We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just thinking of this place makes me feel warm and fuzzy...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mikuzi Port Antonio
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just thinking of this place makes me feel warm and fuzzy...”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

MIkuzi is adorable. It is like staying in your own home, with a full kitchen, lovely decor and even a little library. But what made Mikuzi special was the keeper, Steve. He was so kind, honest and friendly...he walked us down to Winnifred when we first arrived, told us all the good spots to go for food and even drove with us to the Rio Grande river tour (and took our car to the termination point) for $6 which is probably half of what a route taxi would have cost. His aunt runs a little bar across the street and we really enjoyed her company, as well as talking to the other locals. My husband and I plan to send Steve a xmas card with a bit of money :)

There were some issues with the water pressure, but that didn't really matter. We had a lovely stay and I only rated sleep quality a "4" because you are in the rain forest and there are some heavy midnight downpours (though looking back, it was a bit romantic).

Very close to Port Antonio, The Blue Hole and Frenchman's Cove (though maybe not walking distance). As we ate jerk lobster at Little Davies on our last night, I told my husband that our first full day at Fairy Hill was the best day in our entire trip. There is a completely different pace here, and we encounter 10 times more hustling in downtown San Diego than we did in PA. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikakeaveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
9
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

just spent another 10 days with steve and his family at mikuzi guest house in fairy hill. was a great trip, as it always is. was great to see old friends, still there, doing there daily routine. this side of the island is great. i cant recomend it enough. as well as the accomadations at mikuzi. its very close to everything. 10 min walk to winnifred beach, 10 min ride to boston bay, 15 min ride to long bay. easy to get around on the route taxis. you can go most anywhere for around 200j's and that was for 3 of us. portland area is a very neat experience for young and old. one thing i did learn on this trip is, if your girlfriend is a diva... you might want to consider something more in the lines of a resort, or leave her at home.haha great trip, cant wait to get back as usuall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2009

my son and i try to go on a trip together every summer. this year we picked the portland area. we love jamaica, but probably wont visit any other place on the island again. portland is the place to go if your looking to really get away. if your into the luxury tourist trap hotel, this might not be for you. we stayed our first night at mikuzi in kingston, then travelled on to portland the next morning. the accommadations were here as well. the portland mikuzi property is the closest place to winnefred beach. a ten minute walk along a lazy little road, with a few rum bars along the way. when you get to the beach there are many different food vendors. the nicest one, that has seating and cover is called barbaras. in my opinion this is the place to eat lunch. there is also a woman on the beach that has a pot of soup and corn everyday, and it is great after a cool dip in the mornings to warm you up. we dined at many other places, but night time dining for us was a small place just up the road from mikuzi called rockies. excellant food. alot og locals hang out here at night drinking and playing dominoes, where you sure to get in a game if you wish. we did also enjoy a woodys burger while we were there. we also drove to boston bay "jerk cenrtal" , picked up some jerk and took it home.
the mikuzi property has many different styles of rooms. some are just that a a room with a bed. there are outdoor showers, sinks, toilets etc. we stayed in the main house. it has a full kitchen, and bath. the shower wasnt working that great so we used the outdoor shower, i liked it better anyway. there is an outdoor kitchen also, and a handmade stone grill, where we "jerked a few chickens ourselves. the caretaker of the property's name is steve. he and his mother ivey, and girfriend carla, were all great. they treated us as if we were family, we really enjoyed there company. steve is also the best host on the island. this man will do whatever it takes to make you happy. if you need anything ask him and it is done. mikuzi is in fairy hill. it is 15 min. from portland or boston bay, so the location is great. a route taxi is easy to catch, and cheap too. there arent any harley dealerships, or hard rock cafe like there are in ochie. if you dont like the tourist game stay out of ochie. also there arent as many people trying to hustle you or sell you drugs like in ochie. there is surfing at boston bay. my son really loved this, having never surfed before. a guy there had him surfing in no time. in this area it seams almost everyone that lives on a road has a small rum bar. these are great. here you may purchase anything you want, play a game of dominoes with the locals, have some rum and red stripe, buy snacks etc. if you get the chance, trust me, this is the spot. happy travels

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goosecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britaliamaica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I hadnt read any review before staying @ Mikuzi & would agree with everything said here good & bad.
However,i must say that Steve the manager is a very warm welcoming motivated character willing to help & advise at all times & his freindliness to hes guests out weighed the faults found within the cottage.Yes the kitchen was filthy, yes the bathroom was smelly& the water pressure so low that it was not used during the 3 nights stay. The outside shared kitchen shower & toilets were more appealling.
Without asking, a discounted price was offered & this became the main factor in our decision to stay over. As we arrived here after cancelling our resevation at Great huts.

The decor & interior of the room was cosy & it felt as if we were staying in a friends holiday home,Nick nacks & ornaments,however i know if i told my partner about the droppings i saw in the utensil draw he wouldve have checked out as he hates rodents!! there was no need to cook so thankfully the kitchen went unused, again prefering to access the electric kettle in the yard facilitiy.

Steve & his mum Ivy told us about the local cookshops & mama B is just a short walk down the main for home cooked breakfasts & Lunch...Full Jamaican costing Just $200JA & filled you up the day thru .Rocky up the road cooked dinner.
& Boston Bay is a short ride away for chickenFish Lobster & pork.

I fail to understand how a previous reviewer complained about the music...Its not Steves or the polices fault if the local bar wants to crank up the volume on the sabbath! This is jamaica man, we couldnt wait for Friday!!! & as soon as the neighbourhood started vibrating to the Bass we went out to investigate, just 5 minutes walk up the road we found the Guinness ,Dominoes ,Steamed fish & okra bouncing to the sounds of Gregory Isaacs pumping from the giant speakers (on top of a car) & it took no time for the local grannies to invite us & teach us to wine!!!!
The previous evening,The Evangelist Healing crusade had made much more noise as it held worship in the local tented church.

This added to the appeal & sense of culture & spirit in this maroon community & in fact I would rate Fairy hill & Winnefred the most atmospheric friendly place to enjoy upon the Island.3 nights were not enough & a return trip is destined. if only to watch the hummingbirds feeding on the ackee tree every morning. Steves pride shines thru the garden which is a delight, hammocks & mozzie nets are available if requested.

If luxury,comfort & service are required Do Not stay here.
If Cabins, Camping, Caravans & backpacking are your ting then you we be cosy at Mikuzi,
just eat out till they sort out the Hygiene issue in the 2 bedroom cottage!.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sevenstarsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Four of us stayed here in December 2008. We booked a 2 bed cottage expecting 2 bedrooms, a lounge, a kitchen & at least 1 bathroom. We booked for 4 nights & paid a deposit. On arrival, we paid the balance in full in cash & we were shown into a tiny cottage, prettily decorated, but not very clean (see photos). Bathroom dirty, kitchen extremely dirty & had not been cleaned for weeks. It was a 2 bed cottage, but the second bedroom was let to another couple! Instead a bed had been put in the lounge & we had to share the tiny patio with this couple. The website had described it as a 2 bed cottage, not as a 2 bed cottage with the rooms let separately. The cottage itself is TINY, so loss of this space was especially bad, and noone wants to share with strangers!

The website did not mention that the houses are right next to the main road either. Nor did it mention the loud, loud music! Across the road & down a bit were huge speakers which blared out music from about 9pm until 3am on Friday night. The manager said it would stop at midnight but it did not. He called the police to stop the music. They did not come. When, at just after midnight, I could not get the manager, I decided to call the lady owner who lives in Kingston. I complained about the lack of 2 bedrooms, the dirty state & the loud music, only to be told that I was "a pain in the butt" and her husband told me to get off the phone. She said that the music was a rare occurrence, but when I subsequently called the police myself , they said it happened most Fridays & normally stopped by 2am.

We finally agreed that we would leave the next day & that she would refund 3 nights. I was refunded for the 3 nights, but I think all the funds should have been refunded.

This is simply poor management. The concept is a good one. More honesty on the website would go a long way to sort this out. Checking the cleaning every day would also be a good idea. For US$105 for this tiny place, you expect much, much more.

  • Liked — decor
  • Disliked — Not clean; very noisy; other guests cook right outside your window, so smells come in
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I am a 20 year old female who vacationed with my 55 year old mother, we stayed at Mikuzi for 11 days and the whole experience was amazing. The weather was perfect, the beach relaxing and breathtaking, the people extremely friendly and trusting. The beach was a short 10 or 20 minute walk to the beach, whether you took the "short road" or the "long road". We ate every day at Cynthia's Restaurant where the cook Painter, and the owner Cynthia were very friendly. Steve the manager was very helpful and efficient. He took us into town in his car, and made sure when we wanted to do some site seeing that we were being offered a respectable price. The room we stayed in was a little small, but we were only in our rooms at night. The kitchenette was outside along with our bathrooms and shower, there are rooms however with those amenities indoors. The patio out back was a nice area to sit at night and mingle with other guests and have a couple Red Stripes before we went to bed. Port Antonio is about a 30 minute drive to pick up some fruit or souveniers at the market, or to get to an international bank. There are many shops close by however to get just about anything you need without traveling into town. On the beach there are several locals who will sell you hand made souveniers, also some stands to buy food and drinks. Overall i would give Mikuzi the highest rating if you are not concerned with room service, and you just want to be left alone to relax. The gardens are kept up very nicely, the rooms very clean along with all kitchen and bathroom facilities.

  • Liked — Outdoor shower
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We (myself, my partner and 14 month baby) stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed ourselves.

The cottages are very pretty, if a little basic, and a ten minute ramble to the beautiful WInnifred beach. (Nice mix of tourists and locals plus fantastic restaurant where we ate yummy lobster.)

Steve, the manager, was very helpful and kept the place in beautiful condition.

There's an outdoor communal kitchen with seating area and a little garden as well. It was fun in the evening when we were able to hang out with the other guests but stay close to baby who was sleeping in our hut.

  • Liked — It was very pretty
  • Disliked — A bit near the main road
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veniceallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 27 in Port Antonio
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikuzi Port Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikuzi Port Antonio

Property: Mikuzi Port Antonio
Address: Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Port Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location close to the beach and the fantastic exploring and touring areas nearby. Comfortable and peaceful accommodation set in tropical gardens. Very friendly staff always willing to help. Local tours and guide arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mikuzi Port Antonio Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing