We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you not love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This year we opted for a stay at Catcha Falling Star and could not have been more pleased. Every bit of the property is well maintained and well cared for.

We stayed in Gemini I. The room was just a bit on the small side but yet very adequate and the lovely porch with an ocean view was appreciated. The only snag we encountered during our stay was an air conditioning unit that wasn't quite performing very well. We notified the office of the problem and within 2 hours we had a brand new air conditioning unit installed. That was great service.

The staff were all so friendly and eager to take care of your needs. The food and drinks were great and the colorful grounds well cared for. It was truly a garden paradise with great views and lots of cozy hideaways for relaxing.

We visited Rick's which is practically next door, had a pleasant meal at LTU and visited the Seastar Inn for the Saturday nite buffet and Seastar Drummers show.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justchuckfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

On our last night at Catcha and sad to leave! Beautiful setting, really wonderful staff, delicious meals, and a great place to relax. We thought about staying in Montego Bay, or on Seven-Mile beach at one of the big resorts. So glad we didn't. Staying here was so relaxing, and the view on the cliffs is unmatched. All of the staff was wonderful, including Carol, Jadea, Ardea, George, and Mauvette. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The pics are amazing but real. We stayed here in late May 2013. This place is as advertised and as reviewed by others. Staffed by nice, competent people (now including a lifeguard after the tragedy you'll read about in other reviews). We especially liked the friendly vibe that included both the other guests and staff. We met and had nice conversations with a lot of people, though I suppose you could avoid that if you wish to. If you are looking at this place then you probably want something a little different from a standard hotel, and this is different and more informal feeling than even some of the other cliff hotels we visited (e.g., Rock House, which also seems very nice but in a different way). That might be a minus for a few people, but we loved it. Let me reassure you that informal does not mean 'disorganized' - the place is clean and well cared for. You will feel relaxed and you will feel like a guest. The only minus I can really think of is that the road that connects all of these cliff hotels to the town and beach area is not very safe to walk because it is narrow and twisty, there is little room to walk in spots, and cars take the blind curves pretty fast. You'll probably want to take cabs (which are easy to come by) if you are going any real distance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank academytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed at this lovely, gated, intimate,private spot 4x and it is worth every penny. Cliffside with a perfect view of the water at a relaxed safe place. The staff are wonderful and the bar staff are the best. There are so many romantic nooks and crannys where you can tuck in with your special someone with a drink from the Ivan bar. Reggae music gently wafts throughout the property and at night, the lighting sets the mood. We have only stayed in the a/c suites which faced the water. we enjoyed the tasty though rather pricey meals, especially breakfast on the porch. there was a resident white cat that would join us unobtrusively w hich was so sweet. you are within walking or cheap taxi distance to other locations which have live entertainment. you are not far from Ric's Cafe or the supercool Sun Beach where you can chill all day and people watch, swim or jetski to your hearts content. you can also get private spa services or go to Hedonism just for the super spa services. Luv it!!!!

Room Tip: ask for cliffside upper suites with ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gigi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently my wife Peggy and I had the opportunity to stay at Catcha Falling Star. We stayed in the Aires Suite that has an amaizing view of the property and water. The staff was very friendly and made us feel special and the food (jerked conch) was to die for. A very special treat was a massage by OYA. We are seasoned when it comes to massage and she is now on top of our list. Her hands are amaizing and her knowledge is exceptional. Do yourself a favor, stay at CATCHA and schedule a massage with OYA. You won't be disappointed. We are looking forward to our next trip to Jamaica and our stay at CATCHA!

Room Tip: "Aires has an amaizing view of the property and water"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALLEN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was our 3rd time at Catcha and we still love it. We got to stay in the new "Coral" suite and it was the best!! Staff is still awesome and the food still good. My only criticism would be that your drink may or may not be good depending on who makes it. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carla_Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place is beautiful. We stayed in the Libra room and our views were amazing in the day with the clear water and at night with the starry sky. Great place to watch the sunset from and also for enjoying a nice, romantic dinner during sunset. There is great snorkeling right off of the hotels cliffs, it definitely made the experience even better. We saw parrot fish among an array of small fish, a small stingray, seastars, tons of urchins and other beautiful things right off of the hotel cliffs where you can enter the water. The staff was also very nice and the food at their restaurant, Ivan's, very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.6 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#3 of 80 in Negril
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 80 in Negril
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Samsara Cliffs Resort
Samsara Cliffs Resort
#30 of 80 in Negril
1,379 reviews
3.6 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#9 of 80 in Negril
1,171 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#6 of 80 in Negril
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range: $109 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing