We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Me Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catcha Falling Star

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catcha Falling Star
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Take Me Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

If you have taking the time to read a ton of reviews about this place you really do not need to read mine to gain additional insight. The place is all it is said to be, and more. The wife and I stayed for a week and wish we had booked for two. Everyone on the staff is great, the owner is great and seemed genuinely interested in everyone's feedback.
You can venture off the property and visit some cool places within walking distance. Just do me a favor at night and be careful. Stick to the side of the road and stay aware. The road is fairly narrow. Honestly though it was extremely difficult to leave.
I have traveled all over the world and have yet to find a property and intriguing as this. You literally could spend hours walking around taking in all the details, and it is not that big of a place. I have seen mixed reviews about the comfort of the beds. It was a little firmer than my bed at home, however I haven't slept this well in a long time.
If your style is pure relaxation with as much or as little contact with the other guest is your fit, than stay here. Seriously, I really cannot put the magic of this place into words. If you need action, go elsewhere.
Ivan's at night is a great time and the whole staff gets involved in the fun. Singing, dancing, and smiles abound. Order up a Purple Rain and drink it for me. It seats roughly 12 people around the bar, with additional comfy seating right behind. It was all couples I believe the whole time of all ages.
If you like to cliff jump this is also the place for you. I would say you have heights from 4 to 30 ft to chose from, just a rough guess. If you are looking for Great Barrier Reef snorkeling you will be at a loss. They do have some stuff to see, it's just not in great abundance. You can take a short trip with one of the several boats who cruises by during the day to see some better snorkeling. The world famous Rick's is just two properties down, so you have the same view as the herds of folks over there.
The onsite restaurant is currently rated #1 on Tripadvisor. Go there and eat and if staying on property you can take the few steps down to the restaurant/bar and place your order. Let them know where you plan to be and they will bring it to you. A lounger, your room, an alcove, a table, whatever wherever NO PROBLEM MON.
The pool is nice for a quick dip or if the seas pick up. Our entire week the sea was swimable.

Room Tip: Plan a long time ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boogerlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    146
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
590
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jackson hole, WY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Great property since renovation, staff is mostly gracious, helpful and friendly. There is a bit of smell of trash at places on the property, and we did have a negative experience trying to get some change at the bar. Wifi service is spotty at best and parking can be tight. All in all a very nice, clean resort.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shefwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

I had an amazing vacation at Catcha. The grounds are beautiful and very well-maintained. I stayed in Gemini II and Libra and both rooms were cozy, comfortable and clean. The staff was lovely and the food from the restaurant was fantastic. I can't wait to return with my husband!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soleil7424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at Catcha in August of 2010 and fell in love with its charm. We came back this April (2011) and were welcomed home. Despite a tropical storm in the fall of 2010 that stripped the resort of some of their foliage, they have made a wonderful comeback. Intimate, charming, peaceful, but still packed with things to do. We love the cliffside location for the beautiful swimming and snorkeling around the private cove, with accommodating captains showing up daily for spear fishing or reef snorkeling trips. We stayed in the Sun, with its majestic views and wonderfully spacious feel. Our bed was a little firm for us, but not a single other thing could be faulted. As noted by a few other travelers, they do have a VOiP phone available for free long distance calls back to the States (which made calling our children simply a breeze).

Ivan's Bar and Restaurant is one of the best in Negril. We had every intention of trying all the local, expensive restaurants, but honestly we kept coming back to Ivan's. The food is superb and the service exceptional. Relax, enjoy dinner at sunset on the cliffs, then move up to the bar for some late night entertainment with the staff and other guests. With such a small resort, you really meet lovely people and the opportunity to mingle is great, without feeling like an invasion of privacy.

Skip the all-inclusive, beach side cattle show... stay at Catcha instead. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

I cant say enough nice things about catcha falling star, my husband and i stayed for one night in March for his birthday and turned right around and went back and stayed two nights the very next month. The staff is very friendly and accomodating, and remembered us by name..LOL>. even though it was only a month since our last visit. We find Catcha to be very relaxing and serene. The food is good, the rooms are gorgeous and you feel as if your in your own little world when your there. We went swimming off the cliffs, in the most beautiful turquoise water ever. Initially i was afraid, for fear of not being a skilled enough swimmer to manage the sea but i got in and managed fine...lol.. I have traveled to JA for at least three years, back to back as my husband is a jamaican citizen and we have stayed in All inclusives, we have stayed in villas, we have stayed beach side, from Ochi, to Mobay to Negril, and NONE of them have been as NICE and relaxing as CATCHA FALLING STAR..my husband has decided when we come home to JA, and we need a break, this is his number one choice of where to stay. I will advise to anyone reading this review that if you decide this is where u want to stay, make sure to book early as the cottages are hard to come by, because everyone wants to stay here. We just left catcha 2 weeks ago and already were trying to figure out when we will be back...JULY soon come, who knows....LOL

Room Tip: BOOK EARLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

We have been to Jamaica 30 times ( mostly Negril) . This hotel is simply the best, from the hotel itself to the staff, unbeatable!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ecky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 5 days for our honeymoon in early April 2011. The reviews of this place do not lie. Rooms are perfect and well kept up; very clean. The landscaping and general layout of the entire resort is amazingly beautiful, if you can't relax here you have some serious issues. The entire staff of servers and bartenders knew you on a first name basis by your second day there and could not have been more courteous and engaging. It took us being there only 2 hours to already start re-planning our next trip back. If you are staying in Negril this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loudog219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tensing Pen Resort
Tensing Pen Resort
#4 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#6 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 84 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
6.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catcha Falling Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catcha Falling Star

Property: Catcha Falling Star
Address: West End Road | PO Box 3022, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#3 Business Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many places to stay in Negril, Jamaica on the cliffs... ...but where else will you be pampered at a cliff property unlike any other on the planet... Catcha Falling Star Resort on the Negril Cliffs...Our lovely little Negril cliff resort property overlooks the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Catcha Falling Star is truly the "Gem of Jamaica". Nestled among the tops of the Negril cliffs of the West End with a spectacular view of the sea below will make you want to "linger longer" in Negril, Jamaica! These seaside cliff cottages capture the true essence and ambiance of Jamaica. Now yours to discover. . . A priceless experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Catcha Falling Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catcha Falling Star Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing