We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland's gem”
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Portland is my favorite place in Jamaica and everytime I go there I want to visit Gee Jam. I have had the best overall experience at a hotel in Jamaica here. Firstly the almost 360 degree view of the ocean is breathtaking and Gee Jams private beach is beautiful and serene..perhaps not the best for swimmming but snorkeling is a go and be prepared for a good climb up many steps back to the hotel or they will arrange a shuttle back. The amenities are first class and the service is excellent. I remember Jason taking food all the way from the bushbar to us on the beach and I appreciated it so much because the walk is long one down those steps. This property is nestled in the hills and have lots of steps leading to various points throughout the hotel. The food is excellent, rooms are lovely with an awesome shower, room service is prompt and the spa is a must! The cellphone provided with inhouse numbers programmed was a nice touch as well. I could go on and on about this place but I will say its a must see if and when you visit Jamaica!!! Big ups to Steve & the crew there...I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 505 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

We landed in Kingston, balmy air all around us and were whisked away to Port Antonio. Greeted with cold water, tired but happy to be in the warm air, 2 hours later we landed at the hotel and were shown a room "with a view" that has to be seen. We tumbled into a huge King bed, so comfy, and slept soundly. My first foto was of Ellis on the deck, over-looking the Caribbean Ocean.
Walking up to the BushBar, dumbed the "tree house," surrounded by jungle, my next foto was one of the French press full of Blue Mountain coffee. Smooth, hot and a fabulous wake up call.
Breakfast of the daily Jamaican special with ackee and and callaloo, a spinach-like veggie. Yum!
Daily rooster crowing made us even happier.

Ellis then excused himself for the day and promptly went to work at Geejam Studios. He says, "Geejam offers a paradise atmosphere with a vibe in the studio to match. Brother Dizzle at the helm running the mix board and equipment, makin' it all go as smooth as my strawberry-banana dacquiri. Look forward to going back as often as possible. Walkin' around LA wondering "How can we get back there? Gotta mix the recording...maybe..just maybe we'll be there again, soon."

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect, but Geejam more than delivered. Wonderfully rustic, without being at all twee. It's the best of Jamaica - relaxed and efficient without the cheesy deference offered by some of the bigger resorts. The Bushbar offers delicious Jamaican-influenced food and a warm welcome from barman Teddy. Highly recommended unless you have an aversion to rain forest or steps ( of which there are many!)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I visited Jamaica for a family Christmas at my sister's place Bromley above Ocho Rios, but chose to spend our first 4 nights at GeeJam to 'decompress' beforehand. Although we know Jamaica well and have stayed previously at Strawberry Hill and Jakes, this was our first visit to Port Antonio. It was a great decision! GeeJam nestles in the forest above its own secluded bay and I can think of few other places in the world where you can be better looked after and more relaxed. In complete contrast to the stereotypical enclosed Jamaican resort there's not a sign of a golf club (hooray!) and absolutely nothing is 'organised'. The whole focus is on discreet service and integration with the community, which gives you the opportunity to experience what's probably the closest you will get to 'real Jamaica'. We explored Port Antonio, rafted down the Rio Grande, walked (yes walked - please note!) to the idyllic Frenchman’s Cove and even went deep sea fishing in the rain. A highlight was catching a performance of the Jolly Boys in the BushBar. Nothing is too much trouble for the attentive and knowledgeable staff, all of whom are from the area. It's relaxed and informal, yet super-efficiently run. First names are the rule, the rum is fine, the food's outstanding and one's fellow guests (if you run into them at all) eclectic and interesting. The whole GeeJam operation is also expanding, with ambitious plans to regenerate what used to be Jamaica's premium holiday destination. Look out for the refurbished Trident and Castle, both stunning properties, and later the Blue Lagoon.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koukatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife, two year old son, and I just returned from an amazing week away in Port Antonio's Gee Jam hotel/resort. Having traveled to many other areas of Jamaica (and dare we say, the world) in years past, we were pleasantly surprised to find the Portland parish in Jamaica as lush, picturesque, and relatively untouristy as it is - even during the Christmas high season. With lots of great beaches to visit, as well as water falls, relaxing river tours on bamboo rafts, and the like, Portland may very well be the Caribbean's best kept secret.
As for Gee Jam itself, the vibe at Gee Jam is simply fantastic - the staff is professional, courteous, and highly attentive yet at the same time warm, unobtrusive, and unpretentious. The property is magical, with a beautiful, quiet beach and fully appointed, luxury-treehouse-like private bungalows nestled along a lush jungle cliff (ours was Mento, complete with its own private deck jacuzzi and steam shower).... with a first rate restaurant and bar with unparalleled views atop the mountain (Bushbar).... and with excellent entertainment as well.... we were treated to music from the Jolly Boys and the amazing Ellis Hall, who both gave us a hint as to why Snoop and Alicia Keys (among others) have spent some quality time recording and finding inspiration at Gee Jam studio....
While my wife and certainly enjoyed every aspect of our trip, perhaps the best part about our experience was seeing the joy it brought to our little boy. Leo is two and had the absolute time of his life. He loved the Gee Jam beach (with its soft sand and shallow, calm waters), he was thrilled by the music and food (jerk chicken every day!), and he was embraced by the warm and loving staff... from the new beach toys they presented to us on our arrival, to the endless hugs and smiles everyone showered upon him, we can safely say that Leo made lots of new friends at Gee Jam and that he (and we) will have very fond memories of our stay and all the friends we made there....
Overall, our time at Gee Jam was one of the best vacations our family could have ever wished for. Thank you Gee Jam!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The location of the property and rooms are incredible. Service is unobtrusive but attentive. The wonderful staff make this an experience you will always remember. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EaglesFanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you visit Jamaica only once you have to experience Geejam. Having recently returned from this lush boutique hotel it was the spectacular hideaway I had envisaged. Fabulous hillside views, an idyllic beach with the added bonus of a fabulous house reef to explore and various locations to chill out close to the sea. The cabin accommodation was minimalistic luxury with nothing left out. The food was fresh, locally sourced, prepared and served with original flare. All the perfect ingredients for a memorable stay.I would also highly recommend The Rio Grande River raft trip that was organised for us by Geejam

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
243 reviews
48 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
99.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range: $500 - $1,926 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing