We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quintessential Caribbean experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockhouse Restaurant

Rockhouse Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rockhouse Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 195 Restaurants in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The quintessential Caribbean experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great choices here. The main restaurant is classy, the Pushcart is funky. Food is just awesomely delicious at both. The views are stunning. Service is friendly and gracious (which you can almost always count on at most places in Jamaica that aren't too big) And the prices are quite reasonable. The Pushcart overlooks where catamarans pull in regularly--lots of entertainment to be had watching the splashers and sliders from the tour boats, and local boys working on their cliff-diving skills.
Steamed fish and bbq shrimp are highly recommended!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mespellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    219
    77
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent food...good band!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The meals have declined in quality over the years...they need to pay more attention and not slack off.

A Good Jamaican folk band performing saved the evening for us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaGeorgeNegril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“O. M. G!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were in Negril for our honeymoon and I decided to find a romantic restaurant to take my new wife that was off of the resort we stayed at. I couldn't be more happy with the staff, service, food and ambiance of the Rockhouse Restaurant. It's set on a cliff overlooking the most beautiful sunset you'll ever see. Fresh lobster, great food and the staff was amazing. This place is a must visit if you're in Negril (Hell - I'd go back to Negril just to eat here again!!!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kieranfromwhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view & atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We went to the Rockhouse with a group of 10. I loved the outdoor seating area. The service was better than average and everyone enjoyed their food and drinks. It was my first more "upscale" dinner in Negril.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,632 reviews
859 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We are staying at the hotel here and have eaten breakfast and dinner here a few times. The food is good, with a good mix of local flare and some more mainland dishes. The view is excellent, the setting wonderful, and the staff friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Rockhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing