We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lap of laid-back luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geejam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Geejam
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The lap of laid-back luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Having stayed at 2 other Island Outpost properties in Jamaica, my bar for Geejam was set very high -- and Geejam met it with flying colours. Relentlessly great food, service and accommodations plus truly splendid vista, all delivered with style and charm. Cool features: over-sized shower with windows onto the lush hillside vegetation; Bushbar playlists; outdoor pool table with panoramic view; free guest cellphones pre-programmed with key resort #'s for use during stay; beach-side oasis. Massive big up to owner SB & fantastic crew of staff for an outstanding experience !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Islandgirl1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    19
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
274
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

A jewel of a place !!!! We didn't know what to expect of the results of an online search; but when we actually arrived to Geejam hotel and met its amazing staff, owner and the magical setting we immediately fell in love! Every day it was a fantastic discovery; from the delicious home made food at Geejam's Bushbar, to the rafting experience down Rio Grande, the transparent blue water at Reich falls and just the different beautiful beaches where you can find both a relaxing and an adventurous time; Geejam is more than a breathtaking hotel, it is a place specialized in making everyone happy! We are forever grateful to all of those who showed us paradise, and those who made our stay at Geejam such a pleasure! We are definitely coming back, not only because of Geejam's beauty but also because we miss our new cool friends!
Respect. Irie Bless

Room Tip: Geejam has few rooms and we didn't see any other than ours, Ska is amazing ! Below our first sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcaridim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I spent a long overdue honeymoon here this past spring. (23 years overdue), and we were searching for somewhere very special to celebrate. After doing a ton of research, we finally decided on Geejam. We couldn't have a picked a more perfect place. We wanted somewhere where we could truly relax, and enjoy each other with no interruptions... we wanted to feel a bit spoiled... we wanted to be surrounded by nature... we wanted exactly what Geejam delivered. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, and offered up a lot more. A number of times, the staff suggested some wonderful adventures and outings, and honestly, we were just so happy where we were, we couldn't muster up the enthusiasm to venture away from the paradise that was Geejam itself. :-) We did venture out on one day with a wonderful and complimentary guide and driver to explore a bit of Port Antonio, and we had a lovely time, but were still quite happy to return to our little cottage and soak in our private jacuzzi with a rum punch, and listen to the sounds of the jungle surrounding us. I could go on and on explaining all of the amazing perks of Geejam and services, but I'm sure you can scroll down and check all that out in the other reviews. Just go.... don't think about it... just do it. You'll be so happy you did.
Oh! and a shout-out to Jason, our amazing bartender/program director, Adrene, the best waitress EVER, and to Chef Nigel, who made us close our eyes and moan over and over again. Thank You!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingBeadGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived at this place not knowing what to expect, we were visiting Frenchmans Cove and Geejam for the day from Discovery Bay. Geejam has the perfect setting: it's got breathtaking views, is classy and intimate and everyone is genuinely friendly. The food was yummy and the whole afternoon there was the highlight of our 2 week holiday. We met the owner, Steve, who is super cool and very interesting. He showed us round the hotel and even took us into the recording studio. We whiled away a few hours there and had unbelievable amounts of fun. Astonishing really to find a professional recording studio tucked away in the mountains of Jamaica like that. The whole place oozes class and style - certainly wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone. Well done Geejam!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda_Levine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Imagine a place tucked away in the treetops over the beautiful town and coast of Port Antonia, which is at once a boutique hotel and a recording studio - set around a stunningly located restaurant terrace and bar, overlooking forest canopy and sea. If you visit Geejam for a spectacular meal you will want to return for a stay, especially if you're lucky enough to get a tour of the property and studio. Original Banksy artworks decorate one villa, while a romantic cabin for two feels perfectly cut off from the world. A must if you visit Jamaica.

Room Tip: One villa could house a family group - decorated with Banksys - while a romantic couple would want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton,FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

There are only a few places in the world you can experience a 5 star experience both by location in nature, accomodations and staff , and Geejam is at the top of the list. We just got back from 9 days of bliss enjoying all that Geejam and Port Antonio have to offer. Don't hestitate, make a reservation now before there is no room left.

Thanks to Steve and the incredible staff, we are making plans to come back real soon. We cant forget to mention some exceptional hospitality by iola, jason, nick and all the great chef's that made our stay perfect!!!


Thank g-d Steve and John created Geejam and our growing their hospitality empire in Jamaica!!!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room...but we loved SKA!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This boutique resort built into a hillside 12 minutes by charter Beechcraft from Kingston is just the ticket for a carefree, low key vacation. Our party of 5 stayed in the Sanwood, a squeaky clean villa with a huge, modern open floor plan first floor adorned with Jamaican folk art and tasteful music posters. The Sanwood has three bedrooms each with a modern bathroom, its own pool and an amazing view of the ocean. The property has a fantastic private beach where we spent many of our days. Also, try Frenchman's Cove Beach. Jason, our frequent server in the Bush Bar, ensured that every meal expertly cooked by Nigel (we miss the breakfasts!) came with commentary and helpful advice. Everyone, from Nick the driver who shuttled us to rafting down the Rio Grande, to the Castle and to Woody's; to Keneisha and Iola in Guest Services; to Lincoln, our skipper for our afternoon at the Blue Lagoon; to Dizzle the music producer who spent time with our boys; to Bopaul who brought us Red Stripe at the beach: simply everyone was cheerful, helpful and accommodating. Steve, one of the co-owners, was at the resort the entire time we were there, and is a great source of information and fun to talk to. A lot more is in the works at Geejam; they are renovating the nearby Trident Hotel which will be opening up in December, 2012 and they are also fixing up the Castle, another local landmark, for eventual occupation. It will be nice to have a few other places in the area to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mOmwteens9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Antonio
128.0 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
47.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
128.1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
128.5 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geejam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geejam

Property: Geejam
Address: San San Po Box 7312 Drapers | West Indies, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Antonio
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Antonio
#2 Family Hotel in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Geejam 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Geejam, an insider escape, is located in San San, close to Port Antonio, in the parish of Portland, on the pristine shores of north-east Jamaica. Achieving a stylish equilibrium between ultra modern technology and the intrinsic grace of the natural island landscape makes this the Geejam signature trademark. The property features seven double rooms, a state of the art Recording Studio, Healing Spa, Swimming Pool (Sanwood only), Gym and the Bushbar, forming an exclusive universe within the natural beauty of the grounds, which stretch down to its own private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Geejam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geejam Port Antonio
Geejam Hotel Port Antonio
Geejam Jamaica/Port Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing