We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westender Inn
Nearby Hotels
$492
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Travellers Beach Resort(Negril)(Great Value!)
$89
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Country Country Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$141
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Firefly Beach Cottages(Negril)(Great Value!)
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$192
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$880
$469
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveler rating
334
78
9
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
78
9
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea poolalmond suitehotel shuttlecrashing wavessalt water poolwest endshuttle serviceocean sidedowntown negrilackee and saltfishbeautiful propertythe entire staffseven mile beachlaid backreal jamaicathe cliffrelaxing vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 430 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spend five nights at the Westender, arriving on New Years Day. To keep it short - the hotel is a hidden gem. Go there!
Because it was winter, the ocean was too rough to swim in at the hotel so we shuttled to Xtabi to swim and jump. Note- this place is secluded. Far from the other hotels on the cliff. You can't walk anywhere. But you can shuttle all over the place. Also, they have a cool Cliffside pool that we spent a lot of time in.
Food is great and staff are beyond. They are your family while you are there and they go out of their way to make you happy and comfortable.
The best, best part are the other guest who were there. We met the most interesting, warm and welcoming people we've ever met. Friends for life!
Love you, Westender - Keith, Renee, Dane, Jermaine, Terry, Abby, you're the best! See you soon!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Trayb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After researching this hotel a lot, we decided to stay in the Dolphin Suite, which was beautiful. The staff was beyond amazing and some of the nicest people I've ever met in Jamaica. After staying on 7 mile during our last visit, my husband and I were happy we chose to stay on the cliffs. The shuttle makes it easy to get around throughout your stay.

I was unhappy with a few of the accommodations that should have been included in our suite, but we're not: 1) phone did not work, 2) no tv, 3) no coffee pot, 4)stove had no gas and would not work, 5) refrigerator was too warm so we had to use the freezer to keep items cold. I felt that for one of the more expensive rooms on the property these issues should not be prevalent.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank atobe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westie_Negril, General Manager at Westender Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westender Inn and I concur with your assessment of Westender Inn staff and property.

With regards to TV service, we had a lighting strike just prior to your arrival and several satellite boxes and TVs were damage. A few days after act of nature, all TVs were fixed and we immediately ordered new satellite boxes. We expect satellite TV service to be restored to all rooms shortly. The coffee pot, gas for stove and refrigerator should have been in working order in your suite. After reading your review, we immediately corrected the stove, fridge and coffee pot issues. Telephones are working but it is only an internal system to call other rooms, front office and bar/restaurant. I am sorry you did not get a chance to mention these issues to the front office while you were still on property, we certainly would have corrected them for you immediately.

Thanks again for your very positive review and I sincerely hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spent a week at the Westender Inn *after* a 1 week stay at a hotel on the 7-mile beach. This helped to bring the advantages of the inn to the forefront. It is a super relaxing place by comparison, and you can tell that most of the staff has international experience by their attention to detail. No vendors at all, just friendly staff and fellow vacationers. We spent New Year's here and we had a great time.

Pros
+ Excellent staff, esp Abby, Terry and the restaurant staff
+ Great place to relax, read a book and watch the waves crash into the rocks
+ Hammock!
+ Nice bar, good restaurant with especially great breakfast
+ Convenient shuttle service every hour into town.
+ Super clean
+ Very safe

Cons
- Far from the 7-mile beach. If we hadn't done a week at 7-mile, we might have been disappointed. Something to keep in mind
- TV and Wi-Fi were not working in our room. TV was no issue, but it was a pain being able to connect to wifi only once or twice a day when we went to the restaurant.

Room Tip: We booked early and probably got the best room, with a view of the ocean literally at our doorstep
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolverine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I have traveled a lot and wanted to go somewhere that would be an authentic Jamaican experience and not the normal tourist bubble. The Westender Inn was truly amazing. We felt like we were in our own little paradise. The staff are absolutely wonderful, I can not praise them enough for making us feel welcomed, safe and cared for throughout our entire stay. The location of the Inn is on the cliffs which is off the usual path ( but only a 7 minute drive to the beach) but the hotel offers a shuttle service into town on the hour every day. Being on the cliff end of Negril lets you see the true beauty without being constantly surrounded by tourists and people trying to sell you things. The food was delicious, the room was lovely and again it was the hospitality that really went above and beyond for us. If you want to experience Jamaica, have a good value for your money, feel safe, and know that this will be your home away from home- I can not recommend this enough. Go to Westender, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: The cabins in the back are secluded and private- but the rooms in the garden or sea view are wonderful as well.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Westerners Inn has one of the best staff i have encountered on my trip.
They are super friendly and help you with anything you need to make your stay comfortable.

The location is secluded from the rest of the area which is nice because you dont have to deal with any hagglers and prostitutes. Its a very peaceful location on the cliffs. Great view.

They also have a restaurant here which is probably the best food ive had in jamaica! You have to try it out!

my only complaints were:
1) the pool by the ocean wasnt filled which was a big reason why i booked this location because i wanted to relax in the cliff side pool.
2) our tv wasnt working
3) our phone wasnt working

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYSourDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews