We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Making a Reservation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Making a Reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had no problem emailing back and forth for information and general inquires.
The staff was more than helpful..
Not only were we able to make a reservation but at the same time made a dinner reservation at Ivan's...Where the view is spectacular and the food is great...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedso64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    146
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
590
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband Shawn and I were married at Catcha Falling Star in July 2013. Andrea and Mauvette helped to make all of the arrangements for the wedding, mainly through email, and they were always prompt in responding to questions and requests. We had 50 guests and many of those guests stayed on the property through the weekend. Ivan's staff was very friendly and the food was quite good. Our wedding took place on the cliffs and the weather could not have been better. The reception was a blast, from the MC, to the DJ, to the food & cooks, to the servers, to the bartenders, to the decorations... In short, the staff was phenomenal and the location utterly stunning. We highly recommend Catcha Falling Star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We just returned from CFS and let me say that place is wonderful. We had originally booked the Pisces room (which is a great value with its amazing outdoor shower) but due to the air conditioner going out we were able to arrange an upgrade to the sky cottage. Omg the sky and coral cottages which are the newest editions are awesome. The view is breathtaking. IMO the coral cottage on the bottom is a little better b/c it has a wraparound porch. However hands down the Sagittarius cottage is the best one there. You will not find better hospitality than what they provide at CFS. Try the Banana Pancakes for breakfast and the calypso trio for lunch. My mouth is watering thinking about it. Can't wait to come back. Wish I was still there.
Rebekah Hudson

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RueAndBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Again I have visited Negril, Jamaica and have stayed with this hotel for the third time now, and all I can say is that is was great the first time, but somehow it keeps on getting better! Love the staff and their excellent fare at the Ivan's Bar! Definitely worth every penny and will be going back! The property is so beautiful with lush gardening and tropical plants growing all over and is simply stunning. Just a few properties before you reach Rick's with the legendary sunset views, Catcha is absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amlawtitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from Catcha on 8/31 after 6 wonderful nights! I have to admit we got off to a somewhat "rocky" start. First of all, I'm not sure if it was the time of day and no one was on duty but we had to carry our own bags to our room (up a flight of stairs). We booked Aries and when we arrived, we found the living room area to be incredibly hot, then after being in the room 10 minutes, the toilet malfunctioned when flushed and water seeped out from under it. The staff was very apologetic and we were moved to Gemini II. It was way too small for our taste, but we were told that either the toilet in Aries would be fixed or we could move to another room. The next day, to our total delight, we were moved to Coral Cottage. This place is magnificent!! In my opinion, it is the ONLY choice. The view is phenomenal, the large verandah is fantastic, and because it is one room, the air conditioner is super-effective. The room was impeccable in terms of cleanliness, the staff was incredibly friendly, called us by name and always went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied, the grounds were beautiful. I could go on! The food was good, especially breakfast (although the coffee wasn't quite as good as most Jamaican Blue Mountain types I've tasted). Overall great time - I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Coral Cottage is perfect in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2011 and I have nothing bad to say about the staff or or the property. We initially were checked in to an upstairs room, in the newer building, which I believe was Aries for two nights until our our ultimate destination, Libra was available. While the Libra room could have used a significant upgrade at the time, I could not argue that the location or the property could be better as it could not. It was an awesome experience and should I return to Jamaica, I would stay here again in a heart beat. Thanks to everyone and especially Wayne who served as our guide into the Jamaica back county and as the penultimate guide.

Room Tip: Libra was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKNY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Catcha Falling Star for the third time, our yearly trip, in March/April. As always everyone was friendly, helpful and hospitable. It's like going to visit family: Wayne, Marvette, Andrea, Carol, Karen, Keneisha, Nicolette and others that made our stay a great delight. We love the location in Negril on the cliffs which is down the road from the Caves Resort and near Tensing Pen. It's walking distance to great food places: 3 Dives (for lobster), Sips and Bits, LTU Pub and more but of course our favorite place is Ivan's Bar at Catcha. We love to have lunch on our porch with a view of the Caribbean sea or take a taxi or walk to nearby eating places. It's a long but pleasant walk or taxi drive to 7 mile beach where there's lots to do and eat. There's event a Margaritaville. Walking is safe and pleasant but we had to say "no thanks" a lot more this time than before... We like this location because the store is right across the street where we can buy water and stuff. There's a big market in town/downtown Negril, near the beach. We have been to YS Falls, the Black River, the Light House, craft's markets, vegetable markets and other places/tours but its just nice to stay at the resort and listen to music, and watch all the boats come into the cove visiting famous "Rick's Cafe" a few resorts away but in view from our cottage porch, Sagittarius. Catcha Falling Star is a wonderful place to stay. Thank you Catcha Falling Star for another great vacation!

Room Tip: The Sagittarius Cottage is very private but next to the bar which can be a little loud sometimes but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sumbaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing