We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place for years!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idle Awhile The Beach
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We always split our trip between the cliffs and beach. Although, we have stayed at several different places on the cliffs, we never stay anywhere but IA while on the beach. The staff has become like a second family to us and always make us feel welcome year after year. The grounds are kept immaculate by Eric and he takes great pride in his work. Ask him to show you where the humming bird has made her nest that year. Karim, who works in the office, is always willing to help with whatever you might need and the staff at bar and restaurant, Sonia, Jenny, Carlton, King and Jermaine give great customer service. My only negative comment would be about a certain vendor who goes by the name "Flower" or "Berry". He hangs around the area and feels like it is his job to chase away the dogs that might come along looking for a drink of water or a morsel of food. Every year I have an issue with him but this is not any fault of Idle Awhile and I would never stop coming there because of him. Just hoping he will find some compassion in his heart towards these dogs who just want someone to friend them.

Room Tip: Every room has something unique about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tailwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    87
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
53
212
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Negril beach can get very hectic and you may get overwhelmed by the melting pot of tourists and beach vendors. Idle Awhile was a fantastic gem in the middle of it all and the services/amenities were unlike any other we found on the beach at a very reasonable price. Definitely would go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimboPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Idle Awhile in July. The hotel is conveniently located at the beach. The roo m were clean and lovely. It had a verandah with a huge swing.
The hotel staff was exceptional. They were super friendly and there was always a "chilled" vibe around.
We met some really nice people at the hotel who all seemed to be return visitors which just speaks volumes about the hotel staff and service.
The best part was eating breakfast ever morning with fresh chilled coconut water, hanging out at the beach right after.
It was a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumbai_Indian2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Cosy, clean, convenient. Great location on the beach. Every sunset was spectacular. I strongly recommend room service breakfast on the ground floor verandah- banana pancakes or the idle awhile special.
They didn't market as eco-friendly but they set the a/c ( and gave a pep talk about keeping the temp sensible) & we got cute reusable water bottles. Kudos for making the effort.
We were refreshed and rejuvenated. We WILL be back. :) WILL be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolynJ519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Idle Awhile and enjoyed every moment! From the time I started my inquiries with the office before booking to the friendliness of the entire staff at the resort we loved our stay and the vibe that this resort exudes and look forward to returning one day!

If you like small resorts that are upscale (boutique-hotel style) with no line ups at buffets where a 1000 other guests are lining up for food and reserving beach chairs and where a chill vibe resonates on the beach then Idle Awhile is the place to visit on the 7 miles beach.

The fact that it's not an all-inclusive allows you to discover a bit of Negril. Sometimes we ate at the resort as the food was great, but also wanted to take the opportunity to get to eat local food as well (which in the end costs us the same as if we were to have eaten on the resort, but gave us more variety). There are many options for all meals and loved the relaxed feel of just walking a few steps down the beach to discover a patty stand or being able to order a coconut or fruit from the beach vendor while laying on their comfy lawn chairs. They have the coolest set-up where their plastic beach chairs are covered with long floating cushions; both comfy and super efficient as they can be used to float in the beautiful crystal clear ocean -which is like 15 steps away!

Yes, as other reviews state, there are some sounds of nature at nighttime where you can hear the little lizards and friends sing along, but it's actually quite soothing and the grounds are so lush that you feel like you are almost in a tropical forest when you look around - it really is a special and very well maintained property.

Thank you for welcoming us and looking forward to returning again one day.
S&J

Room Tip: For the full experience I would chose the ocean view room again - second floor away from the path wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I live on the other side of the world but I have made my way to this hotel now 5 times. It is placed directly on the beautiful turquoise waters of Negril. The staff and ambience of this place is like nothing I have ever found in the world. Everytime I go there I feel like I'm going home. There are lots of great places to go and eat for dinner in the West end or you can easily stay and eat breakfast and lunch on the beach.
Negril is my most favourite place on the planet to totally detach, unwind and relax on a deck chair in the sunshine, swim, run and reconnect. I always leave feeling lighter and more peaceful and everybody that works there will make you feel like a family member rather than a guest. Just watch out for the mosquitos!

Room Tip: CHoose beach view if you can - definitely worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natashia_SoulSista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Okay, we'll start off by stating the staff at Idle A While is not only THE BEST but become your family by the end of the trip. The rooms are immaculate, air-conditioned, have TV, safe box, phones and are more than comfortable no matter what room category you choose. The property is SAFE, private and you can leave anything out in your room and not have to EVER worry about your valuables! There is security 24 hours a day. The food is delicious, fresh and cooked on site. The frozen drinks are the best on the Island (thanks to Sonia, Jenora & Carlton). There is always a driver on site to take you anywhere you want. You could not ask for a more accommodating boutique resort. The only change I would personally make, NO CHILDREN/ADULTS ONLY - and keep the Bar open until midnight.

Room Tip: I have stayed in every room category and they are ALL great! The only noise are the tree frogs and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geri Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#18 of 85 in Negril
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Idle Awhile The Villas
Idle Awhile The Villas
#3 of 48 in Negril
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#13 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Awhile The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Property: Idle Awhile The Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing