We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Serene”
Review of Citronella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Citronella
Ranked #50 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed at the cave house for 5 nights. It was absolutely the most amazing little property. The owners and staff were friendly and even the other vacationers were nice and inviting. We met people who had been going there for years. We could watch the sunset from our porch and had our own little area down to the water and a giant cave to explore right under the house. The snorkeling was pretty good right there when the water was calm. Our only complaint, that could not be controlled, was that it was too wavy to get in the water for the first 3 days we were there. We hadn't even considered this possibility since the last time we were in Jamaica the water was perfectly calm the whole time. There is a bridge that is perfect for jumping at the cave house. The water is plenty deep there and it was enough of a jump to get the heart pounding. The owner, Kathy, was also able to arrange a massage therapist, Oya, to come to our house and give us massages right on our porch which was more than lovely. Also they can help arrange other trips too like fishing or snorkelling. We loved that the house was far enough away from the other houses on the property that we had all the privacy we needed. Highly recommended little gem of a place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Citronella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2010

- Fronting an exquisite view of the Caribean, along tranquil coves, the cliffs of Citronella are the setting for a peacefull, private, calming, one of a kind and relaxing stay in one of their private cottages.
- Relax on a spectacular seven-mile, white sand beach, only minutes away.
- Citronella is where you want to come to calm your soul with the sea breezes off the Caribean, the crystal clear blue-green water, the calming sound of the waves against the cliffs, the warm sunlight, breathtaking sunsets and cool nights with infinate stars shining brightly.
-Citronella is a hideaway like no other, a rejuvenating place of peace.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broccoletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My wife and I needed to get away. We love the islands. Some of 'em a bit pricey. We also love unique small non-chain places which are quaint and have personality. We nailed it by going to Citronella. Location for a view, a dive, a warm wind...the best! We stayed in the A Frame and loved it. The out door shower was so perfect. We didn't cook really, but the fridge was nice for keeping the adult bev's and leftovers cool. We rented a car....that was a mistake. Would never do that again.....pricey, crappy car, flat tire which I had to pay for, and forced to pay for insurance in Jamaica. [p.s. Citronella told me not to rent one, I should have listened!] The place was so quiet, except for the mesmorizing waves crashing on the cliffs. Some local music at night, but fine for us. Staff was kind, helpful, prompt in cleaning....We are hoping to bring our whole family there for Christmas in 2011. Had fun dancing locally, small places to eat locally. Some of the people we met at Citronella had been coming for many years and loved it too. Cliff diving was a daily blast!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

If you want to stay somewhere that is laid back and is not the hustle bustle of a hotel, then this is the place for you. Each house has it's own unique look and feel. The privateness is so peaceful. Accommondations are comfortable, and just perfect for a quiet stay. The housekeepers come in daily and are so wonderful.Beautiful sunsets are right outside your porch. Snorkerling right off your own private entryway is a plus. The owners, Cathy & John are wonderful !

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clubweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

The cliffs are amazing and Citronella is no exception. The cost compared to other cliffside accomodations is so much less. My husband and I stayed in the Cove house with 2 other couples. We really enjoyed our time in Negril, but were disappointed in the lack of food options at Citronella. The included "breakfast" was only fruit and a tiny piece of cake and there is no restaurant or shop onsite to buy food or beverages of any kind. The property could use some TLC as far as landscaping, weeding, etc as well (and the addition of a pool would be really nice!). But all-in-all for that price range it is well worth it. We did really appreciate the free wi-fi access in the Great House.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whr975s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

My husband and myself along with our daughter and son-in-law stayed at Citronella January 12th -19th in Cove House. What a truly magical property Citronella is, especially Cove House. Wow!!!!! The views were breathtaking. The house was stunning and very roomy for the 4 of us.

My husband and I have traveled to Jamaica in June with our 18-year old daughter and stayed at Xtabi in a seaside cottage and thought that was heaven on earth. So much so we went back 3 months later in September with a friend.

Our oldest daughter and son-in-law were recently married in July and were not able to take a honeymoon. Since we wished to go back to Negril in June 2010, we invited them along as a gift. Then we got the exciting news that they were expecting their first baby in June. Change in plans. June is out, January is in. The rates to pay for 2 Xtabi cottages during Jan. (high season) was out of our price range and so I checked out Citronella. I am truly a believer in everything happens for a reason because we truly found heaven on earth.

My husband and I renewed our vows at sunset right there on the deck of Cove House. So cool. I got to marry the most gorgeous, wonderful husband on earth once again in our favorite place on earth. What more could you ask for? Truly a magical evening. Afterwards, went directly to Rock House where Dwight the restaurant manager gave us his best table. Thank you so much Dwight. Thank you Kingsley for everything that you do for us and always being there. If anyone needs a driver Kingsley is just the best in the world and it wouldn't be going to Jamaica if we didn't see his smiling face at the airport. I will be more than happy to give you his number and/or email address. Cannot recommend Kingsley enough.

Our hosts at Citronella, John and Cathy, could not be nicer and/or more accommodating. They welcomed you into their home. The property is stunning and there is lots of privacy and just beautiful foliage. We felt so at home that we rarely left Cove House. Love the shower at the water access as the water there is stunningly blue, but also very salty. While snorkeling my husband and I saw a school of squid in front of Ricks...so cool. My son-in-law saw about 100 starfish in front of Cove House. We found a couple conch. The snorkeling at Xtabi I thought had a little more to offer, however, the water color at Citronella is far more stunning.

All day and night all we could hear was the sound of the waves crashing against the coral cliffs below. Waking up to the waves and the sound of our daughter's baby heartbeat monitor each morning was fabulous.

At night we lit every candle they supplied and that we brought. Our deck was just gorgeous with the candlelight and we would play games (provided by Citronella) all night. Great memories were made there.

You will feel truly IRIE if you stay at Citronella.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Audthang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

What a great place to come and relax. The owners could not be any nicer! The warm breezes, beautiful sunsets, cozy houses, and just an overall great vacation was our experience. Highly recommend !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylVaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.8 mi away
Coral Seas Cliff
Coral Seas Cliff
#59 of 80 in Negril
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
0.3 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Banana Shout Resort
Banana Shout Resort
#5 of 44 in Negril
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villas Sur Mer
Villas Sur Mer
#4 of 51 in Negril
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
T-bird on the Cliffs
T-bird on the Cliffs
#10 of 44 in Negril
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citronella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citronella

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $85 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very private and secluded cottages provide a unique experience for Jamaica travelers who need a lot of space and privacy. Located in Negril and beautifully carved into volcanic cliffs that sit 50ft above the Caribbean Sea, this very secluded resort offers three acres of lush tropical landscape with sea breezes, quite caves, secluded coves, grottoes, and most of all privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Citronella Hotel Negril
Citronella Resort Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing