We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hide Awhile on the Cliffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idle Awhile The Beach
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hide Awhile on the Cliffs”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in the sister property of Hide Awhile. This is located on the Cliffs in the West end of Negril. The location is great if you want to get away from the hustle of the Negril Beach scene. The property is great and the staff is also. Norman and Sandrea made the experience memorable. If you want to hang out on the beach , you can take a cab, route taxi or daily shuttle to the sister property on the beach. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manfromja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    88
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
55
212
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Very great place. We spent just a few days.The room was cleane and pretty but the location was orrible: the room was directly on the main road and it was too much noise to sleep. We escape from there cause of it.

By the ways the other rooms look better the ours.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VirginioA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have come back to IdleAwhile for years.We arrive and kick off our shoes and never put them on again until we leave. Our son's were ages 3 and 7 on our first trip. It was the first vacation we had truly been able to relax. The layout of the property made it easy for our kids to be within sight at most times while we could lounge and read. The beach is immaculate and the water is shallow and calm. The restaurant is outdoors and the food is great because they use mostly local fruits and veggies. I still crave their red pea soup. We go back every chance we get. This is our ideal beach spot. One tip I have for travel to Jamaica is that the service anywhere you go is slow. So order your dinner before meltdown time, be prepared to wait anywhere you go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

It took us over an hour to find Idle Awhile (it is really in the cut, far from civilization), but once we did it was totally worth the wait. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous: so spacious, flat screens, wi-fi, big bathroom, beautiful shower, kitchenette, and the wrap around porch with the hammock was definitely my favorite spot. Lush greenery all around, beautiful pool with a view. It was so serene and picturesque. Unfortunately, I was not there with a significant other, so the romantic charm was less important than being centrally located to all the action, so we checked out early. But if I come back to Negril with a significant other, this would definitely be the place. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating even when we expressed our desire to check-out early. My only complaints would be the hot water never got really hot, there was no iron in the room, and the loud noise of the landscapers/workers in the morning made it very difficult to sleep in late. Other than that, it was a perfect, beautiful Negril retreat! I'd just say keep in mind it is a 20 - 30 minute drive to all the fun spots on Norman Manley Blvd.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LUVSNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

There's no other place on 7-mile beach quite like Idle Awhile. It is truly a classy oasis on the beach. The desk staff are excellently professional (particularly Karim). Our suite was spacious, comfortable, clean with an elegant, subtle tropical design. The living area included a daybed, which was a nice touch. The air-conditioned bedroom was the perfect place to retire to after long days in the sun. Our patio was great, too, and we spent quite a bit of time there people-watching at Chill Awhile (the hotel's restaurant and bar). We were also just a few steps from the beach, which can't be beat. The staff set our chairs out every morning in just the spot we liked. And the chair pads that doubled as comfortable floats are definitely worth mentioning.

We stayed at a supposedly more "upscale" establishment later in our trip but it couldn't hold a candle to Idle Ahile (see our review of Moondance Villas). We can't wait to return to our "island home" (Karim's nice phrase) at Idle Awhile

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Green_Flash_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's such a shame that people stay in the all-inclusive resorts like Sandals, whose money benefits the islands so little (as any islander will tell you). It's much better to stay at a locally owned hotel like Idle Awhile.

The service is perfect, and all rooms are just seconds from the beach. The restaurant and bar are good, and the beach is perfect. You can also walk along the beach to dine at any of the hotels and restaurants that also front on to it.

However, there were two drawbacks. Firstly, our bathroom walls were a couple of feet short of the ceiling (see my photo). As a result, my partner and I had to agree when one of us needed some privacy for the call of nature. So if you aren't keen to share your personal noises, this may not be for you.

Secondly, as others have noted, there are wooden louvres in some windows, rather than glass. This is conventional in traditional properties on the island. But there are times when people had conversations outside our bathroom that glass might have silenced.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms may not face the beach. More expensive suites have kitchens,
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank notsosad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have stayed at Idle Awhile a few times now over the years, and we're just back from two weeks there and I wanted to "big up" the staff for being so wonderful. From the front desk to the restaurant and bar, and of course, the security and grounds keepers.... everyone is authentically pleased to be working there and it shows. The service is great without being overbearing, the place is as spotless as a caribbean beachfront paradise can be.... and the beach is raked meticulously each morning. Towels, chairs and umbrellas are provided with a smile, and everyone is made to feel comfortably at home. We had a few nights in a deluxe room and then several nights in a one bedroom suite, I really appreciate having a kitchen when traveling with children. We love Idle Awhile, it's our first choice for non-villa accommodations in Jamaica. My only worry about posting a review is that it will become even more difficult to secure a room.... but I can see that the cat is out of the bag.... all of the guests seem thrilled with their choice to stay at Idle Awhile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank srayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#15 of 81 in Negril
635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#2 of 81 in Negril
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Idle Awhile The Villas
Idle Awhile The Villas
#2 of 48 in Negril
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Awhile The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Property: Idle Awhile The Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing