We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So relaxing, perfect getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westender Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westender Inn
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So relaxing, perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Just returned from the Westender Inn, we had a great time. We were so happy to be away from the beach resorts. It was so quiet and peaceful at this resort. The view is breathtaking. We ate dinner at Westies a couple nights and had the escovietched fish both times, it was delicious. There were a couple minor things that could be improved in the rooms, but we knew it wasn't a five-start resort. And the staff/service and the location made up for any minor issues. Special thanks to Jermaine for driving us whereever we wanted to go at whatever time. And he was always there on time to pick us up. Also, special thanks to Nelson who drove us from the airport to the hotel. He started off our trip on a great note. Very friendly and informative. You end up making friends with the fellow guests and chat at dinner or the pool. . or you can be secluded by yourself if you don't want to visit. We stayed in Room 16 (Cactus Suite) and loved it. However, we were right next to a tree that had quite a few bats in it in the evening and flew through our balcony. So, I tended to not go out on the balcony at dusk. Others would have probably found that fascinating. We enjoyed the hotel dog, Ivy, and the three kitties. . . made us feel at home. We hope to be able to return someday.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NEWFIE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    71
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
217
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Review of the Westender Inn, Negril.

Stephanie and I spent two wonderful weeks at the Westender in February. This was our third visit to Jamaica in the last few years. The previous two visits were to all-inclusives - both of them excellent. After our stay at the Westender, we will never go back to all-inclusives again.
Like many people on their first visit to the Westender, we made our choice based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, in which the only negative - that it was a fair way from the ‘action’ in Negril - was, to us, a major positive factor!
We booked very last-minute and were moved a couple of times during our stay - each time to a better room.
The Westender is perfectly situated for those who value peace, tranquility and a taste of Jamaica somewhat detached from the usual tourist haunts - with their rather frantic pace. The grounds are beautifully maintained , a peaceful oasis. While at the pool, which is in the garden area, across the road from the beach-front rooms, it was truly a pleasure to look over the Inn’s property and the land around. The small herd of goats that grazed at the back of the property, overlooked by donkeys in the neighbouring fields, were a glimpse of a rural Jamaica that still thrives in Westmoreland.
We spent several nights in one of the garden apartments. At night, the sounds of the neighbouring countryside were a source of delight - and the smell of burning sugar cane wafting through our windows. The nearby countryside was full of sugar cane. Such an important part of Jamaica’s history and economy.
As with everything Stephanie and I have seen of Jamaica, the best part of the island is the Jamaican people. The people who ran the Westender are a wonderful and absolutely indispensable asset.
We must, first of all, thank Keith, the manager and co-owner, whose kindness and attention - often going far beyond what his job description calls for - helped make our stay so memorable. Thank you, Keith, for running such a great hotel - and a very special thank you for taking us shopping to Savannah la Mar, followed by a fascinating tour of the local countryside. Thanks to you, I’ve now got two guayaberas (doctor’s shirts, as they are known in Jamaica)! Sadly, up here, in British Columbia at this time of the year, they are put away until summer.
Keith’s staff are all brilliant. We both enjoyed talking about gardening with Gary, the assistant manager. Next time, I plan to visit Gary’s small holding - having heard so much about it. As promised, Gary, some packets of seeds are coming your way! Thanks, too, for the trip to fetch the doors ( especially as I simply watched as they were loaded.
A big thank you, too, to Tamesha, in the office, for all your help. A huge thank you to the wonderful bar, restaurant and kitchen staff. Kannisha and Nadine, it was a real pleasure getting to know you. You, too, Kemar ( tho I’m pretty sure, I’ve misspelled your name) - thanks for the music and all the conversations. (Nadine, you would make a great nurse)! Ray ( another misspelled name. Sorry), Wright and Natty, thank you for your wonderful cooking. What a real pleasure to taste genuine Jamaican breakfast food - the ackee and saltfish was great - especially with the roasted and fried breadfruit! I enjoyed the calaloo and saltfish, the escoveitch fish, too, for breakfast. Shame there was no mackerel while we were there. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the special evenings with the bonfires and hot air balloons were brilliant. A special thank you, here, to Gary, who launched a hot air balloon to celebrate our thirtieth anniversary - and to all the guests who shared those special nights with us. Steve and Lucia, Matt and Katie, Rob and Laura, California Steve, and especially The Frying Pan Man and his lovely lady DEA Jude!
The rooms were spotless thanks to Winsome, Karen and Jessica. The grounds were beautifully maintained by Kevin, Omar and Kelvin and we were kept safe every night by Colin and Evans. Thank you, everyone, for helping to make our stay with you absolutely unforgettable. Thank you, Winston, for picking us up at the airport, Nelson, for taking us back to the airport. Great trips! Thanks, Nelson, too, for that great trip to Mayfield Falls.
We really did appreciate the fact that the Westender is well out of town - but in no way did we feel cut off from things. The hotel shuttle bus went into town every hour, on the hour. Jermaine, the driver, was an absolute star! Not only did he drive us into town whenever we wanted to go - but could be relied upon to pick us up wherever and whenever we wanted. Neither of us had a cell/mobile phone that works outside North America ( Don’t get me started!!!). No problem. Wherever we were for dinner, we just asked them to phone Jermaine and lo and behold! Like the genie from the lamp, there he was - always full of joy and smiles. What a wonderful team you have put together, Keith!
The highlights of our trip - apart from the wonders that surrounded and delighted us every single day were the two day trips we took. The first was the trip to Mayfield Falls with Nelson. Nelson, it was irie, man. Stephanie and I talked about it that night and wondered how we could top it. Next day’s trip, with Jermaine, to Half Moon Beach, did just that. A huge thank you to our companions - plus Kim and Charlie - and a huge thank you to Andrew, the owner, for having such a magical place. Looking it up later in the Rough Guide, we find that they rate it as the best beach in Jamaica! Thank you, Keith, for arranging the Mayfield Falls trip and letting Jermaine take us to Half Moon Beach. Matt, did you ever set up that Facebook page?
We cannot end this review without thanking Dan and Sue, the owners, whose love of Jamaica, and vision for the future, led to the establishment of this wonderful haven.
We were lucky to meet you both at the start of our stay, along with your friends, Eva and Susie, and especially their son-in law, Ricky. Who knows, maybe next time, we’ll meet you again?

I realize that, apart from breaking our long-held rule - that we never go back to the same place, I am already looking forward to our next trip ! We have fallen deeply in love with the Westender Inn.
Try it. You will too!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padurafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed at the Westender Inn from March 5 - March 12, 2011. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is exceptional and the views are picture-perfect. Thanks to everyone who make our stay so much fun: Keith, Carla, Jermaine, Natty, Kemar, Nadine, Kevin, Karen, Kennisha, plus anyone I might have missed. Also great was Nelson, our narrator who filled our drive from the Montego Bay airport to Negril with information, history of the area, and fun. Be warned...if you're looking for a place with non-stop entertainment, this is not the place for you! But if you're looking for a place where you can relax and sit on the porch and take in the ocean views, don't go anywhere else. You'll not only be on a first name basis with the staff, you'll get to know most all the other guests while you're there. And don't miss the meals at Westie's Restaurant. Great food prepared fresh every day, always served with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimTSouthernIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

We have travelled to several destinations in the Caribbean and stayed at some beautiful all-inclusive 5 star resorts. I was determined to find something less commercial, casual and more relaxing. We are not big on nightly shows and daily activities and enjoy to do our own thing. The Westender was all that and more. Beautiful, secluded location. Well kept property and buildings and best of all the most amazing, friendly, staff you could ask for. They take you under their wing and you really don't have anything to worry about. For rooms that have a fridge, you can take the shuttle, driven by Germaine to take you to the Hi-Lo grocery store where you can get pretty well anything you can at home including your beer and liquor. Everything at the Inn and the grocery store can be put on your credit card. You will need cash, preferably a mix of USD and J's for all the local stuff. The shuttle runs hourly and it takes about 10 min. to town or 15 min. to the 7 mile beach. Our log suite was beautiful. The bed was comfy and the balcony was awesome. Listening to the sea pounding on the rocks was heavenly.
The odd person snorkeled in front when the sea was more calm. We prefered the sea pool and swimming pool to cool down and hang out around. Westie's restaurant has great food. I truly enjoyed the escoveitched fish, ackee and salt fish, garlic lobster and stuffed chicken. It's not unusual for Keith or one of the staff to sit and chat with you at the dining table before or after you dine. They are all very respectful and super friendly.
Some of the guests organized a day trip to Mayfield Falls through the Inn. It was fabulous. Our guides Chicken Lester and Sean were the best. We also went horse back riding at the Animal Farm and swam with the horses in the sea. Our guide, I think Xavier? took amazing photos with our camera that we will always cherish and the owner Paul even let us use his cell phone to call Canada. I had a hot stone massage by Michelle at Jackie's on the Reef. Literally to die for!! Saw Luciano (Raggae performance) at Negril Escape. So much fun!! The folks at the Inn take care of everything. The Sunday night bonfire and feast are great. The staff even arranged a special sky lantern send off for us the night before we left. They make you feel so welcome and special.
We can't wait to go back next year. Ya never know, maybe even this year.
The very biggest thank you to all of you at the West Ender. Keith, the manager. The beautiful gals in the office, Carla and Temisha. You girls rock!!! The smiling, singing bartender/waiter and sometimes even cook, Kemar. Also beautiful Nadine and baby girl Kenisha. The great chefs, Rays, Natty and Mr. Right. A big thank you to all the staff that keep the property meticulous, Kevin, Kelvin, Omar. The gate guys that keep everybody safe throughout the night. The lovely ladies that kept our room stylin, Karine, Jessica and Winsome. Germaine, our shuttle driver and protector, you da man!! Thank you so much to Ricki for showing us the ropes to obtain the supplies we wanted and taking such great care of us. Driver Keith who picked us up from the airport and also Nelson whom I'm sure is the best history and geography teacher in the area, for the return trip.
To sum it up. The most laid back, relaxing vacation anyone could ask for. We love and miss you guys already. Wish we could move to Negril!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reliabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

My husband and I spent the last week of February at the Westender. Having selected this hotel through Trip Advisor comments, we had never visited Jamaica before and were a little tentative. Our week with the Westender staff and in Jamaica was wonderful - friendly, gracious people, beautiiful weather (no bugs and sea breeze in this location). The attitude was respectful privacy - it is a la carte so service is great, food as well and no planned events or harsh music.

My husband is a busy tourism professional in Canada and this is just what we were looking for to unplug.

Thanks to Keith and all for running a great hotel and being so gracious to us.

J & J
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Westender Inn in February for a week. The staff were friendly and polite, which made us feel very welcome from day one.
Our room was #3. The view was spectacular. Porch had a hammock, a table and two chairs. We had our breakfast there every day and enjoyed a nap on the hammock. Please be aware that some rooms did not have any hammocks or patio furniture to sit out. We found it strange.
We snorkelled every day: some days even twice. Entering the ocean was a bit tricky; however, the waves were not the issue once you were in. We saw small rays, various fish in vibrant colours, and many sea urchins. The Westender will provide snorkelling gear.
The food at the inn was great. It was a bit on the pricy side for our liking. Nevertheless, we particularly enjoyed their jerked pork with rice and peas. Their rice and peas was the best we had in Negril.
The location was rather isolated but we never felt deprived of what the other parts of Negril offered, thanks to the shuttle service. Jermaine picked us up anywhere in Negril (I mean ANYWHERE). The last shuttle back from Negril was 8:30 pm – just in time for the great bon fire.
All in all we had a fantastic time. We thank everyone at the Westender Inn: particularly, Keith, Gary, Nadine, and Jermaine. Nelson provided us an informative drive back to the airport. We would not hesitate recommending the Westender Inn for anyone seeking a quiet ocean front paradise in Negril.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at the Westender. We found the room was clean, though it seemed a bit small at first. The view from our balcony over the ocean was outstanding and the sunsets were unbelievable. We shared the balcony with another room which was ok as they were nice people. It may have been awkward and troublesome if they were loud or otherwise obnoxious. However, we liked both couples who occupied the adjoining room. The staff was great, especially Jermaine, who shuttled us back and forth to restaurants and the beach in the van, Kumar and Kaneesha, who took good care of us in the bar and the restaurant, and Keith, Nadine, Winsome and all the others whom we had contact with. This staff is very good and attentive. We did, however, tell the front desk that our sink had no hot water on our first day and it was never fixed during our 6 night stay. However, as we heard a lot, no problem mon! It was not a big deal at all. The grounds are quite pretty and very private. Swimming is tough off the beach as the waves were a bit rough. It is a good ten minutes to decent restaurants and a little more to the 7 mile beach. The inn shuttle leaves every hour on the hour and returns on the half hour. We enjoyed day trips to Mayfield Falls and Half Moon Bay with other guests. If you want to be in Negril, but have privacy and peace and quiet, not to mention good value, this is an excellent choice. All in all it was one of our better Caribbean vacations.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eagleman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
2.7 mi away
Catcha Falling Star Gardens
3.7 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#29 of 84 in Negril
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.6 mi away
Xtabi Resort
Xtabi Resort
#31 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
3.7 mi away
Home Sweet Home Resort
Home Sweet Home Resort
#28 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.8 mi away
Firefly Beach Cottages
Firefly Beach Cottages
#35 of 84 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westender Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westender Inn

Property: Westender Inn
Address: West End Rd, Negril 03277, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#14 Spa Hotel in Negril
#23 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Westender Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westender Inn recently completed three new ocean front luxury log suites. There is something rustic yet stately about log construction and many people love the antique look with modern finishing. Come stay in one of our new ocean front luxury log suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Westender Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westender Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing