We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
32
38
16
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
38
16
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshang your clothescable channelscoffee makerwould highly recommend this hotelsecurity guardpeasjerk chickenlobsterkitchenettebedroomdressertoasterjamaicabeachsinkmaids
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 104 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thanks to the front desk staff for getting the juta bus to take me to the airport, although I have to ask about it more than once. A big thanks to the morning cook, the bartender and Donald. If you are looking for something fancy or if it`s your first time in Jamaica this is not the place for you. it is very noisy too. If you want a room with no frills and you are not too picky then this place could work for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you like to be kept awake all night long by a pack of roving dogs that lives at the hotel, then this is the place for you, also the security doesn't really keep the hustlers (or the dogs ) away, not sure what their purpose is. The air conditioners have no controls, so you get to choose between roasting and freezing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

So I am unfortunate reviewer that got to deal with all the room unavailable drama at "Sunset on the beach". To accommodate us that hotel had booked us a room in Sheilds and that is how I got to stay here.

I think we got one of those rooms that don't get "sold"!?!?! but the room had three beds (no idea why) two double beds and one queen cramped in a corner.

Now to the good things: The bathroom was nice and spacious. Also the entire hotel room was well lit, nice and bright.

Short walk to the beach and we spend most of our time at Sunset on the beach so can't comment on the bar or the restaurant.

On the 7 mile beach itself so you can't go wrong there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It was a nice staying in Negril. After one week of travelling around the whole island of Jamaica it was time to relax and hang out a little.The bar/restaurant is very close to the beach and you got a wonderful view to the ocean whenever you eat or drink something.
The staff is also friendly and you can have a nice talk with them all the time. The Shields employes Security Guys - so you can feel safe.
There are lots of activities you can choose directly at the beach, e.g. JetSki, snorkeling, parasailing or a bananaboat drive.
We decided to marry on the beautiful beach of this hotel and the manager Shaunna did everything to make our dream come true. Thanks a lot!
It was a wonderful week and we hope to visit Jamaika again.

Room Tip: Our Room was on the south side - so every night we herad partysounds from the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

As a native of Jamaica, I was worried that this wouldn't feel like much of a vacation, but boy was I wrong! I visited Negril in March 2011 with my boyfriend. It was my first time staying in a hotel in Jamaica and my first time visiting Negril. First, let me start with the slim lady at the front desk who had an attitude every time we asked her for anything. From the moment we checked in, she seemed like she didn't want us there. She was just miserable, but we only had to deal with her for about three days before a much nicer lady took her place as the receptionist. After that everything ran smoothly. The service at Shields is very personal and they make sure you feel right at home. Nakeisha the bartender was just the sweetest thing. She was so pleasant and looked forward to seeing us everyday for the drink specials. Now for the drink specials- THEY ARE GREAT (great taste & price- 2 for the price of 1 during happy hour). The swim up bar was a nice touch too, but we found the pool to be a little unnecessary given that the hotel is a beachfront property. The beach was wonderful- warm, calm, blue waters & white sand. What more could you ask for? We went on several additional activities which we arranged with 'Dino' a friend we met on the beach. Look for him, he's dark skinned with short dreads; he'll give you a nice discount on everything. The food at Shields was sub par. We ate at Kuyaba and Legends (further up on the beach) for the most part. The food there was amazing. We ate traditional breakfast of ackee and saltfish, fried dumpling and breadfruit at Kuyaba every morning and had dinner at Legends. Before we even left Negril, we decided we would be going back next year. i can never get enough of Jamaica! We will be going back again in about three months and we cannot wait! this time we're staying at an all inclusive hotel further up the road, but we are definitely going to visit all our friends at Shields.

Room Tip: Request the first room from the lobby to get free internet. Look for 'Dino' on the beach to get discounts on jet skiing, sunset cruise and fishing trips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews