We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
157
24
4
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
157
24
4
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages the cliff pool and hot tub area ricks cafe snorkel equipment us feel at home no hot water romantic getaway tree house red stripe cave bedroom housekeeper wedding security bartender jamaica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 189 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

What is way more fun and exotic than staying in a dorky all-inclusive? How about a classy, wonderful hotel like Villa Sur Mer! AMAZING location with a cave leading to a private snorkel cove; really great restaurants and bars just a few steps either direction; VERY helpful manager and staff who will set you up with knowledgable trustworthy locals for authentic JAMAICAN adventures. LOVED IT!! Planning to visit yearly!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jennyandangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

We thank you for thereview and kind words. It was an absolute pleasure having you here and hope that you bring the kids next time and stay a little longer! Keep in touch.
Cassandra and the VSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Our Stay at this beautiful resort was way to short! However, we enjoyed the short time we had and will revisit soon. The resort is great for couples and individuals wanting to get away to become one with self. It's a small, beautiful and intimate boutique resort where tranquility meets you. The cottages are fully equiped with kitchens and beautuifully styled. The owner and staff are awesome and attentive! Richard the property driver was our favorite. He is a very nice guy who's always smiling and eager to help. He recommended several nearby restaurants and beaches for us to visit. There are no restaurants on the property. However, several restaturants are within walking distance. Including the famous Ricks cafe which is across the street. It is a great place to grab a bite to eat, drink and watch the sunset.

Date of stay: May 2017
Thank ahobdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Thank you for the kind words in your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it would be wonderful to have you back again.

Warmest regards,
Cassandra and the VSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

We visited villa sur mer at the 3rd week of April, which is the beginning of raining and summer season. It was a cozy cottage one bedroom where we stayed. It is very close to several resorts, and restaurants. We are right next to Rick's cafe and close to the light house.
The staff were very nice and helpful...especially Casandra the manager and Richard. Everyone there was warm and friendly... we really like being on the cliffs viewing the sunsets.....

Room tip: The best view would be by the sea side which have 5-6 bedrooms.... our was a one bedroom cottage.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phanee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Hi Phanee!

We were sad to see you leave. Please come visit us again next time, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the rain.
Warm regards,
Cassandra and the VSM team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

This place is absolutely wonderful. We brought our entire family: 3 children ages 14, 7, and 3. Not many hotels besides all inclusives allow children to stay especially on the cliffs. The manager, Cassandra, was extremely open to all of us staying and even moved us to the villa right beside the amazing pool. The villa itself was simple but had all the we needed and modern furnishings. The wind tends to blow a lot in Negril and this created a very relaxed atmosphere within and outside the villa as the windows are screened. The best part of this lesser known place were the people that worked here. My children made friends with all
Of them and we felt so cared for. They looked out for us and tended to our every need with "no problem." The manager, the drivers (Richard, Franklin, and Patrick), the security guard DJ, the bartender Lamar, and the house maid Clover were just wonderful and kind people. Jamaica is a very relaxed country and this hotel allows you to sink into that vibe. There are several restaurants close and AMAZING snorkeling right off the cave or the seaside villa. You won't regret staying here. I will say, if you are looking for luxury and western type amenities, go stay at an all inclusive. However, if you do that, you will miss the point of Jamaica and all the beauty of the country. The locals are what make this place so great. Get out there and be present with them. You will learn a lot and will go back a different person.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Tiffany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2017

Hi Tiffany,

Firstly, thank you for your review of Villas Sur Mer, I always say that having guests like you and your family make my job a pleasure.
Your family was a joy to care for, having kids visit us remind us of the little things that are so special. The kids were a joy to have around and we already miss them. Please come back soon so that we can see how they have grown!
Warmest regards,
Cassandra and the VSM team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

Our annual Family New Year's Holiday Trip has been Jamaica for the last 8yrs with mini vacations throughout the year. Yes we love the country that much. :) We stay two weeks each visit. We have stayed in Montego several times and finally settled on Negril four years ago. Best seven miles of beach you could ask for. During those years we have stayed at many different rental homes and hotels. We happened upon Villa Sur Mer in 2015. We fell in love with Villa Sur Mer and booked again for 2016. This truly is like a second home to us. The staff is amazing, kind, helpful, attentive, resourceful and a joy to be around. During our stay we decided to take a overnight trip to Port Antonio. Not thinking we did not alert anyone of our plans. Sure enough the staff noticed our absence was more than 24hrs. Cassandra called to insure we were safe and okay. That really touched my heart. You can't get that at your all-inclusive hotels. That action and many more on behalf of the staff is the very reason whenever I stay in Negril, I will be staying no where else but Villa Sur Mer. Cassandra (property manager extraordinaire) is very well versed on Negril. She can point you in the right direction for food, fun and entertainment. She suggest the best of the best restaurant. I call her suggestions "Cassandra's Culinary Tour". Because we stayed so long we really got a chance to enjoy the property (our 2nd home). Lazy days at the pool with the best rum punch in town made by the kind spoken bartender Lammier. The way the property is set up, you truly feel like you are in your own little paradise. Each villa is comfortable like home with a beautiful island design with a kitchen and living room. Such serenity!

If you book, get to know the staff. Again, they are amazing!

Thank you Villa Sur Mer for a wonderful 2nd time around. See ya next year.

PS Be sure to visit the cave that is on the property and LTU (bar across the street...good times).

Room tip: Rooms by the pool and bar are the best.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasSurMerGM, General Manager at Villas Sur Mer, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Angi, thank you so very much for the kind words, you have made the whole team proud this morning as I read your review to them. We cannot wait to have you all back with us, and I plan on having some more places reviewed for you to enjoy on your next visit. "Hello!!" from all of us at Villas Sur Mer.
Sincerely,
Cassandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews