We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private and quite”
Review of Half Moon Beach

Half Moon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.00*
and up
Half Moon Private Beach and Calico Jack's Private Island Excursion
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Rhodes Hall Horseback-Riding Tour with Snorkeling
Ranked #9 of 58 things to do in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Private and quite”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Small - three residents dogs are beautiful and swim with you. Had stuffed snapper at the restaurant that was out of this world!! It was a slow day so they would not even take the entrance fee from us - nice people that have staked out a little piece of paradise!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    64
    22
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We reached this secluded beach by scooter. It's a small paradise with clear waters and a not usual quiet for Jamaica and Negril.
sunbeds and facilietis free if you drink or eat in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariannasv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Great hideaway spot for snorkeling, swimming & sunning”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Half Moon Beach is a real gem. It's calm, quiet (no blaring music!) and undeveloped. It's a 15 minute $10 taxi ride from Negril and perfect for a relaxing day trip. The beach is only about the length of a football field so when a boat full of people come to visit it got a little crowded but nothing like nearby 7 mile beach. It's a great spot for snorkeling as well as swimming so bring a snorkeling set! You don't have to swim out far at all to see some great stuff.
The only thing keeping me from giving HMB 5 stars is that the restaurant is absurdly overpriced. They charged us $8 USD for a sliver of rock hard frozen store bought key lime cheese cake. The most obnoxious part was that the dessert wasn't listed or priced on the prominently displayed menu so imagine our shock when our bill was almost double what we were expecting (we also ordered a very good $10 curry dish) That and the owners (admittedly adorable) dogs ate our frisbee.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKBURN ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good but not that good”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The trip from our hotel in Negril to Half Moon Bay on the catamaran was a little choppy. Our trip included snorkelling, but being a non swimmer I just stayed ashore, as did most of our party as the diving instructor said visibility would be bad due to recent rough seas. The fine sanded beach was full of broken up corals and we found some interesting pieces. The trip included a meal and return to Bloody Bay. To be honest, the place wasnt much, just a beach restaurant, toiet block and a little gift shop and we spent about 3 hours there. At least it got us somewhere different.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great spot tucked back in the trees. Peaceful beach, friendly people and yummy drinks!! It's a must go back to place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Akdmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Moon Beach also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Half Moon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing