We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing wedding vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Cranston, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing wedding vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently stayed at Catcha in May and got married. We had been to Negril previously and ate dinner at Ivan's. The second we walked through the front gate for dinner we fell in love and decided the next time we go to Jamaica we would stay at Catcha! We couldn't have made a better decision!!!..The resort is amazing, the people are amazing and they made out wedding perfect!!!!! Jane did a wonderful job with every detail. Thank you Catcha and we cant wait to see you again soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank seth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    156
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
606
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I surprised my wife with a stay here in our favorite room for our 20th anniversary, and it was perfect. They served us dinner on our porch overlooking the ocean, the solitude was perfect for the occasion and the service by Karen was outstanding. Combined with a couple days 400 yards up the road and you have a perfect vacation. Only made it to the beach during the day twice in 10 days.

Just do yourself a favor and hit some of the local bars and restaurants up on the West End. Extra thanks to Mauvette and the rest of the great staff for making our big day special. Shout out to Susan and Barbara for keeping the vibe right.

Room Tip: Check out their website for pics and descriptions
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boogerlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We just returned to Catcha Falling Star to celebrate our 28th Wedding Anniversary. What they say in the reviews is true, it's a compact relaxing resort, great food, and a staff that treats you like family. No wonder we love to comeback here, it is easy to unwind here quickly. Return visits are like coming home. Easy to slip into the slower pace . Lazy days over looking spectacular sea views , cooling off in the pool, Scrabble matches under a thatched roof , excellent libations prepared by Bradley, Kevin, and Carol , while the hours drift by there is time for conversation and catching up with someone special. Nap in a Jamaican hammock, enjoy the flowers as you walk through the lush garden walkways, and great dining is always only steps away. I am already looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank IrieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

My idea of vacation is this: peaceful location out of the main tourist zones at a small report that has quality services and amenities. I like to drink my morning coffee and enjoy the quiet splendor of my location. I like quality rooms with AC and comfortable beds. I like a great Resturant on site or very close. I like to enjoy a bottle of wine or couple martinies watching the sun set on the ocean water.

Catcha Falling Star was a fantastic vacation for the wife and I to relax and just enjoy the waves, local site and sunsets.

Booked 9 months out, stayed in catcha 4 nights and coral 4 nights. Sagi lives up to the billing with its location directly on the ocean cliff wall. Room is very comfortable, has wall AC unit to keep cool at night. The outdoor shower was a nice plus to jump in throughout the day to cool off. It just feels so good in the open air with a view of the ocean, fresh smell of soap and a good hair wash under the sky. The porch and hammock are A+ viewing for the evening arrival of the party boats to ricks cafe. Fun to watch them come and go from 4 to 9 pm. Great music at ricks that Fran be heard nicely from the porch. Not too loud but enough to enjoy. Sagi is on the water so you do get the joys of the waves crashing into the cliffs, and that means at night too. It was enjoyable for me to sleep to he sound of the waves, but if you need silence to sleep...maybe not the room for you. Coral was the next 4 days and also loved this room. It is off the water and amazing how the sounds of the crashing waves go away only 60 ft away from the cliff wall. Room had great AC, bed and very nice porch that had couch, lounge chairs in covered area. Very comfortable room and quieter if needed.

We had Wayne pick us up and return to airport as arrange by catcha. 80 bills each way but worth the service for sure if not renting car. Wayne can stop by the store on the way in to pick up any need room snacks or light beverages. Rooms have small fridge that served it purpose very well!!!

We took local red plate taxi as needed. 500 Jamaican to 7mile beach, I usually hand driver money up front so no barter on arrival ....ask how much to location before entering cab. Cabs all over negril, pick hone ip in 60 sec standing on street.

Ivans is very good, we ate on site many times and it is one of the best in town for overall food, service, location, sunset, and ambiance. Very relaxing and food is good and prices are in line. Wife and I tend to do app, split diner, and follow up with shared dessert..

We also walked to just natural twice and had enjoyable breakfast. 20 min walk in am just past lighthouse. Very unique and earth friendly setting that deserves a visit.

Push cart was very nice as well- diner locations 4 min cab ride away.

Snorkle excursion with Vincent was one of the best. Ask front desk or lifeguard to schedule. Small local boat to great reef, good gear, and they swim with you and guide and show you many marine life items up you would pass over on your own. 25-30 per person for a great half day morning snorkle trip.

Ricks cafe is next door, 30 sec walk up the road. Go on over and watch them take the dive off th cliffs... Fun to watch or take the plunge yourself if desired. Food- not so much worth it for me...one of biggest tourist locations so beer and food more that elsewhere.

7 mile beach is easy 10 min taxi drive, we went two times and walked up and down the water line in the am....lunch on beach and then back to the comfort of the catcha cliffs. Yes-- expect venders and endless people asking to sell you a-z - Ganga - to magic mushrooms... Welcome to the local flavor, shop or not, talk or not, say no thank you, respect mon,... Nobody made us feel unsafe, just a lot of folks looking to make a dollar some how. We did not walk around at night I would add, took cabs at night.

4 ATMs in town center.... Bring cash or hit arm early. Found most locals wanted to be tipped in cash vary badly. Tip on CC bill not appreciated would be my input.

What catcha is not: nightlife central!!! If your looking for raging party and looking to get your wild grove on after the sun goes down, keep looking.

Catcha is a great resort for peaceful unwinding and easy days. No fighting for a spot on the beach, no fighting for a longer chair, no waiting in line.

Looking forward to return visits to catcha.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
10 Thank davej1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Went there for honeymoon and all rave reviews are spot on! Just got home and cant wait to get back. If you want to unwind and completely get away from it all then come here. Ivan's was so damn good!!! Every meal was beyond great! Book it... Now!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frankey4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I have visited Negril Jamaica every year except 1 for our anniversary. We normally stay on the Negril Beaches but last year we added a stay at Catcha. Great staff, location is breathtaking on the cliffs, local foods in walking distance. We love it. We plan to return in September. Hope to see everyone there!

CamnPam

Room Tip: There is no Fitness Center per say but you can get a lot of exercise swimming in the waters after ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CamnPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I found Catcha Falling Star about four years ago after visiting the resort to have dinner and watch the sunset. We have stayed at there three to four times a year now. We call it our home away from home and feel like family there. The resort only has seventeen rooms so it a very relaxing and quiet place to vacation. Eight of the rooms are individual villas, so you feel you have your own special place. The resort doesn't allow children there under fifteen years of age because it is located on the cliffs. This is one of the perks for us since most places allow children except a few of the all-inclusives. The resort has gorgeous views and beautiful gardens. All three meals are served at Catcha and you will find no complaints with the food. Taste is always great and reasonable prices. You can seat in an open-air style restaurant and eat breakfast.while looking at the beautiful Carribbean ocean and sometimes even spot dolphins as they swim by. The restaurant is only open to the public for dinner. It is a beautiful setting to watch the sunset on the cliffs, then at dark everything is candlelight. It can be a very romantic place to spend and evening with drinks and a nice meal also the cocktails are so good. Ask for a table off to itself and have a very special night. So the resort is a great property and at a great location, the food is really good, and all the people that work on propery are great. From the time you check in at the office, guys carrying your luggage to your room, the servers, maids to the security guard that opens the gate for you are all so pleasant and helpful. You will be exchanging stories with them . There is no beach there, but they will make arrangements for you at a resort on the beach for a few hours or a day, just ask. There are also a small grocery store right across the street and many places you can even walk to try different food choices. The famous Rick's Cafe is right next door to Catcha. You can sit out and watch the boats bringing the people in every afternoon or take a short walk over and watch the divers. I could go on forever about this resort. Just take my word and if you are going to Negril check out Catcha Falling Star. If you already have reservations at another resort this year at least go to Ivan's Bar and Restaurant at Catcha to eat.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jgiljamm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#5 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#4 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing