We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!”
Review of Villas Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas Sur Mer
Ranked #4 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2009

My husband and I just got back from our honeymoon and, I must say, there is no better place for romance and unbelievable service! We stayed in the laggoon cottage atop a cascade of water falling into the pool - the view on the property is simply spectacular. Our unwavering thanks to Magonna, Donna, Richard, Carol, Randy, and Shanghai for their warm welcome. We will absolutely be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorry_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Villas Sur Mer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 159 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2009

Villas Sur Mer was an incredible experience.
I went with my sister and we felt we had died and went to heaven. The beds are so comfy as well as the pillows and linens. The staff became like family and we actually cried when we left. Peter (the owner that we were so happy to meet) has created something wonderful... You feel completely relaxed and at peace, yet there are tons of attractions just steps away. The cave to the ocean is so gorgeous and so private-what an amazing spot to get married or share a bottle of champagne!
There is Ricks across the street but it is noisy and overpriced and does not give you the experience of being in Negril. Try instead to locate a beach Reggae concert somewhere and don't forget to look at the stars! Villas Sur Mer would be a perfect wedding venue the villas are so perfectly appointed yet private. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthKids2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I have been vacationing in Negril for the last 5 years. We like the beach, but we love the cliffs because of the privacy and the sunsets. We had some time off and we were rushing to find a place to stay. The resort we normally stay at in Negril was booked, so we tried Villas Sur Mer. If you visit their website, the images do it no justice at all. I'm not sure a picture could ever capture exactly how magical this place is. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa and it was perfect. The decor was clean, simple and modern, yet you still got the feeling of Jamaican culture. The staff is small, yet welcoming and accommodating. They gave us a cell phone with each staff members cell phone # programmed in it in case we needed to contact them at any hour. They do not have a restaurant, but it didn't matter. A new restaurant, Alice's, opened a minute away. They deliver the freshest and tasiest food in under 30mins...and it's cheap. We can't wait to go back. Mentally we havent left.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christyshu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

I've never written one of these reviews before and it's quite difficult for me to put most of my thoughts into words that accurately describe my experience except to say it was wonderful. Staying in the lagoon villas which range from 1 bedroom to 3 bedroom units ( I was in a 1 bedroom) was extremely comfortable and very private which was a surprise given the small size of the property. A beautifully arranged swimming pool fed by a bubbling waterfall over rocks was only exceeded by the massive hot tub which I swear can hold at least 30 people with ease. From there, going to through a tunnel which exits to a cavern and sundeck at the foot of cliffs at the West End of Negril with its own private cove is great for watching the beautiful Negril sunsets, snorkling and possibly as an easy access for a shore dive. It's now my new favourite place to stay when in Negril!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scrow595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bzank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brooklyn, NY
18
Reviewed May 20, 2006

Stayed: May 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
854 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 80 in Negril
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 80 in Negril
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#6 of 80 in Negril
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sur Mer

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range: $194 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning cliffs of West end Negril, Villas Sur Mer offers luxurious accommodations that offer privacy, and tranquility. Villas Sur Mer is only steps away from the cliff divers of the famous Rick's café or a short drive to seven mile beach. We offer unforgettable guest experiences that will leave you wanting to return again and again. Our six bedroom seaside villa is truly the jewel of the cliffs of Negril. The breathtaking views of the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea can be seen while sipping a red stripe at your own private bar, in the hot tub or lounging in our private pool. Across the road, we have several beautifully appointed villas nestled in a tropical garden setting. Don't forget, we also have an underground cave leading to an ocean deck that allows ocean access for swimming/snorkeling. A Villas Sur Mer vacation will give you long lasting memories that will have you missing Jamaica the moment you get back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sur Mer Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing