We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Moon Beach

Half Moon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Rhodes Hall Horseback-Riding Tour with Snorkeling
Ranked #10 of 58 things to do in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Beautiful beach, BBQ lobster, a friendly dog which followed me around, a good bar and a stop on the way to snorkel at an excellent reef.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    62
    21
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Beach to Enjoy, along With Their Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is our spot to go for snorkeling without the crowds or hagglers you find at 7 mile. It's a more natural setting and the word is getting out about this hideaway. We spent 1/2 a day here chatting with folks who came in on a boat, and others who rode their mopeds (which we are renting next year). There are nice trails to walk hand in hand and enjoy the company with you.

We ate here again this year. He had grilled lobster which we saw them make on their large barrel grill, and I had the coconut chicken in half a pineapple shell. The food here is worth the trip too and you get plenty of it. There is also a large drink that comes in a coconut shell. Only one is needed and its enough to share. Will return again next year.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Athena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great little spot away from 7 mile beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

This place is north of 7 mile beach by a few miles. It's nice. The beach is small, and the bay is about 100 yards wide. The restaurant was a bit slow.

The snorkeling was OK, but not spectacular. There's some brain and fan coral near the island. My family was perfectly happy here, and we stayed most of the day. I'd definitely go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank samoamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Disappointing-no amenities”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

no drinks, very little food, skinny stray dogs, broken down machines, dirty bathrooms, few chairs, beach filled with crabs, husband stung by jelly fish

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I visited and had an amazing time. They do not allow solicitation which made it the highlight of our trip in Jamaica. You will get solicited everywhere in Jamaica except here. It was a $5 charge to get in but so worth it. The beach was beautiful. There was only one other couple there so it was like we had the beach to ourselves. The water was calm and clear. It didn't have good snorkeling but good snorkeling in Jamaica is almost a thing of the past. They have a few dogs running around which I didn't mind at all. They were friendly and would lay by our chairs or follow us out in to the water. It was so funny to watch them chase little fish in the water or the little crabs in the sand. They have a little restaurant as well. The prices weren't too bad. I had the chicken kabob and the husband had the curry chicken. Both were amazing. The drinks are made with fresh fruit, the papaya daiquiri was delicious. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Jamaica. It's a nice piece of heaven away from the hustle.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Beach also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Half Moon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing