We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
157
24
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
157
24
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the cliff pool and hot tub area ricks cafe snorkel equipment us feel at home no hot water romantic getaway tree house red stripe cave bedroom housekeeper wedding security bartender jamaica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 189 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

I’m very happy I found this place. It was absolutely beautiful. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Lumair is the absolute best bartender! Pretty good at dominos too. I will be back as soon as I can.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jobagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

Dear Jobagy,
Thank you for the review, we hope to see you back really soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018

We spent 3 nights at VSM after spending 4 nights on the beach. We were in the 3-bedroom villa with our 3 teenage kids.

VSM is just perfect. There is the main villa (6 bedrooms) on the cliff side with its own pool and cliff access, and then several smaller (1-3 beds) across the road, tucked in among palm trees, shady paths, and one of the most beautiful pools I’ve ever seen. From the jungle side, you can take a tunnel under the road to their private cave/grotto with water access to some good snorkeling. It would be ideal for families traveling together, or groups like ours, with kids. I’m dying for an excuse to rent the seaside villa!

Our villa was large and spacious, decorated in a refreshing, beachy style. The kitchen was serviceable (though we didn’t cook too much!) with plenty of dishes, glasses, a coffee maker/toaster, etc. There’s a superette within a 5-10 minute walk (up across from Ivan’s) for snacks, rum, etc. From VSM, you can walk to the LTU pub, Rick’s, Ivan’s and the Caves, as well as several smaller restaurants, like TBirds (try the pork!).

The villa had AC in the bedrooms and beds were comfy. We had a few hours with low water pressure, but it wasn’t a big problem for us.

The hotel has snorkeling gear that we borrowed to snorkel in the cove. It was amazing — we had the place to ourselves and it is just gorgeous.

For the last 2 days we were there, the seaside villas was vacant, and Cassandra, the manager, kindly let us use the pool and water access there. We felt like rockstars — you can see all of the crowds at Rick’s next door, but there you are at your private villa!

VSM doesn’t have a restaurant on site, but there is a small bar by the pool for drinks (Lumair made some great ones!). You’ll find all of the staff to be friendly, kind and committed to making you as comfortable as possible. Cassandra provided recommendations for local restaurants and things to do, and was available if we had any questions. We found our way to the jerk chicken stand outside of Rick’s one night and brought chicken back to the villa to eat there.

I recommend going across the street to LTU for dinner and a sunset view, dinner at Ivans (same thing - views and sunsets!), and breakfast at Just Natural, which is about a 15-20 minute walk.

The whole area of the cliffs is quiet and peaceful, and it was a nice respite from the hubbub of the beach. It is walkable, but cars do speed around, so be careful! Taxis are plentiful - just set out in the general direction you want to go, and you’ll be picked up within minutes if want.

We will return to VSM. We loved it. It is such a special place, in large part due to the kindness and attention of all of the staff. It is obviously lovingly cared for, and guests are treated like friends.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank coladakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

All of us here at Villas Sur Mer would like to thank you for your review. We would also like to thank you for choosing Villas Sur Mer for your family vacation. It was fun to watch the kids hanging out together and enjoying Jamaica as a family. Next time definitely bring more friends and family so you can stay at our "Rock Star" Seaside Villa on the Cliffs! Until next reach, Warmest regards,
Cassandra and the VSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

Staff was amazing. View unmatched. Food delicious. Water perfect. Location fantastic. Wedding was absolutely beautiful. Price was high, but worth it. Wifi was decent. Plumbing went out briefly a couple of times, but always came back.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi Brian,

Thank you for choosing Villas Sur Mer. We hope to have you back again next time!
Cassandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here even though with a little of care and maintenance it could have been fabulous. Little bit annoying things like hair dryer, safety box, air conditioning, toaster did not work... but despite this it was very good.
A suggestion... Bring ear plugs... The hauling of the dogs can wake you up at night

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank RobbieRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write e review. My apologies again for the issues you experienced during your stay. Sometimes those little things all go wrong at the same time, but I am happy were able to address them all so that you still enjoyed your stay with us.
warm regards,

Cassandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

My Wife and I were here for a week at the end of February and it was one of the best places we have ever stayed. It is quiet, relaxing, and has the best staff ever. It is in a great location by Ricks, LTU, and Ivan’s and there is always a taxi around to take you anywhere else you want to go. I can not thank the staff enough for how great they were.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ryanaN2407EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

Hi Ryan,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I agree! we have the best staff in Negril. We are happy you enjoyed your vacation here at Villas Sur Mer, keep in touch and come back soon.
Cassandra and the VSm team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews