragile and strong you are all at once. Richard, are instructor, was the best i swear!! he was so patient and so encouraging!! Such a cool guy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Beach also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Boston Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing