We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll never find a better beach than this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul Sensatori Jamaica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azul Sensatori Jamaica
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You'll never find a better beach than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for 8 days at this resort, from 3/14-3/22. I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff is, they really couldn't be nicer or do more for their guests. We used to stay here when it was Beaches Sandy Bay and the renovations the new owners did are very impressive. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit and the accommodations were absolutely perfect and spacious. The pools they added are awesome and the swim up bar with Christina as bartender are the best addition! Restaurants were all good but we especially loved the breakfast and lunch service at The Palms - Dwight, Anthony and Marion were always there to fill our coffee cups and orange juice glasses and they were so upbeat, happy and always with a smile - we loved them! Now on to the beach....you will really be missing one of the best parts if you don 't use Stanley's Deep Sea Fishing Service for the sunset cruise! We did that twice and it was one of the best parts of our trip. Martin, Robert, Djayne (sp?) and Jacko as captain made for an extremely fun and beautiful experience - 3 hours cruising 7 mile beach with a swim to the caves was as beautiful to me as the Amalfi Coast in Italy which we just did last August - no joke, this part of Jamaica literally is as beautiful as that to us. And Gary McCormack, who is a lifeguard at the resort - when I asked the owner for permission - was able to come with us and he made sure my 7-year old got to swim in the caves and my son can't stop talking about those caves. He also can't stop talking about how much he loved Gary the lifeguard who played football every day with my son and really made him feel special. We will never forget Gary! My son cried when we left because he was going to miss the locals so much - he really fell in love with the Jamaican people. The entertainment was also very good - especially when they did the beach party with live music and dancers, that was our favorite. We travel 2-3 times a year and this was by far, one of the best vacations we ever had, and that's saying a lot! We will always come to this resort when we visit Negril!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jon811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    317
    105
    36
    40
See reviews for
298
1,014
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Hall, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Azul Sansatori-Negril Resort is definitely a 5-star. Small property with lots of charm. My husband and I celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary at this hotel on 15 Mar 14. Wherever you looked there were staff everywhere. we were greeted and taken to the lounge where we were given a nice glass of champagne. While we drank this a member of the staff booked us in. Within a few minutes we were taken to our hotel room that had a "swim up" area located outside the balcony door with a cabana. We had a wonderful time. The hotel was extremely beautiful and exceeded my expectations. . Hotel facilities were great but what really exceeded our expectations was the staff who were extremely friendly and made our stay a memorable one. Front Desk Staff: Tineta Thorpe and Christopher Brown; Concierge: Measha Lews; Bellman: Carlos Spence; Dining Room: Damien, Junior, and Simone; Entertainment: Kevan. The managers, Mr. Marvin Grant and Mr. Andrew Cummings should be very thankful to have a wonderful staff on their team that cares about providing good hospitality to their customers.

The hotel is immaculately maintained and the rooms are kept spotless and are cleaned every day. The food is second to none and we ate there most nights out of choice rather than necessity.

The pool area is beautiful and very relaxing with plenty of loungers so much so that you can actually hear the blood rushing through your veins. The 7-mile beach is amazing.The hotel had entertainment every night which was just superb.

Room Tip: Choose a "swim-up" room with cabana. More relaxing and easy access to swim-up bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful time at Azul. Small resort, which we found much better then some of the gargantuan ones we've stayed at. Still under construction is some spots, so there is a bit of noise. Great beach!!! Rooms, we had a family of 4 staying in a one bedroom with a pullout for the boys. It was not the best solution, but was passable.

Staff, absolutely A1, terrific service!!!!!

Food, perhaps not to foodie specs but we enjoyed it thoroughly.

Still trying to understand how the Karisma vacation club thing works, we passed on it.

Overall, a great week!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank P_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We are a family of 2 Adults and 2 teens that just recently returned from a one week stay at the Azul Sensatori Negril. What a Wonderful Vacation!!!

There were a few disappointments but overall it was a fantastic holiday and we can't wait to return.

Travel:
We flew Sunwing from Toronto. The plane was a pretty tight fit, not a lot of leg room even if you upgrade your seats. The flight itself was pleasant enough. Once we arrived at the Montego Bay airport it took approximately 2 hours to get through the extremely long line for customs. Be prepared for a hot sweaty wait. The bus ride to the resort took another two hours, this was comfortable and had some nice views.

Arrival:
We were greeted with a welcome cocktail and a smile. Which was very nice. Carlos took us around the property and familiarized us with the restaurants, pools and bar locations. He was very helpful all week, such a pleasure to deal with.

Room:
We had a one bedroom suite. Very clean but we found it to be a bit small, with little storage space for clothing. The one bathroom in the room is located in the bedroom area, so anyone using the pull out couch had to pass through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. We would have liked a little more space, but we managed ok.

Dining:
The Palm Restaurant and the Italian Restaurant were our favorites. The food was well presented, always fresh, very tasty and the areas were very clean. One of our kids is a very 'selective' eater and he had no trouble enjoying all the food. Especially the 24 hour room service! That was a big hit. We didn't venture into the caribbean restaurant so we can't comment on that, but we did speak with a few guests that had and they seemed to enjoy it.

Entertainment:
The night shows are small and intimate and very enjoyable. The staff go out of their way to ensure that everyone enjoys themselves. Although the occupancy during our stay was a bit light, I think the shows would be much more enjoyed if more guests attended. Come on folks support the entertainment!

We snorkeled at the beach for about $30 per person. We really enjoyed it, it was very pretty. We also ventured out to Rick's Café (about a 13 minute taxi ride away). That was a great time as well. The outdoor bar and band was fun, the sunset there is beautiful and the cliff divers we're entertaining.

Service:
This was by far the most impressive part of our holiday. We are seasoned travellers and the service we received at the Azul was top notch. We've honestly never had better. Carlos at the front, O'Ryan and Dwayne for entertainment just to name a few. All the staff, from the front desk to restaurant, bar, housekeeping etc., etc., they were all the most genuinely friendly and helpful staff we've ever met.

The only real negative was that construction was still going on, so if you were in close range to where they were working you would hear banging during the day. Place yourself at the other end of the beach or pool and you couldn't hear a thing.

All in all it was a fantastic trip. Very clean resort with beautiful grounds. As the days went on we found we liked it more and more. By weeks end we really didn't want to leave.

We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The awesome staff at Azul Sensatori are by far Karima's best asset and the only part of the resort that deserves a 5 star rating at this time. It would be our hope that Azul's management recognizes and appreciates the quality of their staff, as it was they who made our stay a memorable one.

As in other reviews, construction was not an issue at all and definitely did not impact our stay or the essence of this review. It is unfortunate that they lobby area isn't a gathering place or utilized much except for people on the one computer/ using WiFi, which is free here and expensive in your room!! - or for reception, tour bookings or the coffee bar. This resort does have work to do if indeed they are to ever attain a 5 star rating.

Rooms:

Unhappy with the location and swim out room that was first assigned, Dacia had found us another that was much better...thank you Dacia as that was most appreciated. Understanding that they are working with a renovation of an existing infrastructure - kudos for what they have done. However, please note that the rooms are small and somewhat dysfunctional as well as lacking in certain amenities that seasoned travelers of 5 star resorts are used to. The bathroom had no doors on the shower/toilet area, and we are most grateful to Gabriel (maintenance manager from the Mexico properties), who arranged to have these installed just hours after requested. The showers lack anywhere to put your shampoo - etc., other than a small cut out area for the soap to sit. The closet was inside our bathroom and we found the shower doors kept the humidity more inside the shower and less in our closet, as well as water off the bathroom floor. The doors to the closet are huge and not well thought out as it's difficult to get at your clothes from the side that has the shelves which is also impeded by the sink table. There are two shelves and two drawers in this area, however, one of the drawers houses the in room safe. We had no full length mirror, one super skinny towel bar (table underneath sink area for towels which was more of a pain than anything) and the closet rod to hang your clothes on is a long aluminum bar that bowed and fell twice! There are no dressers to unpack your clothes, as I do not like to live for 2 weeks out of a suitcase and those did said there was no room to lay out a suitcase anyways. Table between the bed and patio doors has two sliding shelves on one side and your bar fridge on the other. The comfy chair in front of the patio door encroached on the doorway. Ladies, the bathroom has halogen lighting above the makeup mirror was not good for makeup application. Swim out area of the main floor rooms was wonderful! We loved the half moon lounge / table & chairs under the roof area and the lounges by the pool are awesome. Definitely the way to go if you can. The beds were comfortable and our housekeeper, Marion was the best!!! Thanks Marion for everything, including my 'special gift on the bed'!

Restaurants:

The food, in all restaurants was unquestionably delicious, however far from being gourmet! While we were there, management was already making changes to their menus. The wait staff - outstanding! Honorable mentions to Carole, Simone, Dameon, Neville, Carmeta, and Fabian - for your exceptional service. Thank you all for your warm greetings and hugs - it was a genuine pleasure to meet and chat with all of you!

While being seated in these restaurants, the lighting was so bright and directly overhead, especially around the perimeter of these rooms, that there was absolutely no ambience - you might as well have been sitting at a fast food chain restaurant! Dimmers would work wonders...

Entertainment:

The entertainment area for this resort is very small, outdoors and has no stage/amphitheater. Entertainment staff, O'Ryan and Kevan are a hoot, both with exuberant personalities and we had a so much fun with them! Booked entertainment, with the exception of the SilverBirds Steel Band and a nightclub singer/band, were lacking at best and it was the staff that made entertainment time enjoyable. We didn't partake in any daytime activities.

Bars and Beach Service:

The 7 Mile Bar is outside and used much more frequently earlier in the evening, probably due to a very sweet bartender named Alee, than the Nesta Rasta Lounge upstairs beside the Ackee Restaurant. It's a shame because Alphonso, is the bartender up there and he's terrific! We spent many an evening, just us and him, chatting away before others caught on and the bar turned into the nightclub after 11pm.

The daytime beach bar/beach service was really appreciated. On the beach I would wait for Kedian, as she mixed my drinks perfect to my taste. Shadrique and Christina was wonderful as well, everyone always with a big smile on their beautiful faces.

Beach, Pools and Lifeguards:

The best stretch of beach on that part of 7 Mile - always super cleaned by the lifeguards early and continually each day! Loved the beach beds and the availability of lounges that you can move around on the beach. We loved a spot under a grape tree, as there are not many trees on the beach and no palapas for shade. Lifeguards O'Dane, Richard and Gary are great - honest, caring and very attentive should you not find a lounge, they would find one for you. We had many conversations with them while they constantly had their eyes scanning the beach to keep patrons safe. Way to go guys - you are amazing! The pool to the swim out rooms is much narrower and smaller then we expected, however, very well maintained and because we took a swim out room, we enjoyed using it later in the day once we returned from the beach.

Spa

The spa is not yet open, but they do have a spot on the beach where I got one of the best deep tissue (which I requested) massages from Natasha. She has hands of gold! Every time we travel I use the spa facilities and was somewhat disappointed when I heard that the spa was not going to be open, however, delighted when I was able to have one on the beach. Relaxing listening to the ocean waves - you don't even realize that others on the beach are around you.

All in all, we really did enjoy our time at Azul Sensatori. We love Jamaica and it's people. It's not the first time that we have been travelled to Jamaica and it definitely won't be the last. We already miss the staff that we connected with and the other travelers that we spent time with.

I hope that you found this review to be helpful and informative... HAPPY TRAVELS!

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms that are situated closer to the road as you will hear road noises even when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank MCW-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Sensatori Jamaica, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay at the Azul Sensatori Jamaica , I found your feedback to be a very interesting read. I truly appreciate your comments and I can assure this will be used in our quest to perfect our well reowned Gourmet Inclusive Experience, a new way to vacation.

Best Regards

Andrew Cumming
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

This resort is amazing and that's knowing that the resort is still only under soft closure and not fully open. We went here knowing it was going to be under construction and let me say that you yes you could see it and briefly hear it there was no impact AT ALL. Like our previous stay at the Prestige Travelers resort this was all top notch, the food, drinks, entertainment, staff it was all amazing. we have never been anywhere with so many people who are down to earth and just looking to have a good time. the beach was spotless nothing like some of the other beaches when you take a walk. They have water activities on the grounds and even if you needed to pay for some of them, the prices were CHEAP!!!!! We will be going back in 2016 to the members resort which will be built right next door. Wayne the agent we met with was awesome and great information for any of the interested guests or the existing members. if you want to go relax enjoy the sun and great weather this is the place to go!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Spent 2week's from Feb 26 thur March 12th. I'm a Prestige member & I have to say even though the prestige room's and services are not up and ready yet. I still saved 1/2 the price on our room. The hotel is beautiful, and there still not done. The food was excellent and the staff is awesome. First I'd like to give a shout out to the entertainment dept. Oryan, Eshane and Kevin are the heart of the entertainment. They will keep you laughing and entertained everyday. They love their jobs and it show's. Also the life guards have their eyes out for you everyday, making your stay safe and stress free.A shout out to Richard who's been with the hotel for 9 yrs. And Odane, a wonderful, honest caring person. All the staff at the hotel, treat you like family. We were there last yr and we'll be back next year, it is our Jamaica home for 2week's. And not to forget the beautiful 7 mile beach in Nigril, where you can spend everyday at the beach and never see the same thing twice. I diffenitly give the Azul Sensatori a 5 star rating, and their not finish the prestige part yet. Can't wait to return next year, and see my Jamaica family.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank pamelashane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
3.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset at the Palms
Sunset at the Palms
#7 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Sensatori Jamaica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Sensatori Jamaica

Property: Azul Sensatori Jamaica
Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Sensatori Jamaica by Karisma)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Sensatori Jamaica 4.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a coveted stretch of Negril's world-famous Seven Mile Beach, Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Jamaica is a pristine paradise where couples, families, friends and colleagues can reconnect beneath brilliant blue skies and tropical sunshine. This oceanfront hotel offers spacious, contemporary oceanfront accommodations, with special adults-only sections dedicated exclusively to romantic honeymoon suites. You'll find a variety of restaurants serving masterfully prepared and artfully presented International cuisine, enhanced by breathtaking ocean views. There's a world-class spa. Premium liquor. Live entertainment day and night. A near endless variety of activities on land and in the crystal clear waters. And supervised programs for kids and teens designed to make sure everyone has a great time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Azul Sensatori Jamaica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing