We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place To Stay!!!!!!”
Review of Search-Me-Heart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Search-Me-Heart
Ranked #7 of 29 Port Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Search-Me-Heart was more than just a guesthouse, it was also a unique and authentic experience for us. We were only going to stay three nights and we ended up staying the entire week! Rosanna and Culture were the perfect hosts!! As was Roy who we took on as our local tour guide. The Jamaican cuisine Culture prepared for us every morning started each day off just right! All the close by beaches are spectacular and within walking distance. We met wonderful people all around the area and came away feeling as though we had a few more friends in the world. Thanks again Rosanna, Culture, and Roy!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 62 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We absolutely loved Search-Me-Heart.

Pros: bright & welcoming house with lovely host, a giant hammock on the veranda outside our room, fresh local fruit with breakfast each day, friendliness & graciousness from everyone we met, spacious & clean room, lovely grounds full of flora, Ann the vegetarian woman down the road who made us the best vegetarian food ever, the list may never end...

Cons: nil

We even had our 9-month old with us which can inevitably lead to issues but we had a beautiful time.

Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had the white room with access to the veranda from our bedroom. Simply amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMendelsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent just one night in March 2012 at Search-Me-Heart but wished it could have been for more. We stayed in the amazing front of house ‘White’ bedroom. Our minimal whitewashed room had a shabby chic feel and a lovely private en suite bathroom with white fluffy towels provided.

The veranda entrance to our room reminded us of a colonial style inn; we had a hammock hanging directly outside of our room which immediately made us feel relaxed. Set back from the main road, a garden and small path leads to this quaint and comfortable guest house. If we blinked we would have missed it, a tiny pretty Search-Me-Heart sign hangs slightly hidden on the side of the house, thus keeping this gem totally unique and unspoilt.

We arrived early afternoon after a scenic drive from Kingston and the owner Rosanna was fabulous. She provided us with information about the best local beach, and so that we could make it for some afternoon sun she came along for the drive too.

Breakfast was a cosy gathering around a table with the other guests; we were presented with unlimited fresh Jamaican coffee, orange juice, banana fritters, chocolate brownies, toast and Jamaican Papaya Jam.

We really can’t say enough nice things about Rosanna and Search-Me-Heart, we will definitely stay again and recommend it to absolutely everyone who stays in Portland, Jamaica

Maxine & Samantha

Room Tip: The entire property is of high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Search Me Heart in February with my mom. It was my 10th trip to Jamaica, and my first to Port Antonio. It just might be my favorite place on the island, and Search Me Heart will be the place I return again and again.

It is safe, clean and comfortable. We stayed in the 2 rooms at the front of the house, with a lovely porch and hammock to relax.

Rosanna is a consummate host and makes you feel like a special guest in her home. She is very knowledgable about the area and has many suggestions and tips. She is a delight to sit on the porch and chat with. Breakfast was wonderful.

The rooms are comfortable and have a nice breeze. The shower had the best water pressure I have ever experienced!! You can hear the music from a few place up the road, but it is not bothersome and for me is part of the atmosphere in Jamaica, along with the sounds of the tree frogs. I slept very well at night.

The guest house is well located - with a store and a bar across the road. Walking distance to San San beach, Frenchman's Cove and Blue Lagoon, There are a couple of great places to eat close by, but my favorite is a vegetarian take out place - run by a lovely woman named Ann. We ate there every evening. It is simply amazing.

Rosanna has great contacts for transportation and tour guides in the area - and Petey was an amazing guide for our trip to Reach Falls. Make sure you arrange for transportation from the airport with Rosanna or a driver in Port Antonio, as the rate is much cheaper than the drivers in Montego Bay will charge.

The area in general is spectacular and has a nice relaxed vibe. We made so many friends that I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cancalpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

If you are planning a trip to Portland, Search Me Heart is a MUST stay! Rosanna and Culture have created a beautiful and relaxing spot in this gorgeous part of Jamaica! The rooms were very clean and comfortable (all rooms have mosquito nets, private bathrooms and fans). Breakfast is included and is always entertaining with Culture! It usually consists of toast, yummy local jam, eggs, homemade juice and coffee or tea. There were a few days that Culture went above and beyond, cooking us some special breakfast dishes that were delicious! He also took us on a tour of his garden, explaining the value of all of the plants. The location of Search Me Heart is perfect! You are about a 10 minute cab ride to Port Antonio (90J), a five minute walk to Woody's (best burger spot), 1 minute away from the Flaming Dutch Pot (home cooked meals for 200J), 10 minute walk from Frenchmen's Cove (500J), 15 minute walk from San San Beach (400J?), and about a 30 minute walk from Blue Lagoon (It is free!).


You can reach Drapers from Kingston by hiring a taxi (100US) or, if you are adventurous, you can take a bus to Port Antonio from Half Way Tree in Jamaica for 360J.

We really enjoyed our time here and hope that we can return again soon! The beaches in the area are amazing, the food it great, but above all, Rosanna and Culture are the BEST! If you are planning a trip to the Port Antonio area, you MUST stay here!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great! Rosanna is very accommodating and will make sure you enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 596JenniferC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at Search-Me-Heart based on the recommendation of our friend. We couldn't have been more happy with it. Culture and Rosanna were so helpful and nice, the guesthouse was very clean with beautiful grounds. Anything we needed they provided. It felt like we were at our own home. We asked Culture to cook us dinner one night and the food was excellent. Curry chicken and veg with rice and plantains. So delicous, better than a couple of the restaraunts we tried.

Search-Me-Heart is literally just a beautiful 10-15 minute walk from Frenchman's Cove and San San Beach or the other direction you can walk to Woody's for a burger. It was easy to catch a route taxi and everyone was very friendly.

We cannot wait to return to PA and Serach-Me-Heart!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Wonderful place to rest your head when visiting the likes of the Blue Lagoon, Frechmen's Cove, Boston Bay, San-San Beach, etc. The B&B sits slightly off the road within walking distance to many of the area attractions. The end of the alley provides an elevated view of the Atlantic and San-San Bay. The yard is surrounded by lovely tropical flowers and fruit. The occassionaly "clunk" you hear on the tin rough is none other than mangos falling from their own tree. The place is kept very clean and b'fast served early enough to help you get a jump on the day.
The only critique is the fact that many of the nearby locals hang out so we were told to be sure to lock our rental car doors and the B&B gates would be padlocked at night or when all would be out. A simply form of locking up, as many do back home, but at first it provided a security concern until we began to feel more comfotable as the week continued.

Room Tip: White room provides more airflow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
797 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polish Princess Guest House
Polish Princess Guest House
#4 of 29 in Port Antonio
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Germaican-Hostel
Germaican-Hostel
#2 of 28 in Port Antonio
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Search-Me-Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Search-Me-Heart

Address: Drapers | 10 minutes walk to Frenchman's Cove, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Port Antonio
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Search-Me-Heart is a great value accommodation located in Port Antonio, Jamaica,in an area of uncontaminated beauty. In April 2016 we have completed a total renovations of the building and everything is brand new. This charming guesthouse is surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden. It's situated within walking distance to beaches like Frenchman's Cove, San San and the Blue Lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Search-Me-Heart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Search-Me-Heart Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing