We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect place to stay around long Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

from where to start ? of course from Romain!! the son of the French family that is an incredible 25 years guy!!!! his advises and his availability will make your trip smth special. There is plenty of things to do and see around. If you have no car Romain will drive you . take your time to visit the region because its really the most beautiful and authentic part of Jamaica. Staying in this hotel is an excellent choice not only for the value but overall of the people running it and for the advices you will get. Excellent choice

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xhoela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jamaican Colors
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow, what a fantastic trip! Loved the Hotel Jamaican Colors with their excellent Staff, great location and really terrific service. Would recommend this place - and Jamaica overall - to anyone looking for a beautiful and relaxing (but still exciting) vacation! Hotel was a well-maintained and run family operation. The people were exceptionally kind and caring. The food was also outstanding. Everything was memorable and fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Hotel Jamaican Colors and had a wonderful time there. Romain was very helpful to us and was a pleasure to deal with, and we enjoyed our interactions with Martine who is in charge of the delicious meals. They were so accommodating to us with our food allergies and other dietary needs. The property is so beautiful and is immaculately cared for by the gardener on a daily basis. We really appreciated how our room was cleaned each day with obvious attention to detail. Having good WiFi was a treat compared with other places where we've stayed in Jamaica. We would recommend Hotel Jamaican Colors to those who don't mind being off the beaten path, who enjoy gourmet meals, and who want to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenAndEricVortriede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

There are no hotel proprietors quite like Romain, Bob, and Martine. They truly made us feel like we were at home.

The views are simply breathtaking. There is so much to do around the area-beaches, falls, river rafting, local parties, etc. One just has to realize that there are no taxi stands, schedules, etc and leave your watch at home-you will have no use for it here.

We also met some really fun travelers during our time here and it was so nice to have this bunch of different people from different backgrounds all come together and simply admire the sights, sounds, smells and personalities of Portland. Together we rafted the Rio Grande, walked around Port Antonio marina and attended a local Friday night party where we were they only foreigners.

Rooms are basic but more than enough. Food was incredible. But go because Romain is one of the best people you'll ever meet and he'll make sure your stay is amazing.

Room Tip: We loved "one love".
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sassibassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Long overdue review - Enjoyed our stay here in December, hosts friendly, nice chalet, lovely pool, as many have said, loads of mossies, but Romain did give us mosquito coils every day. Food and drink was fine, perhaps a little expensive, and we enjoyed the hair-raising experiences of the route taxis around the area. Only gripe was the hot water, that just wouldn't work, would have been nice when washing hair! However, expected more of the Port Antonio region- I think we all agreed we prefered the Treasure beach area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a weekend here. Nice setting, wooden buildings in a lovely garden - short drive to nice beaches. Decent restaurant & pleasant hosts. It's a bit ramshackle at times but for me that added to the charms. Plenty mozzies about so bring your DEET. The restaurant food's not bad at all.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Broadens_the_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel Jamaican Colors is a family owned properly in the Port Antonio region. It's situated on a bluff overlooking a rocky cove giving you a splendid vista of the sea. Bob and Romain are friendly and knowledgable hosts. The food and drink on offer are wonderful.

The hotel is located a few miles outside of Long Bay, so it's quiet and relaxing. There is a lot to see in the region around Jamaican Colors, if you get ambitious.

Hotel Jamaican Colors isn't for everyone. It's more for fans of Globe Trekker who want to get away from the main tourist routes. Staying at Hotel Jamaican Colors was a great getaway. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
10.3 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
9.1 mi away
Moon San Villa
Moon San Villa
#7 of 16 in Port Antonio
165 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tropical Lagoon Resort
Tropical Lagoon Resort
#8 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
Hotel Mocking Bird Hill
#4 of 16 in Port Antonio
399 reviews
10.8 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jamaican Colors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jamaican Colors

Address: Ross Craig | Long Bay, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: $83 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jamaican Colors 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamaican Colors is a small rustic hiding spot where a lot of travelers love to stop by. It is unique, romantic, has his own Colors style, luxurious & very peaceful garden, natural. Facing and overlooking at the Caribbean sea on the cliff (30m/100ft high) It is perfect for short or long relaxation stay... 6 bungalows are on the property, all have private bathroom, terrace, double(s) bed(s). No TV are in the rooms, but the hotel provide free WIFI even in the rooms. There is a swimming pool, a cocktail bar and also a restaurant with a large menu & tasty food cooked to order. Prices are very reasonable. Hammocks are of course around the pool, it would not be perfect holidays without them, beds and seating style for full relaxation time. A complimentary breakfast is offered with the room, in buffet style by the pool side. It is your home away from home in a paradise & tropical touch... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Jamaican Colors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jamaican Colors Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing