We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Search-Me-Heart
Nearby Hotels
Tropical Lagoon Resort(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$247
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$236
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Palace Hotel(Port Antonio)
$171
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon San Villa(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$151
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$190
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Trident Hotel(Port Antonio)
$600
$582
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Geejam(Port Antonio)
$425
$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jamaican Colors(Port Antonio)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
53
8
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
8
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroute taxiwalking distancesan san beachperfect stayreach fallsblue mountainsocho riosboston bayguest houseour honeymoonrositadroversguesthousewoodysbeachesfrenchmanscove
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 65 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went to Search-Me-Heart just after Negril. This is the opposite, in a great way! No crowds at the perfect beaches, and instead of an big Resort a very unique and beautiful apartment! Rosanna and her crew treated us as family members. They gave us very good information about the area and we spent some nice hours in the little bars with good Reggae music. If you have any problem you can call Rosanna and she will find a way to solve it. After a trip to the Blue Mountains we came back to Search-Me-Heart to enjoy the real Jamaica for some more days! Get there and enjoy it! (PS: Thanks for the flowers you gave to Natalie. We will tell you when Jamaica blooms in Germany!)

Best wishes to Drapers from Natalie and Bastian

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent six wonderful days and nights at Search-Me-Heart, a lovely guesthouse in Drapers, Jamaica.

Rosanna Trifogli owns the guesthouse and was our caring and delightful hostess. She was ably assisted by her stepson Roy, who cooked dinners for us and was our guide, and Kay who prepared nice breakfasts everyday and kept our room fresh and clean. The guesthouse and grounds are attractive, and we relaxed on the veranda in the evening listening to crickets and whistling frogs and in the morning watched Bananaquits and butterflies. We were very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Rosanna and Roy took good care of us. Rosanna arranged transportation for us from Ocho Rios to Drapers as well as a chartered drive through the scenic Blue Mountains. She oriented us to the price of things and where we might want to visit locally. She also arranged a birding guide for us. Roy was a wonderful cook. He brought us local fruits. We enjoyed his Akee and Saltfish, Shrimp and Coconut Rundown, Brown Stew Chicken and delicious vegetarian entries made with local yams, potatoes, cabbage, dasheen root and more. Roy was also a superb local tour guide. Our vacation would not have been as informative or fun without him.

Search-Me-Heart is situated a short distance from three of the most exclusive resorts in Jamaica. Birds are plentiful including endemics, and you can walk or take a short taxi ride to numerous beautiful beaches. The town has a safe, lively family feeling. There is a vegetarian stand with great food and juices, a wonderful bakery, a general store, friendly bars and Woody’s delicious eatery. We thoroughly enjoyed socializing with all the people we met.

Whether you are a traveler who likes to emerge yourself in the local culture or someone looking for a quiet, private get-away I would highly recommend Search-Me- Heart. Rosanna and Roy made our stay very memorable. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 401KathleenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spend 3 lovely weeks at search-me-heart and enjoyed our stay very much. the bedrooms are clean, rosanna is a very helpful and friendly guestkeeper and roy and his friends made this trip a great experience. drapers is a really calm neighbourhood and perfect for people, who try to avoid the hotspots of tourism and want to explore another side of jamaica - especially the beach "winniefred" ( the only beach in this area which is not privatized yet) is worth more than one visit - the view is amazing and you can buy extraordinary jamaican food just in front of the beach.
we would love to come back and relax within this wonderful atmosphere of drapers, rosanna and the boys! thank you so much for this experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I had travelled around the island 18 years ago, and when it came time to plan our next trip, I insisted we go to Port Antonio. We were so happy we did! We have never stayed at a B & B before - always worried it would be too intimate with the other guests versus the anonimity of a large resort. But, we came away feeling like we have new family! Rosanna was an absolutely wonderful hostess, and I so enjoyed our conversations.

The numerous reviews previous to this all attest to the cleanliness, delicious breakfasts, and great beaches. All very important issues! What we really loved was the freedom, the beauty and the friendly warmth of the area. Walking any where was so safe, we even had our 5 year old daughter with us. Taking the local taxis were a great experience, cheap and easy. Passing almost anyone on the road would result in a smile and a "Good Morning" - where does that happen any more?!

I am sorry we missed out on meeting Culture - given the reviews, I was looking forward to it! But his son Roy did an admirable job filling his boots. We had a great curry dinner prepared by Roy, as well as some exclusive tours to some very private areas we would never have found without him. And he was fantastic with our daughter!!

He made arrangements with a couple of friends who proved to be great ambassadors for PA. One lovely young man was Oraine Bunting, who drove us to Reach Falls. He was full of information and conversation along the drive.. He even offered to drive us back to the airport, but we had already made plans. (876) 387-4785.

Speaking of Reach Falls, we had an amazing experience there, as well. Our guide was arranged through Roy (I believe...?) and he was great. We were the only ones at the falls, and he lead us through the path so quickly and easily, and even carried our daughter while doing it. Showed us every step to take so we wouldn't slip. And even got us fresh coconuts on the way out. Don't hesitate to call him to do your tour!! Aston (876) 561-0039

We stayed for 10 days and would have been happy to stay another week! Would love to go back!! I can't say enough about what a great experience this was for us as a family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This guesthouse was a great choice for me and my boyfriend! It is located in a nice and calm neighborhood with friendly locals. Also, it as a nice local feel because there are not a lot of tourists in that area yet. The rooms were simple but clean and well equipped with a ventilator and a mosquito net. The breakfast was very good (great jams and fruit selection) and the service was friendly! The atmosphere at the place is really chill and they have a nice patio in the front with cozy chairs and a hammock!
The staff was willing and pleased to give us directions and suggestions on places to visit! Do go to misses Annes little restaurant which is a 5min walk ....the food is fabulous !
We will come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews