We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Negril Escape Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 41 Negril B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

In February 2012, I submitted a review of Negril Escape entitled “a superb cliff location & an enjoyable and peaceful place to stay”.
My husband and I stayed once more at this hotel for three weeks in January, 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed being there again. As usual, the management/owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Our room was comfortable and clean and we loved sitting on our balcony with such a panoramic sea view and incredible sunsets.

We feel that Negril Escape offers great value in a beautiful location and we wonder why the hotel is not always occupied to capacity.

Another reviewer noted in February 2012 and I quote: “This is a Jamaican family run hotel on a good scale, near Rick’s café, and all the amenities of Negril, and yet it is often under-occupied, like many of the individual hotels. Why? Because, the airlines and tour companies now only promote the multinational enormous all-inclusive resorts. These discourage people from leaving the resort, exploring on their own, buying real goods and eating in the restaurants run by local people. The under-occupancy means Escape, like many such hotels, can look a little shabby, compared to the newer gigantic resorts down the road ”.

We totally concur with this reviewer’s comment. However, we also know from just being there, the owners are continuing to upgrade/renovate facilities, e.g. the pool and pool area were recently renovated and there are now many new lounges with good showers adjoining – a great place to relax and soak up the sun. Each day, we walked into town or to any of the small Jamaican-owned restaurants along the road and had only good experiences with friendly people and no hassles. Other guests staying at the resort also had the same good experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mel0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    50
    17
    9
    16
See reviews for
29
65
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here for 6 days for my birthday getaway. The hotel hosted a welcome dinner for my guest on the first night of arrival which was perfect. They catered to our every need and I appreciated it. They also hosted my birthday Luau for about 30 guest and decorated to go with our theme and I was very impressed. This resort is on the cliff side on Negrils West End and boast the most amazing sunsets you will ever find. Each building has a theme and is decorated to enhance the theme. We stayed in Passage to India, Jamrock and Romancing the Kalbash and all rooms were great. All rooms had fresh flowers, very spacious, a patio with chairs and hammocks to relax, television, air conditioning and bathroom amenities. The staff is very friendly. The owners are very accommodating. The property is a beautiful place to host any type of event...birthday, weddings, yoga retreats even concerts. We saw Dolphins swimming by during our stay, a few even went snorkeling. If you are looking for affordable rates, beautiful sunsets, friendly staff, great food and a great laid back property, Negril Escape Resort and Spa is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room so you can see the ocean in the morning and also enjoy the sunset in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

If you're looking for seclusion during the off season, this place has it. We figured out quickly that we were the only two people staying here, which was ok, but lonely at times.

Upon our arrival the pool was being worked on, so that was a little disappointing. The sea is rough that time of year (not a good idea to jump in around the cliffs!), so our only option to get in the water required taking a taxi up to the beach.

As far as Negril goes with service and accommodations, I would give this place 2.5 or 3 out of 5. (You should keep in mind that even the "4 star" places in Negril are nothing like NY or Vegas, as Negril is not a ritzy place in general).

Our room didn't quite feel secure, but since we were generally alone, we didn't worry too much. We didn't have hot water while we were there, but we also didn't ask about it, since we were only staying a short while.

We did enjoy the free breakfast every morning and the low prices at the bar. Wifi worked decently, that was a plus. This was more of a place for us to crash when we came back from other activities, so it served it's purpose.

Wanting to check out a few places in Negril, we only stayed here for part of our trip. Based on the other place we stayed in the same area, you may be better off to spend an extra $10 per night for a better atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This resort is not on the beach, but right on the cliffs. It is possible to swim in the sea from the cliffs. There is good snorkeling right from the resort. We saw even some dolphins. There is no beach on walking distance. In morning there is one free shuttle to the seven miles beach about 7 km from the hotel, which returns in the afternoon. The resort exists our of a number of buildings each with 2 rooms downstairs and 2 up-stairs. Those rooms with sea view are slightly more expensive. Many have a sea view. I spent most of the time enjoying the sea and view from the balcony and reading a book in the hammock. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were there out of season in May and it was very quiet. The rooms could be improved by screens to keep the few insects out and to be able to sleep with a cool sea breeze rather than using the air conditioning.

This place is great for snorkelers, divers, couples and for families with children that are able to swim well. I do not recommend it for young children, neither for those who love the crowds and want to party.

Breakfast isn't great. The resort restaurant is a bit pricey, but opposite to the exit, a bit to the right, there is a small local eatery were they can prepare good local dishes at budget prices. Hygiene standards might not be as you are used at home, but we never got sick. If you want something special you can order in advance. You should not be in hurry as the service is very relaxed.

Because my son was diving we were able to bargain a sea view room for the price of normal room. The dive centre made a professional impression on us and the dive masters were very friendly.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a room with sea view. These are also further from the road, which might give a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice looking campus on the cliffs. Spoiled by poor attitude on the part of management. They seemed resentful I was there. This is off season, so lots of options. I should have left the first day. Lots of petty conflicts over small issues. Finally I moved to another hotel, where everyone was very friendly.

The hotel is not fancy, but is right on the cliffs. Lonely Planet puts it in the luxury category, which is clearly a major exaggeration. But I do not need fancy. What I did not like was the almost hostile attitude.

The dive shop, which is at the hotel, was very nice. Dive masters were friendly and competent. Clear water, Diving not the best in the world but good enough, as one of my friends likes to say about almost everything.

Use the dive shop but don't stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms have the best view but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiterhino77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very low key and laid back at this resort. If you're looking for 5* this is not it however, it is very clean and friendly staff - middle of the road accommodation wise with all the amentities.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Out of Africa" room. King bed and our bathroom window overlooked the Caribe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crabsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great for a weekend hide away , great for a private wedding. The Ocean view is great, I really can't find words to describe this place enough its beyond your imagination. The cottages symbolizes a different section of the world, I stayed in cottage #1 Oriental express. The owners also have the biggest nite club "JUNGLE" ..I will be back this summer

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renzokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.0 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#28 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
2.9 mi away
Westender Inn
Westender Inn
#26 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catcha Falling Star
Catcha Falling Star
#5 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negril Escape Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Escape Resort & Spa

Property: Negril Escape Resort & Spa
Address: The Cliffs, West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Negril Escape Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique resort Located on the cliffs in Negril. Offers a natural, holistic environment. Gardens and paths winding through the limestone to the sea. Swim, snorkle, or scuba dive-(Negril Scuba Centre is located here!) enjoy a message in our spa on the edge of the cliff, or just relax by the pool. 10 cottages- each reflecting the rich,vibrant cultural heritage of Jamaica,from India to Africa, Asia to Europe. Service personalized to the guest's individual wishes. Come Escape, relax, and rejuvenate your body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Negril Escape Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Escape Hotel Negril
Negril Escape Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing