We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its best”
Review of Rio Grande

Rio Grande
Book In Advance
More Info
$128.75*
and up
Bikini Beach, Blue Lagoon and Rio Grande Day Trip from Runaway Bay or Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

As I was paying for the night before with the hangover from hell, this was a godsend. We decided to go for it and from the moment I stepped in the taxi to go was well engaged in conversation. the driver told us a bit about the history behind the resort as we were talking which was nice. We arrived jumped on the raft and hit the best remedy for 'the day after the night before'. These overwhelming views and ambiance that Jamaica provide, cannot be described as it would not do justice to the exact feeling. In a nutshell Brilliant!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yohan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    66
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and lovely”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We took our kids (9 and 13) on the rafting trip. They had a very enjoyable time--jumping into the river, etc. It's very peaceful and lush. A little more than half way through, we stopped for lunch at Belinda's--a riverside cooking stall with excellent food. There's a "bar raft" along the river from whom you can buy drinks...that was a surprise. Our guides were lonnie and howard--they were both very nice and accommodating, answering questions, but not talking too much and letting you enjoy the peace and quiet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank utahm0m2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“nice excursion”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very neat way to see some of Jamaica. Our guide, Lonnie, was nice but quiet. Happy to answer any questions, but didn't talk much otherwise. The scenery is lovely, but is overshadowed by the superb lunch served on the riverbank! Truly amazing that this woman cooks such a meal over a campfire. Several vendors throughout the river w/ beer & water for sale. Also, several spots to stop and go for a swim. The trip takes longer when the river is low (2.5 hours the day we went). Be sure to wear sunscreen and a big hat!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank peachmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Natural beauty”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After a short drive up into the hills we arrived at the reception area for the raft trip down the Rio Grande. The staff was efficient and we quickly loaded onto our assigned rafts. The boat captains were very skilled and entertaining. We were impressed by how well they maneuvered the various rapids, etc. The trip was very relaxing and scenic. We stopped to eat at "Belinda's" where we experienced the best food I have ever eaten. It consisted of locally caught giant crayfish, chicken, veggies, and rice all cooked over a primitive wood stove. We will never forget this amazing experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rafting”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Rafting every time I go to Jamaica. captains make the trip fun. Informative and make you relax with stories.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grande also viewed

Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 

Been to Rio Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing