We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place but dirty & very noisy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mikuzi Port Antonio
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Four of us stayed here in December 2008. We booked a 2 bed cottage expecting 2 bedrooms, a lounge, a kitchen & at least 1 bathroom. We booked for 4 nights & paid a deposit. On arrival, we paid the balance in full in cash & we were shown into a tiny cottage, prettily decorated, but not very clean (see photos). Bathroom dirty, kitchen extremely dirty & had not been cleaned for weeks. It was a 2 bed cottage, but the second bedroom was let to another couple! Instead a bed had been put in the lounge & we had to share the tiny patio with this couple. The website had described it as a 2 bed cottage, not as a 2 bed cottage with the rooms let separately. The cottage itself is TINY, so loss of this space was especially bad, and noone wants to share with strangers!

The website did not mention that the houses are right next to the main road either. Nor did it mention the loud, loud music! Across the road & down a bit were huge speakers which blared out music from about 9pm until 3am on Friday night. The manager said it would stop at midnight but it did not. He called the police to stop the music. They did not come. When, at just after midnight, I could not get the manager, I decided to call the lady owner who lives in Kingston. I complained about the lack of 2 bedrooms, the dirty state & the loud music, only to be told that I was "a pain in the butt" and her husband told me to get off the phone. She said that the music was a rare occurrence, but when I subsequently called the police myself , they said it happened most Fridays & normally stopped by 2am.

We finally agreed that we would leave the next day & that she would refund 3 nights. I was refunded for the 3 nights, but I think all the funds should have been refunded.

This is simply poor management. The concept is a good one. More honesty on the website would go a long way to sort this out. Checking the cleaning every day would also be a good idea. For US$105 for this tiny place, you expect much, much more.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank footloose111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Mikuzi Port Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2008

I am a 20 year old female who vacationed with my 55 year old mother, we stayed at Mikuzi for 11 days and the whole experience was amazing. The weather was perfect, the beach relaxing and breathtaking, the people extremely friendly and trusting. The beach was a short 10 or 20 minute walk to the beach, whether you took the "short road" or the "long road". We ate every day at Cynthia's Restaurant where the cook Painter, and the owner Cynthia were very friendly. Steve the manager was very helpful and efficient. He took us into town in his car, and made sure when we wanted to do some site seeing that we were being offered a respectable price. The room we stayed in was a little small, but we were only in our rooms at night. The kitchenette was outside along with our bathrooms and shower, there are rooms however with those amenities indoors. The patio out back was a nice area to sit at night and mingle with other guests and have a couple Red Stripes before we went to bed. Port Antonio is about a 30 minute drive to pick up some fruit or souveniers at the market, or to get to an international bank. There are many shops close by however to get just about anything you need without traveling into town. On the beach there are several locals who will sell you hand made souveniers, also some stands to buy food and drinks. Overall i would give Mikuzi the highest rating if you are not concerned with room service, and you just want to be left alone to relax. The gardens are kept up very nicely, the rooms very clean along with all kitchen and bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We (myself, my partner and 14 month baby) stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed ourselves.

The cottages are very pretty, if a little basic, and a ten minute ramble to the beautiful WInnifred beach. (Nice mix of tourists and locals plus fantastic restaurant where we ate yummy lobster.)

Steve, the manager, was very helpful and kept the place in beautiful condition.

There's an outdoor communal kitchen with seating area and a little garden as well. It was fun in the evening when we were able to hang out with the other guests but stay close to baby who was sleeping in our hut.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veniceallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weltenbummler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Antonio hotels
0.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 29 in Port Antonio
795 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamaica Palace Hotel
Jamaica Palace Hotel
#10 of 16 in Port Antonio
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Trident Hotel
The Trident Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Antonio
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jamaican Colors
Hotel Jamaican Colors
#6 of 16 in Port Antonio
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#22 of 29 in Port Antonio
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikuzi Port Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikuzi Port Antonio

Address: Fairy Hill, Port Antonio, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Portland Parish > Port Antonio
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Port Antonio
Price Range: $33 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful location close to the beach and the fantastic exploring and touring areas nearby. Comfortable and peaceful accommodation set in tropical gardens. Very friendly staff always willing to help. Local tours and guide arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mikuzi Port Antonio Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing