We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exzellent Service very good cocking and lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exzellent Service very good cocking and lovely rooms”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I highly recommend that wunderful place for all who like it individual. It is a small Hotel with 10 rooms and all furnished individually. It is placed at a hill with beautiful view and nice Pool. We had breakfirst and dinner which was both delicious and prepared with local Ingredients . The Service is excellent .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    51
    12
    14
    16
See reviews for
38
202
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose Portland as our destination in Jamaica because of the promises in our different travel guides to experience the 'real' Jamaica. As this was our first trip to the island, we didn't really know what to expect. Our internal images of Jamaica were quite diffuse: sunshine, reggae, some nice beaches... Our expectations with regards to the island and to the hospitality of people in general and especially the staff of the Hotel Mockingbird Hill surpassed our expectations in all aspects.

Taking a taxi from the Kingston airport to Port Antonio already gave us the possibility to admire the natural beauty and richness of fauna & flora of the Blue Mountains area. We could best describe the nature as of the tropical jungle, but without the dangerous animals or plants. Everywhere you can see green hills of forests, palm trees and other exotic plants, interrupted by small villages with colourful sheds of local people, good-looking and relaxed people walking and chatting in the streets, the smell of jerk meat in the air, the sounds of local music and beautiful almost empty sandy beaches with turquoise blue water.

We didn't find any signs of mass tourism and this was a significant relief fafter the 5 days in busy and touristy French Quarter of New Orleans, where we had spent the previous week. The contrast between this loud, cheap and artificial character of the centre of New Orleans and this purely natural, unspoilt and relaxed amosphere of Portland couldn't have been bigger and this was exactly what we had been looking for.

We have travelled a lot all over the world and consider ourselves individual tourists looking for adventures and trying to soak up as much as possible into the country's culture, cuisine and lifestyle, but at the same time we don't want to miss a bit of luxury and retreat as for the accommodation on our holidays.

The Mockingbird Hill Hotel offered us the perfect mix of all this. It is located on top of a hill all covered by greens and gardens of fruit (which later land on your breakfast plate!), with loads of rare species of birds (you can even observe hummingbirds sittinng on the balcony!) and butterflies, all this giving a bit of a 'jungle safari' experience. The view from the balconies is just breathtaking - you can see endless ocean on one side and eminent Blue Mountains on the other. The constantly changing sunlight gives the chance to experience completely differently-coloured landscapes.

The hotel itself is very pleasantly arranged, wigth well chosen and tasteful colonial style furniture (and also everything is 100% of natural materials!), a nice pool, quiet rooms and within a walking distance from a beautiful beach called Frenchmen's Cove (and the hotel provides free shuttle to the beach back and forth!). But you definitely reccomend also other beaches around (Winnifred Beach, San San, Boston Bay), as each of them has its own character and we can assure you, that if you have ever wondered if beaches from the holiday brochures really exist, the Portland beaches are the proof that yes!

The staff of the hotel is well trained, respectful and very friendly. Anton, who seemed to have all qualifications - from the watier to the tourist guide ;) fulfilled all our wishes before we could even pronounce them. The food, whish is always one of the main reasons for our travels, was more than delicious and the most amazing part was that almost all the ingredients came from the hotel's garden or from the local suppliers, giving some of the poor locals a chance to make their living (therefore it was the first fair trade hotel we've ever been to!).

The owners explained to us the aspects of their eco-friendly business model and we could experience it ourselves - they live according to this philosophy in 100%, running the hotel not only to make money, but also to make a difference and contribute to the world.

All in all, one of the best holidays ever spent in a perfect place.

PS. We had read a few stories (Internet) about the risks of being robbed in Jamaica. We met a lot of people every day and night (in the streets, on the beaches, in local bars) but at no time were we under the impression of needing to be more cautious than in any South European town! In fact, they were one of the friendliest people we had the chance to meet during our travels - very open and cheerful and usually very eager to help and give tips.

Ya man!

Room Tip: we had a room with garden view from a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

While we did not stay at this property (though we wish we had! we were visiting from Ocho Rios). We spent a lovely afternoon lazing about admiring the beautiful tropical gardens while soaking up the beautiful vistas on the terrace at Mocking Bird Hill.

We heard rave reviews about the food (& environs) from friends who have stayed there (#10 I hear is the place to stay), but nothing compares to experiencing it yourself!

Oh it was absolutely wonderful! Fresh baked breads such as pita bread & baguettes, freshly prepared food seasoned with real herbs and spices (veggies & herbs grown in their own back yard!) A gastronomic delight! You cannot go wrong with anything chosen on the menu and the best thing is it's never the same thing every day...unless you request something simply because it was too scrumptious to only have once!

We feasted, and enjoyed bottle after bottle of exquisite wines from Sicily, Switzerland and Italy (yes we had quite a bit!), some we weren't familiar with as they were from smaller vineyards but were highly recommended by their staff and again - you simply can't go wrong!

Special thanks to Inn keepers Barbara & Shireen and their staff (Kerri & Antwon in particular) who were very warm, attentive & entertaining.

We'll be back soon and this time we're staying for at least a week! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneloveCamiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having now read reviews by others it would seem we were unlucky. The hotel was situated in a fantastic setting but being surrounded by barking dogs on arrival was not the most pleasant of welcomes when one of our party has an aversion to canines. The introductory tour of rooms showed the hotel to be choice fully decorated, but being told that we would have to pay extra for energy was a little surprising that it was not just included. This was particularly annoying when despite protesting one room failed to produce any hot water on either day, even after letting it run for a long time, wasting water.

One room had been missed by the cleaners and was dirty, the bathroom full of mosquitoes and cockroaches running through the bedroom. A travel case was found to be the new home for two of them in the morning. Even though it was said to be the dry season mosquitoes were a considerable problem despite the various electrical devices that were supplied, the muslin mosquitoes nets and fans. A lizard was a frequent visitor in the other room but failed to eat the mosquitoes!

The food was truly excellent, but again the experience was spoilt by having to ask for table ware to be exchanged as it had not been washed properly. Any comment that we made did not appear to be well received.

A great pity that such a lovely venue was spoilt by lack of attention to detail, as all of these concerns could easily be rectified. Value for money was not there, and not inline with other nearby establishments. If you are fond of wildlife in your bedroom and poor standards this might be the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask about the night time visitors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_Watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmbhpot, Owner at Hotel Mocking Bird Hill, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Upon reading this report we immediately checked the hot water in both rooms. It is scorching hot. We can only assume that unfortunately the guests were not familiar with the hot water mixer and that this was not explained to them when they were escorted to their room. We apologise for this omission. It is helpful when guests point out anything that may be amiss so that we can immediately rectify the situation. It is always unfortunate when guests say nothing and resort after departure to open fora to vent. The room was freshened up and cleaned before the guests were escorted there. Under no circumstances do we put guests in dirty rooms. Our rooms have a tropical design with open serpentine windows and doors through which insects such as beautiful fireflies and other nocturnal flying insects can come in. In addition to the mosquito nets and repellents provided in the rooms we can also provide guests with environmentally friendly spray on repellent should they have forgotten to bring this along with them. It would appear that we were unlucky as these guests seem to have chosen a hotel which did not suit their needs and fears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Shireen and Barbara go to great lengths to ensure guests have a memorable experience and it was! The food was delicious, the room immaculate, the staff extraordinary - especially Anton and Kerri. (Thanks for the help finding the Jamaican Owl, Kerri). Definitely on our list of places to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBWright111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Mockingbird Hill Hotel is a treasure..a marvelous hotel both for birders and travelers who just want a luxurious and authentically Jamaican boutique hotel ! We arrived expecting what we have come to know traveling to all parts of the world on irding excursions, yet another predictably austere but thoughtfully run eco-hotel. We found instead an excellent small hotel with a gourmet restaurant, spacious graciously appointed and immaculate rooms, each with a comfy sitting area and terrace. There are lush bird filled gardens and five star and the hotel service is flavored with Jamaican charm and European sensibilities. It is better than any of the “best” eco-hotels we have stayed in anywhere in the world and as good and in many ways better as many five star hotels. Everyone on the staff bends over backwards to make sure that all guests are well taken care of and their warmth and concern seems quite genuine. The spectacular tropical gardens wind their way through the lush seven acre property. It is possible to have a massage in a private corner of the garden or in one’s room or balcony. I tried both; the therapist is excellent. On top of all of the above, my bird photographer husband could merely walk down a few stairs from our room to the flower filled garden to find a large variety of birds including the Jamaican Owl he photographed at sunset on our first night. The views of the ocean are stunning and there are beaches, rafting and waterfalls nearby. A jewel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronatalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thank you Shireen and Barbara for a truly relaxing and magical holiday. Even though we were unlucky with the weather we couldn't have had a better trip seeing all the wonderful local sites such as the Somerset Falls, Frenchman's Cove, Goldeneye and many more. We enjoyed the fabulous gardens you have lovingly created, your delicious cooking (and indeed lessons) and the incredibly comfortable and well-appointed rooms with natural air-conditioning. We arrive frazzled by city life and left so relaxed we could slip under doors. To paraphrase Arnold Schwarzenegger: "We will be back!"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CVReather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
0.5 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
86 reviews
46.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mocking Bird Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocking Bird Hill

Property: Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Address: Mockingbird Hill | P.O. Box 254, Port Antonio JM, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Port Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mocking Bird Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best eco boutique hotel in Port Antonio, Jamaica. Set on a hilltop on Jamaica's northeast coast between the majestic Blue Mountains and the Caribbean Sea, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is Jamaica's foremost 'green' hotel minutes from the most romantic Frenchman's Cove Beach. A tranquil, serene, sanctuary with breathtaking vistas, laid back luxury and world class cuisine, Hotel Mockingbird Hill is the ultimate, authentic Jamaican experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mocking Bird Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocking Bird Hill Hotel
Mocking Bird Hill Port Antonio
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing