We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Consistently great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was my second visit to Catcha this year and this trip was just as solid as the last one. The entire staff is great, the place is just gorgeous, and I know I'll be back at a later date. The food at Ivan's the onsite restaurant/bar is top notch and hard to beat. If you have any special request just let Garfield the onsite chef know and he'll take good care of you.
The owners here understand how to service the customer and to make sure that your stay is top notch. The bar at night is a good time and the staff is a lot of fun. Once you go, you'll know. And if you just want to hang with your honey and stay on property, this is a great place to do it with no hassle.

Room Tip: Sagi and Libra are closest to the water. Try and get a room with AC as well, because not all of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boogerlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    154
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
600
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

The place was great. We stayed there for the second week of our honeymoon. On the west end of Jamaica, you see the most beautiful sunsets. We stayed in the “Sagi”, which is probably one of the best rooms on the property. Our front door was right on the edges of the Cliff. We could jump into the water from our patio. The property is very private and you can see the over crowed Rich’s bar further west from the property. The Staff is fantastic, so tip well. The Food was AMAZING, some of the best food I have ever had. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all delicious. Candle lit dinners after sunset were romantic. The restaurant dinning is also at the edge of the cliffs. The drinks at the Bar were also good, the “Fruit Punch” provided for many good nights. Our room and bathroom were kept clean and tidy. The Sagi is right next to the bar and restaurant. The only issue was the A/C, which did not seem to work that well, but by the third night we were acclimated. We rarely left the property. If you are looking for a laid back, non-traditional, intimate setting with beautiful sunsets and amazing food this is the place. If you are looking for the crowed, 24hr service, typical tourist resort, go elsewhere. Also, seven-mile beach is not close by; we welcomed the change of scenery of the Cliffs after being in Montego Bay for a week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TabsC_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Very nice property with great views. Right on the cliffs, which allows you to swim directly in the sea water. Food is good. The room we were in did not have air conditioning, which made it uncomfortable at night. The only downside to the location is that you have to take a taxi to the beach - which is 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

great vacation!!!! wonderful staff, rooms/cottages well kept and clean, beautiful grounds (flowers, plants, etc.) but best of all the FOOD- best food in Jamaica hands down!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I went on a much needed vacation after my graduation. I am NEVER the kind of person who spends a day at the hotel. I'm always up and about and running around. Well, not at Catcha! We spent more than one day just lounging on the property, reading on the various beds/chairs positioned on the cliffs and napping by the ocean breeze! Mauvette and Andrea are two of the most wonderful women you can find on the island, hands down. You need it, they'll get it- period! The rooms are comfortable, the property is immaculately maintained, and the view is absolutely amazing. I even got the nerve to jump off a cliff! From arrival to departure, Catcha was the best experience I've ever had. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lnperez83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Catcha Falling Star for just under a week during August 2011. Immediately upon arriving we were struck by how beautiful the grounds were, with ripe ackee fruit hanging from the trees overhead. The hotel area is very well maintained, especially considering the resort has been devastated by storms in recent years.

We stayed in the Aries suite, which is on the second floor and to the left (if you're looking at the front) of a small townhouse type building. We spent the majority of our time in the room out on the balcony, which had a spectacular view of the Caribbean. The suite was ridiculously spacious, with a large refrigerator and a kitchen area, a living room, bed room, and bathroom with two sinks. The air conditioner in the bedroom was a welcome relief because the airflow in the living area was limited. The steady sea breeze kept outside surprising cool for the season, though. There was a TV in the bedroom with plenty of channels and free wireless (the connection was rather spotty, but who cares, you're not in Jamaica to answer email!).

We had never been to the cliffs in Negril before, so at first we found the seaside area to be unusual. No place to wade into the water? But after one afternoon lounging at Catcha we were hooked. There are many private nooks set on the cliff edges with their own lounge chairs and thatched umbrellas. Most of the areas are so isolated that we felt as though you have the resort all to yourself. There is a lovely little cove to the side where you can jump right in off the cliffs and ladders to climb back out. We had a great time leaping off of the three jumping points they had - the tallest one was particularly exciting (though not nearly as tall as the one next door at Rick's!). Again, it was like having our own private Caribean cove to swim in.

The hotel staff was friendly at every point, and the drinks and food at Ivan's restaurant were all top notch. If I had to dig to find a fault with Catcha, it would be that its a decent hike down the narrow West End Road (no sidewalks!) to get to nearby restaurants. Fortunately there was always a taxi driver to take us where we needed to go - it was about $5 to go elsewhere on the cliffs, $10 to get to 7 Mile Beach, and $70 to Montego Bay (for the airport, get a shuttle service instead). The convenience store directly across the street from the front gates had everything we needed during our stay.

I'm already dreaming of my next stay here. Big up to tripadvisor for the awesome last minute deal!

Room Tip: The Gatehouse Cottage and Little Capricorn seemed a bit tucked out of the way, but I don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank videoordvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We just spent the long labor day weekend at Catcha and had a great time. The staff is exceedingly friendly (they all take the time to ask and remember your name), the food is delicious (try "sour sop juice", can't get that in the states and it is fantastic, somewhat like a virgin Pina Colada, but all-natural and from a single fruit), and the suites are exceedingly large and very clean. A smallish pool, but you can augment that with very swimmable private cove near the cliffs and caves (good snorkling). Great value for the money, you can stay at swankier places but why? Catcha has it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in Aquarius and it was large, clean, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acheyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.9 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#5 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,348 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing