We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“My home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed at Catcha twice and it feels like my home away from home. The staff are amazing and feel like family- they remembered my husband and I from our first trip and it was fun to catch up with everyone. We stayed in the Sagittarius which is my favorite lodging on the resort. It is private and has the most spectacular view of the sea. The living/dining area of the room are on the porch and is the perfect spot to hang out and you can order room service if you wish. The room does have AC but I much prefer to leave the shutters open and hear the crashing of the waves on the cliffs. The atmosphere at Catcha is laid back and comfortable. During our stay there was a small wedding and the entire resort was booked, but it never felt cramped or crowded. There are plenty of beach chairs and private spots to lounge all day while reading a book or sipping a cocktail from the bar. The other guests have always been friendly, but there is no pressure to socialize if you choose not to. If you are feeling adventurous, you can dive from the cliffs, but I prefer to float in a small private swimming cove. There is a lifeguard on duty and he'll even go snorkeling with you if you are interested- the resort has snorkeling gear for guests to use. The saltwater pool is another perfect lounging spot and they have a cliffside hot tub which is great after the sun goes down. The gardens are meticulous and lush and provide a great deal of privacy for many of the guest rooms. The front office is very helpful in providing directions, arranging transportation and answering any questions you might have. If you are interested in arranging an excursion, you can't go wrong with Dandy- he works for Catcha and can generally be found there in the mornings. We've gone on excursions to YS Falls, Pelican Bar, Black River, Appleton Rum Factory, but Dandy is happy and willing to take you wherever you're interested in going. Catcha is an amazing resort- small, cozy and friendly you won't find a better view, better food or friendlier staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    157
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
104
609
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The nicest, most accommodating staff we have ever encountered. The grounds are lush with exploding flowers, palms and bougainvillea's. Every time I saw a catamaran go by, I felt so lucky that we were staying at Catcha. The cove is great for snorkeling, and the views are magnificent. It will be very hard to travel anywhere else now that we have stayed here.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are air conditioned, but our friends said it did not bother them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachlovers1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had no problem emailing back and forth for information and general inquires.
The staff was more than helpful..
Not only were we able to make a reservation but at the same time made a dinner reservation at Ivan's...Where the view is spectacular and the food is great...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedso64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband Shawn and I were married at Catcha Falling Star in July 2013. Andrea and Mauvette helped to make all of the arrangements for the wedding, mainly through email, and they were always prompt in responding to questions and requests. We had 50 guests and many of those guests stayed on the property through the weekend. Ivan's staff was very friendly and the food was quite good. Our wedding took place on the cliffs and the weather could not have been better. The reception was a blast, from the MC, to the DJ, to the food & cooks, to the servers, to the bartenders, to the decorations... In short, the staff was phenomenal and the location utterly stunning. We highly recommend Catcha Falling Star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just returned from CFS and let me say that place is wonderful. We had originally booked the Pisces room (which is a great value with its amazing outdoor shower) but due to the air conditioner going out we were able to arrange an upgrade to the sky cottage. Omg the sky and coral cottages which are the newest editions are awesome. The view is breathtaking. IMO the coral cottage on the bottom is a little better b/c it has a wraparound porch. However hands down the Sagittarius cottage is the best one there. You will not find better hospitality than what they provide at CFS. Try the Banana Pancakes for breakfast and the calypso trio for lunch. My mouth is watering thinking about it. Can't wait to come back. Wish I was still there.
Rebekah Hudson

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RueAndBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Again I have visited Negril, Jamaica and have stayed with this hotel for the third time now, and all I can say is that is was great the first time, but somehow it keeps on getting better! Love the staff and their excellent fare at the Ivan's Bar! Definitely worth every penny and will be going back! The property is so beautiful with lush gardening and tropical plants growing all over and is simply stunning. Just a few properties before you reach Rick's with the legendary sunset views, Catcha is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlawtitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from Catcha on 8/31 after 6 wonderful nights! I have to admit we got off to a somewhat "rocky" start. First of all, I'm not sure if it was the time of day and no one was on duty but we had to carry our own bags to our room (up a flight of stairs). We booked Aries and when we arrived, we found the living room area to be incredibly hot, then after being in the room 10 minutes, the toilet malfunctioned when flushed and water seeped out from under it. The staff was very apologetic and we were moved to Gemini II. It was way too small for our taste, but we were told that either the toilet in Aries would be fixed or we could move to another room. The next day, to our total delight, we were moved to Coral Cottage. This place is magnificent!! In my opinion, it is the ONLY choice. The view is phenomenal, the large verandah is fantastic, and because it is one room, the air conditioner is super-effective. The room was impeccable in terms of cleanliness, the staff was incredibly friendly, called us by name and always went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied, the grounds were beautiful. I could go on! The food was good, especially breakfast (although the coffee wasn't quite as good as most Jamaican Blue Mountain types I've tasted). Overall great time - I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Coral Cottage is perfect in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#5 of 85 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing