We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat”
Review of Villas Sur Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Sur Mer
Ranked #4 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a great vacation!

Staff: very friendly and down to earth. I love that everyone gets introduced because the staff truly gets invested in the place. Not sure if the owner reads the reviews but Richard could be assisted by hiring a driver. I felt guilty pulling him away from his other duties when we needed a ride.

Location: on the cliffs. Great sunset view. I absolutely love walking but felt that the road was not meant for pedestrians to share it with cars so most of the time we used cabs. Unless you eat nearby (several options such as LTU, Ivan's, Ahhhbees) expect a $10-25 ride one way to a restaurant to eat.

Property: the grounds look amazing. Really well manicured but it feels natural - like a safe jungle (oxymoron). Maybe some red could liven it a bit but looks great as it is. Pool is very clean and the area is well set, awesome rocking chairs. The pool is open 24h and I worried about the water quality but felt reassured when I smelled the chlorine on my skin after.

Villas: the decor is great as it is greatly furnished. A tip for those who are sensitive to noise, stay elsewhere than in the first villa which I believe is 1A. There was noise from the road, something that goes off at 11pm that sounds like a copy machine and then in the morning there was noise as people were coming and going. We did get some sleep but if you are easily disturbed get another room.

Massages: really delighted by the experience. The team is truly professional and well trained. At $80 each it truly hit the spot. You can have them by the cave with a great sunset or if it rains, fret not as they can set it up in your room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at villas sur mer and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. It was our first time in negril and Kimi made sure we had everything we needed. She was sure we had a reliable ride from the airport to the resort, so she took care of us even before we met her! She also arranged for a great captain to take us on a glass bottom boat snorkling trip. We stayed in villa 7 with another couple and we always felt that we had plenty of privacy. We had great access to the pool and bar which was great! Cliff, the bartender makes the best piña coladas and will make whatever he can for u! Richard is an angel! Always wanted us to have what we needed and never hesitated to take us wherever we needed to go! The groundskeeper,Shank Hi was always working hard to keep the grounds beautiful and always greeted you with a sincere smile. For an intimate customer service experience this is the place to stay! Although our villa was not on the beach side we had access to the water through the cave and the staff allowed us to access the beach from the 6 bdrm home on the beach side since it was vacant the week we were there. Beautiful water! As far as Negril goes we felt safe and enjoyed the food at many of the local restaurants. Be prepared to be approached multiple times to buy items if you are outside of the resort. Although it can get pricey taking a cab to certain places it is a must to avoid the hassle and to avoid the speeding cars on the narrow road. Overall we had a great visit! Weather is amazing and we can't wait to go back! Thank you Villa Sur Mer!

Room Tip: This resort does not have a fitness center or room service. I tried to de-select the terrible review...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My new fiance and I can't say enough good things about Villas Sur Mer. The pictures on their website, while spectacular, don't do this place justice. The villas, gardens, and pool are gorgeous and tranquil. The seaside house is unreal. The cave and private cove are great places to relax and go for a swim. But Jamaica is about the people. The staff at Villas Sur Mer are the friendliest and most helpful hospitality staff we've ever met. Kimi is amazing and did everything she possibly could to make our time in Negril the best possible. Cliff, Richie, James, Marlon, Shankar, and all the cleaning staff are great people, and really make this place extra special. Great people to hang out with and to tell and listen to stories with. tJamaica is also about the food. The west side (cliff-side) of Negril has TONS of great places to eat. Great food can be found everywhere, from the "hotel" restaurants to the the road-side grills and shops. Villas Sur Mer and the cliffs are a great change of pace and scenery from the beaches of Negril, but close enough that you can hop into a cab (or shirtless on the back of Richard's moped, hugging him tight for all the girls to see) to hang out in the sands in the day or check out live reggae at night. And Jamaica is also about the music. SO MUCH good music playing everywhere. If you like bad music, go vacation somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Irwin and I just got back from a four days get-away at Villa Sur Mer and is already planning our next trip back. We felt like we've known the staff all our lives. We were greeted with a hug from Kimi...where in the world do you go and get a hug from a complete stranger,it meant a lot.Richie was really good to us, he took us any and everywhere we wanted to go,loved his accent.The villas are very cozy. We stayed in 1b, a one bedroom which is beautiful and had the opportunity to stay in a two bedroom as well which was equally beautiful and peaceful. I fell asleep in the hammock and napped for two hours in the middle of the day. That was heavenly. We totally enjoyed sitting at the bar and sipping one of Cliffs special cocktails while he told us stories about Jamaica and played whatever reggae music we requested. Swimming in the pool with reggae music and birds chirping in the background felt like paradise. Do not leave without spending some time in the cave....breathtaking!!! Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Villas in the back are much quieter.Traffic and noises from the bar across the street could be heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty4x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband,Patrick, and I just returned from a 7 day wonderful trip at Villas Sur Mer. We were in villa 7 which is a 2 bedroom. We had another couple with us. It was located right next to the pool at the rear of the property. It was the best location!! First of all, the service here is great!! Kimmie was great to work with and made sure we had everything we needed. Cliff made the best daquiris and always suggested wonderful places for us to eat each night. He was always there to help us with anything. Richard took us all over the island and even gave Patrick a moped ride!!!!Shank Hi kept the grounds immaculate and my husband loved talking to him. All of the people that work here are so nice. We can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlieconnormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I will absolutely be back!!! The staff is the most wonderful, friendly, and helpful people. They helped us with anything we needed and checked on us daily. Kimmie was the best! She made us reservations, booked us a trip and encouraged others to join us, and made sure to check on us each day. Richard took us anywhere we needed to go and was so friendly. Cliff helped suggest places for us to visit and was always there if we needed anything. The security guys James and Marlin were always a help and made sure to check on us. We felt very safe :) The housekeeping staff always did a great job and the grounds looked amazing. I must say that this was the best vacation I ever had. I told multiple people about this place and even have some people that are interested in booking. Like I said, I will be back for sure, not only for the beautiful hotel and the area, but to see the wonderful staff that we became friends with in the short time we were there. There are the most breath taking views off the cliffs. Across the street is the famous Ricks Cafe where I jumped off the 35 ft cliff....amazing! And there is another place called LTU. They have great food and it is inexpensive. You can also charge the food or drinks to your room. If you are going to Negril this is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed Villas Sur Mer! We couldn't have been happier with our cottage for the week. #8 is the way to go if you're looking for complete privacy. It's located at the far end of the property, just above the pool. The waterfall below was an added bonus for ultra relaxation! We spent our mornings hanging out on the deck outside the cottage, drinking blue mountain coffee and rum cream, and our afternoons napping in the awesome rocking lounge chairs by the pool. Our nights were filled with fantastic dinners from the many great restaurants around town, followed by nightcaps at LTU. The property is within walking distance to most restaurants, although Richard will gladly give you a lift if you wish. The bed was quite comfy and the a/c was nice to have. The linens and towels were always clean and fresh and our room was very well kept.
The highlight of our stay was the suggestion of Kimi...a couples massage in the cave at sunset. Fantastic...so good we indulged twice! Lance and Claudette are quite gifted and very professional.
We were glad we chose the cliffs instead of the beach as the cliffs were very laid back and much more chill, especially over the week of new years.
All in all Villas Sur Mer did not disappoint. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, and always asked if we needed anything. Special thanks to Kimi, Richard, Dain, Paulette and William for being such lovely hosts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlushed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 81 in Negril
848 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#11 of 81 in Negril
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Sur Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sur Mer

Property: Villas Sur Mer
Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sur Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning cliffs of West end Negril, Villas Sur Mer offers luxurious accommodations that offer privacy, and tranquility. Villas Sur Mer is only steps away from the cliff divers of the famous Rick's café or a short drive to seven mile beach. We offer unforgettable guests experiences that will leave you wanting to return again and again. Our six bedroom seaside villa is truly the jewel of the cliffs of Negril. It offers a personal Chef and housekeeper and each bedroom has its own en suite bathroom. The breathtaking views of the turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea can be seen while sipping a red stripe at your own private bar, in the hot tub or lounging in our private pool, atop the private, most majestic Brazilian hardwood deck which will be yours for your stay. Across the road, we have several 1, 2, and 3 bedroom beautifully appointed villas nestled in a tropical garden setting. Each villa comes equipped with a kitchenette and each bedroom has an en suite bathroom. Sit on your private garden veranda and watch the hummingbirds flicker by.....or sip on a refreshing drink poolside at our cascading waterfall pool, with a super large Jacuzzi on another beautiful deck. Don't forget, we also have an underground cave walkway leading to an ocean deck that allows ocean access for swimming/snorkeling in the turquoise waters below. Enjoy a couple's massage on the deck in the am or pm, or yoga, or simply a sun worshipping experience like never before. A Villas Sur Mer vacation will give you long lasting memories that will have you missing Jamaica the moment you get back home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villas Sur Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sur Mer Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing