We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shields Negril Villas
Ranked #26 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Negril
london lass
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Memorable”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Arrived at Shields in the early evening. Room very spacious, lovely sea view. Breakfast was good. Fab location, would stay again. Thank you Front of House staff very friendly, also to hardworking housekeepers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sexymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
20
43
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Lookout, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean, A/C was good, food is excellent and service was perfect!! We were there during off season and basically had the pool to ourselves, swim up bar servers were always happy!! Place is not a 5 star but is very comfortable and affordable...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thanks to the front desk staff for getting the juta bus to take me to the airport, although I have to ask about it more than once. A big thanks to the morning cook, the bartender and Donald. If you are looking for something fancy or if it`s your first time in Jamaica this is not the place for you. it is very noisy too. If you want a room with no frills and you are not too picky then this place could work for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harris mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you like to be kept awake all night long by a pack of roving dogs that lives at the hotel, then this is the place for you, also the security doesn't really keep the hustlers (or the dogs ) away, not sure what their purpose is. The air conditioners have no controls, so you get to choose between roasting and freezing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Negril hotels

Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

So I am unfortunate reviewer that got to deal with all the room unavailable drama at "Sunset on the beach". To accommodate us that hotel had booked us a room in Sheilds and that is how I got to stay here.

I think we got one of those rooms that don't get "sold"!?!?! but the room had three beds (no idea why) two double beds and one queen cramped in a corner.

Now to the good things: The bathroom was nice and spacious. Also the entire hotel room was well lit, nice and bright.

Short walk to the beach and we spend most of our time at Sunset on the beach so can't comment on the bar or the restaurant.

On the 7 mile beach itself so you can't go wrong there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It was a nice staying in Negril. After one week of travelling around the whole island of Jamaica it was time to relax and hang out a little.The bar/restaurant is very close to the beach and you got a wonderful view to the ocean whenever you eat or drink something.
The staff is also friendly and you can have a nice talk with them all the time. The Shields employes Security Guys - so you can feel safe.
There are lots of activities you can choose directly at the beach, e.g. JetSki, snorkeling, parasailing or a bananaboat drive.
We decided to marry on the beautiful beach of this hotel and the manager Shaunna did everything to make our dream come true. Thanks a lot!
It was a wonderful week and we hope to visit Jamaika again.

Room Tip: Our Room was on the south side - so every night we herad partysounds from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

As a native of Jamaica, I was worried that this wouldn't feel like much of a vacation, but boy was I wrong! I visited Negril in March 2011 with my boyfriend. It was my first time staying in a hotel in Jamaica and my first time visiting Negril. First, let me start with the slim lady at the front desk who had an attitude every time we asked her for anything. From the moment we checked in, she seemed like she didn't want us there. She was just miserable, but we only had to deal with her for about three days before a much nicer lady took her place as the receptionist. After that everything ran smoothly. The service at Shields is very personal and they make sure you feel right at home. Nakeisha the bartender was just the sweetest thing. She was so pleasant and looked forward to seeing us everyday for the drink specials. Now for the drink specials- THEY ARE GREAT (great taste & price- 2 for the price of 1 during happy hour). The swim up bar was a nice touch too, but we found the pool to be a little unnecessary given that the hotel is a beachfront property. The beach was wonderful- warm, calm, blue waters & white sand. What more could you ask for? We went on several additional activities which we arranged with 'Dino' a friend we met on the beach. Look for him, he's dark skinned with short dreads; he'll give you a nice discount on everything. The food at Shields was sub par. We ate at Kuyaba and Legends (further up on the beach) for the most part. The food there was amazing. We ate traditional breakfast of ackee and saltfish, fried dumpling and breadfruit at Kuyaba every morning and had dinner at Legends. Before we even left Negril, we decided we would be going back next year. i can never get enough of Jamaica! We will be going back again in about three months and we cannot wait! this time we're staying at an all inclusive hotel further up the road, but we are definitely going to visit all our friends at Shields.

Room Tip: Request the first room from the lobby to get free internet. Look for 'Dino' on the beach t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Club
Sunrise Club
#33 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Negril Yoga Centre
Negril Yoga Centre
#50 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar-B-Barn
Bar-B-Barn
#55 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Seas Garden
Coral Seas Garden
#53 of 85 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mariposa Hideaway
Mariposa Hideaway
#72 of 85 in Negril
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach House Condos
Beach House Condos
#2 of 49 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shields Negril Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shields Negril Villas

Property: Shields Negril Villas
Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Westmoreland, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shields Negril Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shields Negril is a unique 36 bedrooms beachfront resort, located on the world famous seven miles beach in Negril. The intimacy of our facility provides a cozy, family feeling which is equally welcoming to singles, couples, and families. Our highly competitive rates make Shields Negril Villas a most ideal vacation destination for making dreams come true. Our room types include modern rooms, beachview deluxe rooms, one and two-bedrooms studios. We provide meals from our most tasty and affordable restaurant, through direct purchases or our meal plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shields Negril Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shields Negril Villas Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing