We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best place to "escape" to” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Negril Escape Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 42 Negril B&B and Inns
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not the best place to "escape" to”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here in January 2014. The hotel is in dire need of upgrades. A lot of what is advertised on their website is not how it is at the hotel. The "breakfast buffet" is a waiter bringing you eggs, a slice of toast and a slice of fruit. The free wifi rarely works and the pool was unusable as the filter/pump seemed to be broken. The shower had no hot water and the towels and bedding, while clean, were all very stained and dirty looking. Due to the hotel being solar powered we lost electricity for most of the first night meaning no air conditioning no tv and no lights. The good points - the staff are all fantastic and friendly. They go out of their way to help and answer any questions and to accommodate you in any way they can. The property is very quiet and relaxing and the bed was the most comfortable one we had ever slept on! Go for the quiet and the wonderful staff but be warned that if it's luxury you are seeking this is definitely not the place!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank gypsynik74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.
We were unaware that you were having WIFI problems. I will discuss this with members of the team today. We were having problems with the pool while you were here, but this has been fixed. We're sorry for the other problems you encountered. We will redouble our efforts to provide better facilities this year. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
29
66
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was surprised at the rough condition of this hotel for the price. I vary in my travels from budget to five star, I know the difference. I suppose the cost is for location, but still pealing paint, only slightly functional shower, bare fluorescent bulb as the cottage light source, much of the place in disrepair... Ocean views were nice, and access to some snorkeling from the cliffs was good fun.

ps. If you want snorkeling, access from Xtabi is supposed to be good.

Room Tip: away from the generator if noise keeps you up
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves_to_see_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.

It's true that during your stay some of the buildings needed to be repainted.
Today (February 3, 2014) we are repainting the hotel.

I'm sorry that your shower wasn't working properly, and that you were unhappy with some of the aesthetics of your room. We are working hard to upgrade our facilities. Thank you so much for choosing Negril Escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Negril Escape is a budget resort which is reflected in the the rates and the quality of the rooms. However, If you don't need a polished hotel but want cheap place to stay with an amazing ocean view, NE may be for you. Be forewarned - although the resorts offers many sought after amenities, don't expected them to always work. When we stayed there, the pool was green for a couple days and unusable. Sometimes the air conditioning in the room would go off when the power was diverted to other uses (like karaoke night). Some of the appliances in the kitchenette (e.g. stove) didn't work. In the first room we were assigned to the shower head was clogged and sprayed everywhere. The roof leaked during a heavy rain. There were some other minor maintenance issues like rusted fixtures around the room.

We also had an issue where the room we specifically reserved was unavailable (that particular building was gutted and under construction) and we were given a room that was unsatisfactory to us. Management resolved the issue the next day by upgrading us to one of their better rooms.

Overall the property is nice, with a decent restaurant/bar and excellent cliff access. I understand that they put on a fabulous wedding, and they may be where the bulk of their business comes from. However, as a guest in one of the cottages, you will notice where maintenance and upgrades would be needed.

The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. There is a shuttle to the beach everyday, and on certain nights, the shuttle goes to the Jungle nightclub (and the driver will stay there with you).

Overall, if you are on a budget and you want a prime cliffside location but don't mind a resort that is a little worn, Negril Escape may be a good place for you.

Room Tip: Look closely at the room descriptions. About half of the rooms have excellent ocean views, while oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anatalope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your honest opinion. During your stay, we had some trouble with the pump for the pool. We apologize that the water wasn't clean enough for swimming while you were staying with us. We've fixed this problem. We are also sorry about the problem with your air-conditioning- this no longer happens. We're working hard to improve the overall maintenance of the hotel and appreciate that out of all the hotels in negril, you chose to stay with us. Please contact us and we will do our best to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

If you don't care about comfort, all inclusive resort and beach front maybe you will like it. The beach is in the cliffs so you cannot walk on the sand because doesn't have sand. Only rocks. If you are a really good swimmer you can jump in the water in a right spot the hotel has a ladder, oderwise you will have the pool with ocean view or the hotel bus that take you to the beach every day at 11 am and pick you up at 3 pm. It's a bed and breakfast hotel. The people that work there are so nice! The best thing about the hotel are the people that work there! They are really interested by helping you. The breakfast is simple but so good! tasty! Jamaican National dish (fried plantain, fried dumplings, ackee and saltfish), coffee, milk, fruits, bread and butter.

The room is not very clean at all. When I check in I went to see my bathroom and it was dirty! The toilet was used and had toilet paper in the garbage. The furniture is very old and in our bed had termite because had a wood powder next to a hole in bed. The window from the room and the bathroom were broken. We stayed in the best room in the resort. The ocean view. So I just would come back if I would younger, wilder and kinda in a hippie mood. I rather comfort in a Caribbean Island than all that!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belaclaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Negril Escape Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your honest opinion. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience.

We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We agree that it is unacceptable that your bathroom was not clean, and we will work with our housekeeping team on this issue. We also apologize that there were problems with the furniture and the overall maintenance of your room. We are fixing these problems as I type this.
Would you give us a second chance? Please contact us and we will do our best to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. We came for a wedding and it was such a wonderful experience. Very relaxing and picturesque. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. I left knowing that I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Negril.

However, as this was our third time to Jamaica, we decided to take a day trip back to an area just 30 miles South of Negril, called Little Bay, that we had visited on our last trip here. Wanting to explore more of "undiscovered" Jamaica, we went back and visited our friend Wayne. We met Wayne on our last trip when we stayed at the Little Bay Cabins, when we walked down the road to the bar and grill he built on the beach in front of his home and served us the most spectacular candle light dinner on the beach during sunset.

The day we spent in Little Bay was actually the highlight of our trip... well, that plus our friend's wedding! Wayne provided us with kayaks, and took us to the bluehole, Bob Marley's house, the bat caves. It was so much fun and a true haven! The local people were so friendly, kind, and funny!!! We had an incredible time... and of course, it culminated again with Wayne cooking for us and serving us the best Jamaican food I have ever eaten- right on the beach, with candles, during the sunset. Truly spectacular. Wayne'z World is what he calls it.... because the minute you arrive, you enter his amazing world. Take a day and explore. Not sure if his website is up yet.

As for Negril, if you go, Alfred's is great for music and just explore! I highly recommend you use this hotel as your home base. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I booked this resort through Expedia. When my husband and I arrived in the evening the hotel had not Idea we were coming. The hotel was renovating and put us in a room for one evening.
Basic room we booked a kitchenette. David the manager was very accommodating. He upgraded us to a room in their sister property The Boardwalk, located at the beach. It was very nice but we wanted to be at the cliffs. David had a room prepared for us, brought in extra staff and arranged for special meals. None of this unfortunate happenings were fault of the hotel. We were informed on the 4th day there that after investigating with expedia, our reservation was never sent out. Thank you David and Janet for all you did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I must have had a glitch when I tried to post this the first time. Sorry Demien and Kevin. I know you guys depend on these reviews. I'd like to say that the trip three of my sons and I took took to Jamaica for new year's 2012 was fantastic, anad made much better by the accommodations and service found at the escape. Breakfast on the patio overlooking the Carribean, with a cup of blue mountain coffee....yeah Mon. Great location, kind of quiet. We stayed 12 days and they were just as cool from the first day to the last.

Ben Chillout

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenNeece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#27 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Escape Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Property: Negril Escape Resort & Spa
Address: The Cliffs, West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Negril Escape Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort Located on the cliffs in Negril. Offers a natural, holistic environment. Gardens and paths winding through the limestone to the sea. Swim, snorkle, or scuba dive-(Negril Scuba Centre is located here!) enjoy a message in our spa on the edge of the cliff, or just relax by the pool. 10 cottages- each reflecting the rich,vibrant cultural heritage of Jamaica,from India to Africa, Asia to Europe. Service personalized to the guest's individual wishes. Come Escape, relax, and rejuvenate your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Negril Escape Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Escape Hotel Negril
Negril Escape Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing