We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
157
24
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
157
24
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the cliff pool and hot tub area ricks cafe snorkel equipment us feel at home no hot water romantic getaway tree house red stripe cave bedroom housekeeper wedding security bartender jamaica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 189 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

It could be a common saying that travel broadens the mind and impacts the soul...this is an understatement to the beauty of the the cliffs in Negril and Villas Sur Mer!!!

I believe wherever your destination may be, it is important to embrace the culture with an open mind and heart...to surround yourself with adventure and experiences; becoming a storyteller of a life you will remember!!

I have spent my past two visits to Negril at Villas Sur Mer and cannot express the joy, love, and respect that was shown to my friends and I. Cass—you are an incredible leader, and now friend, I’m lucky to say that. In addition, Marlon and Andre...you made us feel safe in a world of uncertainty, you always had our backs and we’re so thankful for you both! To all the staff that goes above and beyond, you will never know how much your country and love has made me believe in the humanistic connection I can only hope others can receive!

Not only is Villas Sur Mer a destination...it’s home, utter perfection! Lush, clean, and a true gem!! We will be back! To all of you...I send my deepest gratitude and love!!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank freyja7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Hi Freyja777,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your review was read to the staff and I was asked "when are they coming back?"
We love having you here every time and it is nice to know that you feel at home here. See you soon for your next reach.
Warm regards,

Cassandra and Villas Sur Mer team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Gorgeous views and great staff. The cottage was very comfortable. Sadly, family was in Jamaica for a funeral but the staff helped all to feel welcome. Grandfather (who usually finds something wrong with every hotel he stays in) had no complaints whatsoever. 24 hour security helps you feel safe and secure as well. Definitely going back.

Room tip: There is a 6 bedroom villa right by the ocean that's drop dead gorgeous. Find 5 of your closest friends and get it.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2018

It was lovely having you here. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the circumstances.
Warm regards,
VSM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

I can't even begin to describe how awesome my honeymoon was at Villas Sur Mer! I'm writing this review a year later but I owe it to Cassandra and the whole staff. Everything about the place was relaxing, enchanting; everything I expected and more! We stayed there in the beginning of July. When we got there, the AC in our room wasn't working so we got upgraded to a bigger room for free! (The hammocks on the porch were a huge bonus!) The rooms were very private and clean. Walking around the hotel feels like you're in the middle of a tropical paradise! And the pool! WOW!! Our favorite part was definitely the cave! Walking down there to go snorkeling was surreal. The water in Jamaica is unbelievable. There are many restaurants nearby that you could walk to or Cassandra can coordinate transportation, so it's super easy to get around. The beach is absolutely beautiful. If you're thinking of where to stay in Negril, look no further. You will not be disappointed! We enjoyed every minute of our trip!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janelaldama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

Hi Janel,

Has it really been a year already?? Thank you for the review. It is nice to think that Villas Sur Mer is part of your fond memories. Please come visit us again, we would love to have you back.

Cassandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

I’m very happy I found this place. It was absolutely beautiful. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Lumair is the absolute best bartender! Pretty good at dominos too. I will be back as soon as I can.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jobagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Jobagy,
Thank you for the review, we hope to see you back really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

We spent 3 nights at VSM after spending 4 nights on the beach. We were in the 3-bedroom villa with our 3 teenage kids.

VSM is just perfect. There is the main villa (6 bedrooms) on the cliff side with its own pool and cliff access, and then several smaller (1-3 beds) across the road, tucked in among palm trees, shady paths, and one of the most beautiful pools I’ve ever seen. From the jungle side, you can take a tunnel under the road to their private cave/grotto with water access to some good snorkeling. It would be ideal for families traveling together, or groups like ours, with kids. I’m dying for an excuse to rent the seaside villa!

Our villa was large and spacious, decorated in a refreshing, beachy style. The kitchen was serviceable (though we didn’t cook too much!) with plenty of dishes, glasses, a coffee maker/toaster, etc. There’s a superette within a 5-10 minute walk (up across from Ivan’s) for snacks, rum, etc. From VSM, you can walk to the LTU pub, Rick’s, Ivan’s and the Caves, as well as several smaller restaurants, like TBirds (try the pork!).

The villa had AC in the bedrooms and beds were comfy. We had a few hours with low water pressure, but it wasn’t a big problem for us.

The hotel has snorkeling gear that we borrowed to snorkel in the cove. It was amazing — we had the place to ourselves and it is just gorgeous.

For the last 2 days we were there, the seaside villas was vacant, and Cassandra, the manager, kindly let us use the pool and water access there. We felt like rockstars — you can see all of the crowds at Rick’s next door, but there you are at your private villa!

VSM doesn’t have a restaurant on site, but there is a small bar by the pool for drinks (Lumair made some great ones!). You’ll find all of the staff to be friendly, kind and committed to making you as comfortable as possible. Cassandra provided recommendations for local restaurants and things to do, and was available if we had any questions. We found our way to the jerk chicken stand outside of Rick’s one night and brought chicken back to the villa to eat there.

I recommend going across the street to LTU for dinner and a sunset view, dinner at Ivans (same thing - views and sunsets!), and breakfast at Just Natural, which is about a 15-20 minute walk.

The whole area of the cliffs is quiet and peaceful, and it was a nice respite from the hubbub of the beach. It is walkable, but cars do speed around, so be careful! Taxis are plentiful - just set out in the general direction you want to go, and you’ll be picked up within minutes if want.

We will return to VSM. We loved it. It is such a special place, in large part due to the kindness and attention of all of the staff. It is obviously lovingly cared for, and guests are treated like friends.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank coladakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

All of us here at Villas Sur Mer would like to thank you for your review. We would also like to thank you for choosing Villas Sur Mer for your family vacation. It was fun to watch the kids hanging out together and enjoying Jamaica as a family. Next time definitely bring more friends and family so you can stay at our "Rock Star" Seaside Villa on the Cliffs! Until next reach, Warmest regards,
Cassandra and the VSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews