We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason it's hard to get a reservation sometimes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Idle Awhile The Beach
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
boston, ma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“There's a reason it's hard to get a reservation sometimes!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have stayed at Idle Awhile a few times now over the years, and we're just back from two weeks there and I wanted to "big up" the staff for being so wonderful. From the front desk to the restaurant and bar, and of course, the security and grounds keepers.... everyone is authentically pleased to be working there and it shows. The service is great without being overbearing, the place is as spotless as a caribbean beachfront paradise can be.... and the beach is raked meticulously each morning. Towels, chairs and umbrellas are provided with a smile, and everyone is made to feel comfortably at home. We had a few nights in a deluxe room and then several nights in a one bedroom suite, I really appreciate having a kitchen when traveling with children. We love Idle Awhile, it's our first choice for non-villa accommodations in Jamaica. My only worry about posting a review is that it will become even more difficult to secure a room.... but I can see that the cat is out of the bag.... all of the guests seem thrilled with their choice to stay at Idle Awhile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank srayburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    88
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
54
212
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I took a small trip without kids, and let me tell you, it was amazing. We often forget how special our relationship is, and this was exactly what we needed to "get our groove back." We stayed at Idle Awhile for 4 nights. The first 2 nights were in the one bedroom oceanview room, which was heaven. The last 2 nights were spent on the 2nd floor in a garden view one bedroom and it was even better than being on the 1st floor. It was so romantic. It was the off season, so Negril was not crowded at all.
The staff was great. Marcia the security guard and Gumby the grounds keepman were more than helpful. The food at Sweet Spot was the best we had. Directly across the street is Bes of de Wes jerk chicken hut and the jerk chicken was tasty.
The only downfall was expense. All excursions and extracirricular activities were so expensive. As was transportation and food were just as expensive. However, the majority of the food was soooo good.
Overall, this place was great for romance. Not busy, very laid back and intimate.

Room Tip: We experienced two different rooms and they were both equally amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHARISSE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights at Idle Awhile in a deluxe room after staying three nights on the cliffs for our honeymoon. We really enjoyed our time here. The room was spacious and clean and the resort is on the best stretch of Seven Mile Beach. There are vendors, but they didn't bother us much, and a simple "No thank you" and they're on their way. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner one night and it was delicious. My husband loved the curry chicken.

Things we loved about this hotel are that they give you free water bottles at check in and fill them up with water at the bar for free. The bed is comfortable and there is a nice patio. Everyone is very friendly and they put out beach chairs and an umbrella for you in the morning.

The only thing that wasn't perfect were the tree frogs at night, but this has nothing to do with the hotel. Just bring some earplugs!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnoxvilleTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I had a great time on our honeymoon in Jamaica. The staff at Idle Awhile was really friendly and the food was good. I ate pancakes, fresh fruit, and coffee everyday! And the jerk chicken across the street is amazing. I liked that the resort was on the beach. The windows do not have glass, so noise travels in and out along with the heat. During our stay there was a lot of construction noise for a couple of days, so that put a little damper on sleep. Overall we had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in the down stairs garden view one bedroom suite, and loved it. We travel to Negril at least once a year. This room is the first room I have ever stayed in that I hoped it would rain so I could sleep in the hamock on the patio. It did rain but my husband beat me to the hamock. The hotel is first rate as well, one of the nicest if not nicest non-inclusive hotels on the beach. We are partial to the cliffs but like the beach for a couple of days. Food at the resturant is great, and service for the beach, and resturant is also great. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AshBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Really just do not know where to begin. Awesome is the first thing that comes to mind. What a wonderful place to vacation and relax. Etta, Norman and Sandria are just great! We are already planning our next rip back to Hide Awhile. Thumbs up to this resort :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Quad 4 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mexicanmargarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed at Idle awhile in January 2012. It's a great boutique hotel on the 7 mile beach in negril. I loved the room, I had a garden view. The rooms are beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. I loved waking up and eating breakfast on the patio facing the beach. The staff was friendly and the rooms were great. I also loved the water bottle and the purified water fountain that you get upon arrival. I would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Garden view was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traceyi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#16 of 80 in Negril
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
0.1 mi away
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Idle Awhile The Villas
Idle Awhile The Villas
#3 of 49 in Negril
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idle Awhile The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idle Awhile The Beach

Property: Idle Awhile The Beach
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Idle Awhile The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Idle Awhile The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Awhile Hotel Negril

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing